Owning a car is a big responsibility. Owners are responsible for maintaining the vehicle, making repairs if something is damaged or stops working, and paying the cost of insurance so that the vehicle can be legally driven on the roadways.
Like all U.S. states, Hawaii has unique requirements for what is and is not sufficient insurance coverage for a vehicle, and it’s important for you to be familiar with these requirements before shopping for a policy.
Read on to learn more about car insurance in Hawaii and then enter your zip on this site for a free car insurance comparison!
Understanding Hawaii Car Insurance in A “No-Fault” State
In many states, the insurance company of the driver at fault in an accident is required to pay the medical expenses of the other driver and passengers, but this is not the case in Hawaii, which is a no-fault state.
According to Hawaii law, the auto insurance company of each driver involved in an accident is responsible for their policyholder’s medical expenses, regardless of who is said to be at fault for the accident.
Because of this law, it is required that each Hawaiian driver carries at least a minimum PIP policy, which stands for personal injury protection.
The minimum PIP requirement in Hawaii is $10,000.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Protecting Yourself Against Liability
For every rule, there is always an exception, however, and the no-fault rule in Hawaii is no different. In some cases, where medical expenses of the victim exceed a certain amount, it’s possible that the at-fault driver could be held responsible for some or all of the cost.
That’s why it’s so important for Hawaiian drivers to also carry some liability coverage.
Hawaii Minimum Liability Requirements
Hawaiian drivers are required to carry a certain amount of liability coverage so that the medical expenses of the other driver can be covered sufficiently. Minimum Hawaii car insurance requirements are:
- $20,000 for bodily injury suffered by a single occupant of a car
- $40,000 for the combined medical expenses of all passengers in the car
- $10,000 for any property damage caused in the accident, including the vehicle of the other driver and public property.
It’s also important to point out that the driver found to be responsible for the accident will be required to pay any expenses beyond these thresholds.
Many drivers decide to get additional insurance coverage beyond these required limits.
Free Online Hawaii Car Insurance Quotes
Finding the best Hawaii car insurance rates is easy; enter your zip below to start comparing free Hawaii auto insurance quotes online!