DUI Insurance Laws in Vermont
Drunk driving in VT is punishable by up to $2,500 in fines, community service, and jail time. Offenders must seek high-risk car insurance with higher rates of $137.75/mo on average.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 22, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- Vermont has specific laws concerning what type of vehicles fall under the DUI laws
- Breaking DUI laws in Vermont can have severe consequences
- Getting a DUI may cause your insurance company to drop your insurance policy
For this purpose, Vermont has stated that a motor vehicle has been defined as a piece of machinery that is not powered by the human muscle; it’s an item that receives its ability to move from other means such as gas
Vermont drivers must not drive or even begin to try to drive a motor vehicle on Vermont’s highways if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is determined to be .08 percent or higher.
Breaking Vermont DUI Laws
Those who are determined to break Vermont’s state car laws will see themselves in court mounting a defense against a DUI charge.
If they can’t manage to have the charges reduced, dismissed or they are found guilty of DUI, they will be sent to jail for possibly two years.
A first offense requires them to pay a fine that can’t exceed $750, but they also will be required to pay what is called a DUI surcharge which is at least $160. On top of all that, their licenses will be suspended for three months.
Vermont increases the penalties suffered by people who have violated the DUI laws numerous times.
For a second conviction, these drivers are facing the same amount of jail time, a maximum of two years, but their fines will be much higher at $1,500; they also have to pay the DUI surcharge again. Their licenses will be suspended yet again but for one and a half years.
Added to the penalties required of a second DUI offender is community service. In Vermont, drivers have to serve at least 200 hours of community service, or they may choose to serve 60 hours of jail time.
A third conviction brings much more serious consequences than the second. Vermont drivers may lose their driving privileges forever if they are found guilty of DUI a third time.
The state may seize these offenders’ vehicles. The drivers will also have to serve up to five years in prison and pay up to $2,500 in fines along with the $160 DUI surcharge.
As with the second offense, they may choose to perform community service for 400 hours or at least 1,000 hours in prison instead.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Reinstating the License
In order to have their licenses reinstated, Vermont drivers have to meet certain conditions. After the first offense, they will have to:
- Demonstrate that they have attended and passed a program designed to teach drivers about drinking and driving
- Undergo an assessment designed to determine if the offender needs treatment
- Possible completion of a treatment program
After the second offense, reinstating Vermont drivers’ licenses requires that they attend alcohol and driving rehabilitation treatment.
After the third offense, the license suspension won’t be permanent if these drivers can prove that they have abstained completely from drugs and/or alcohol for at least three years, completed a drug and/or alcohol rehabilitation program within this time, and then they may reapply for a driver’s license again with a $500 fee.
The Problem and the Solution
In the first two months, Vermont car insurance agencies may cancel their clients’ policies for whatever reason they see fit. If the
If the two-month mark has passed, one of the reasons they may legally cancel an insurance policy is if their clients’ licenses have been suspended.
With each DUI conviction, Vermont drivers receive a suspension of their driving privileges which means drivers convicted of DUI can lose auto insurance coverage when they are least able to afford to do so.
The solution is to seek auto insurance coverage from our ZIP code search.
DUI offenders should receive several car insurance quotes from insurance companies that have the ability to insure high-risk drivers.
Some of these companies may offer very high quotes because a high-risk policy implies that the driver is highly likely to cause an accident.
Vermont drivers may also find several insurance companies that will be able to offer them some lower car insurance quotes.
When they receive their quotes and they can choose the ones with rates they can afford to pay, they will need to ask these companies some questions such as:
- How much will the deductible be?
- How much coverage can they purchase?
- Are there any extra fees for DUI auto insurance?
Several Options for DUI Car Insurance Coverage
Vermont drivers will be able to have many options if they use our FREE comparison tool.
Without our help, they will have to take to the Internet and rummage through the millions of results that come up when people do a Google search.
Some of the results won’t even be for insurance companies, so Vermont drivers will be spending a lot of time searching for an appropriate company.
Since people convicted of DUI in Vermont don’t have a lot of time to find new auto insurance policies, they need to begin their comparison quote search as soon as possible.
Now seems like a good time. Enter your ZIP code below and find cheap auto insurance right now!