What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Michigan?
Driving without car insurance in MI is a misdemeanor, punishable by fines up to $1,000 and suspension of your license. Repeat offenders may receive jail time.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Sep 15, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- Michigan law considered uninsured driving a misdemeanor crime
- Misdemeanor crimes are subject to jail time
- Michigan law allows drivers to buy insurance and present proof to reinstate their license
If you are stopped or involved in an accident of any sort, you’re required to present the police officers at the scene with proof of insurance.
If you cannot do that, you will immediately face the consequences. If you’re driving without insurance or considering doing so, it’s helpful to understand why it’s so much more affordable to just purchase insurance than it is to drive without.
Compare car insurance quotes today to find the coverage you need at the best rate. Enter your zip code into our free tool above to get started.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Michigan
If you own a car, you must own an insurance policy to go with your vehicle. This rule is just as true for people who finance their car through a lender as it is for those who own their car outright. Your ownership does not exempt you from purchasing insurance.
Some drivers mistakenly assume they can cancel their policy when they make their last car payment. Other drivers might believe they can’t afford car insurance.
If you believe you can’t afford insurance, it’s time for you to shop around and compare rates. Even the most expensive insurance policy is still more affordable than being caught without insurance during an accident or routine traffic stop.
The penalties are expensive, and the cost of medical bills, repairs, and even a lawsuit are astronomical.
Michigan law defines driving without insurance as a misdemeanor crime, which means jail time is possible. Up to one year in jail is the punishment for anyone caught without insurance.
The additional punishments associated with driving without insurance include paying a fee of up to $1,000. It’s called a driver responsibility fee. The other punishment is a suspended license. The state has the right to suspend your license for as many as 30 days.
If you can prove you purchased insurance inside that 30-day timeframe, you can pay a $125 reinstatement fee and have your suspension lifted. It’s up to a judge to determine which combination of these punishments you might suffer.
Most first-time offenders won’t be placed in jail, but it’s much more common if you’re caught a second time.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Punishments for Being Unable to Prove Insurance
Michigan law is harsh. If you are pulled over or involved in a car accident and cannot prove you have insurance at the scene, you will face up to one year in jail, 30 days with a suspended license, and you’ll pay up to $400 in driver responsibility fees.
Even if you can go home and grab your insurance card to prove you do have an active policy, this is the punishment you face. It’s not wise to go anywhere without your insurance card in Michigan.
If you face this kind of punishment for driving without your insurance card handy, you can reinstate your license as soon as you have your insurance card in hand. You’ll take it to the local DMV, but you’ll pay a fee.
It’s not as much as you pay when you don’t have insurance. It’s only $25 to reinstate your license this time.
If you ignore the reinstatement process and drive on a suspended license, the penalties are even more serious.
How is having insurance more affordable than not having insurance?
If you are one the Michigan drivers who believe it’s more affordable to skip paying for car insurance, you are mistaken. In addition to the fees and penalties you face if you’re caught driving without insurance in this state, you also face additional costs if you’re involved in an accident.
Your insurance policy covers you if you are involved in an accident by paying for the following:
- car repairs
- medical bills
- lawsuits if the other driver decides to file a personal injury lawsuit
Medical bills can add up quickly even if you have health insurance. If your injuries cause you to miss work, you’re going to lose money. If you caused the accident and someone else is injured, you could be sued for pain and suffering, medical bills, and car repairs.
It could cost you tens of thousands of dollars or more.
If you have a loan on your vehicle or you lease it, you’re required to have insurance. The lender determines how much coverage they consider appropriate, and they’re going to apply for an insurance policy for you if you fail to do it yourself.
If they do this, they’re not concerned with the affordability of the policy in your budget. They just want you to have insurance on the car they own until you make your final payment.
Why is car insurance so important?
Insurance is important because it’s financial protection when something goes wrong. You can find more affordable insurance if you take time to look around, to compare policies, and to find discounts.
Spending a few hours researching insurance policies until you find one that meets your financial needs is a lot more appealing than spending years paying off tens of thousands of dollars in debt caused by driving without insurance.
If you own your vehicle outright, you only need the minimum coverage required by the state. Michigan law only requires you carry $20,000 in PIP per person, $40,000 per accident, and $10,000 for damages.
For a safe driver, only paying the minimum required amount for car insurance allows you to make your policy more affordable, and it allows you to avoid the penalties associated with being an uninsured motorist.
Driving without insurance, on the other hand, can result in even the most cautious driver facing thousands of dollars in fees and points on their driving record from even a minor fender-bender.
Don’t drive without insurance! Get started finding the best rate for the coverage you need by using our free comparison tool below.