What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Massachusetts?

Driving without car insurance in MA is punishable by up to $5,000 in fines, one year in prison, and license suspension. If you are charged more than once, the penalties increase.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State University as well as technical and professional communication at East Carolina University. Zaneta has prepared technical p...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP®

UPDATED: Jan 21, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...

  • Massachusetts has mandatory car insurance laws
  • If you are charged with a first offense penalty of driving without insurance in the state of Massachusetts, you will be subject to a penalty fine, license suspension, and possible imprisonment
  • If you incur a second offense within six years, you will have to pay a larger fine and face a longer license suspension period
  • There may be more penalties for subsequent offenses


In Massachusetts, you are required to have an insurance plan that covers the following:

  • bodily injury to others
  • personal injury protection
  • bodily injury caused by an uninsured car
  • damage to another person’s property

You should list any driver who resides in your house on your insurance policy. You should also list people who will be driving your car regularly.

If household members have their own insurance policy, you should still list them as deferred operators on your plan. Adding deferred operators to your policy will not increase the cost.

Massachusetts sets minimum limits for each of the coverage categories. Your insurance policy must cover $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident to meet the requirements for the bodily injury to others category.

It must cover $8,000 per person per accident to meet the requirements for the personal injury protection category.

Additionally, your insurance policy must cover $5,000 worth of damage to someone else’s property and $20,000 per person for bodily injury caused by an uninsured car and $40,000 per accident.

Compare car insurance quotes today to find the best policy for your coverage needs. Enter your ZIP code above to get started.

What is the penalty for driving without car insurance in Massachusetts?

If you are charged with driving without car insurance in Massachusetts, you will have to pay a $500 fine to the municipality. You are also obligated to pay one year’s car insurance premium or an additional $500 fine.

You can also face up to one year in prison for driving without insurance and a license suspension of 60 days.

If you are charged with a second offense within six years, you will have to pay more fines and face a longer suspension.

  • The fine to the municipality is anywhere between $500 and $5,000
  • You will again be required to purchase a car insurance premium for the year or pay another $500 fine
  • You may be sentenced to a year in prison
  • Your license will be suspended for a year
  • If you are charged with any subsequent offenses, the fines might be higher and you may be subject to more penalties

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What is the new car insurance system in Massachusetts?

In 2008, Massachusetts implemented a new car insurance system known as managed competition. This program allows insurance companies to charge different prices and premiums based on a variety of new factors.

Under the new system, any previous driving violations on your record will not affect your insurance premium as much as they used to. Factors such as your age may have a greater impact.

It is important to shop around for the best car insurance because prices will vary under the new system.

Insurance companies can also deny you coverage under the new program. If one insurance company declines to offer you a policy, you should look around to other companies.

However, if you are denied coverage, you are eligible for the Massachusetts Auto Insurance Plan. To apply for this plan, you need to go through an insurance agent who will assign an insurer to you. Premiums can be higher through the Massachusetts Auto Insurance Plan.

Compare car insurance rates using our free comparison tool below. You might be surprised by how much you could save!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption