What is the penalty for not carrying auto insurance coverage? There are smart ways to save a good chunk of change on car insurance, but dropping it completely is not one of them. The penalties for driving without car insurance vary across the United States, ranging from a fine of $500 all the way up to months in jail. In between, you may find yourself faced with a lot of paperwork to fill out, an impounded car, and even a suspended license.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in my state?
The agency governing motor vehicles in your state will be able to provide you with all the details related to minimum levels of required car insurance as well as the penalty for not having it. Some states will give first time offenders a slap on the wrist (albeit an expensive one) while others reserve the right to suspend a driver’s license upon his or her first conviction for driving without car insurance.
In Delaware, a conviction for driving without liability car insurance of at least 15/30/5 (that’s $15,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $30,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $5,000 in property damage liability) will get you a fine as high as $1,500 for the first offense and $3,000 for each new conviction within three years. A driving suspension of 6 months is also enforced.
The punishment in California is more lenient, with fines of up to $500 and the possibility of impoundment and a suspended license.
Missouri outlines a series of potential repercussions for anyone who fails to furnish proof of insurance to any law enforcement officer requesting it. The first and most common punishment takes the form of 4 points added to the driving record of the convicted party. 8 points in 18 months will result in a driving suspension of up to one year. Secondly, the court has the option of serving an “order of supervision,” which requires the Driver and Vehicle Services Bureau to monitor the driver to make sure she or he is in possession of minimum levels of liability insurance. In Missouri, that minimum is 25/50/10.
Do all states impose a penalty for not having car insurance?
The few states that do not require minimum liability insurance levels are New Hampshire, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and Wisconsin. However, Wisconsin will be changing its law as of June 1, 2010 to require car insurance.
While the remaining states don’t dictate certain levels of liability coverage, they do address the issue in their statutes. Tennessee requires proof of financial responsibility, meaning that residents must furnish proof of a) car insurance or b) the ability to pay for damages in the event of an accident. South Carolina and Virginia assess a fee to those who register as uninsured drivers with the Department of Motor Vehicles. New Hampshire requires uninsured motorist coverage in all cases and will require liability insurance in certain situations.
How do I avoid a penalty for not having car insurance?
Compare car insurance quotes online to find the most affordable policy that will protect you from the dangers of driving an uninsured vehicle. Delaying it any further could be the most costly mistake you’ll ever make. Compare car insurance quotes today!