The maximum amount of points allowed on your drivers license depends on what state you live in. Some states have a point system in place that applies one, two or three points depending on your offense.
Other states have higher point values, but allow for more points. There are even some states that have no point system at all!
Get FREE online quotes for car insurance by entering your ZIP code now!
Drivers license points are points are assigned to your license when you are the cause of a car accident, are ticketed for speeding, reckless driving, DUI, etc. or another traffic offense.
In most states, points stay on your license for three years; although in many states a DUI offense will be reported on your driver’s license for a longer period of time.
When you reach your maximum amount of points, then you will face having your license suspended.
How long this suspension occurs will depend on your state’s laws for car insurance and the type of offenses that caused the suspension.
For example, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a criminal offense and carries a heavier penalty than causing a car accident does.
How can I find out what the maximum points are in my state?
Finding the maximum points for your state is easy. All you need to do is visit your state’s Department of Insurance website. In addition, you can also find this information on your state’s DMV website.
In addition to finding out the maximum points you are allowed to accrue, you will also learn how long your license will be suspended and the various suspensions for the different offenses.
For example, with Alabama coverage, there are four levels of suspension. If you have 12-14 points on your license in a 2 year period, then you have a 60 day suspension. If you accrue 24 or more points in those two years, then your license will be suspended for one year.
Other states, such as Arizona, have a list of ways that you can lose your license permanently. For example, if you commit a felony act while driving a vehicle, then you will lose your license for good. Simply put, some states have more stringent rules than others do.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
How can I reduce the amount of points on my drivers license?
The easiest way to reduce your points is by not accruing any more points. Your points will cycle off of your license after a certain period of time. For example, Florida coverage laws dictate that your accrued points cycle off of your license a year after you are ticked. In West Virginia coverage laws say that points stay on your license for 2 years before they cycle off.
Most states offer classes that you can take to have points removed from your license. There was once a time that you could take as many classes as you wanted, as long as you were willing to pay for them.
Most states now, however, have a maximum amount of classes you can take each year.
This amount can vary between one and three classes.
These classes are usually specific to the “crime” you have committed. For example, for a DUI you would take classes specific for drunk driving or driving while on drugs. If you like to speed, your class would be related to driving fast.
In most cases, you can choose any accredited program. In some states there are comedy classes that keep you laughing all the way through or classes that allow you to create skits based on your situation.
Regardless, you do have options and if you are looking at a suspension, you might want to consider one of these classes.
You will find, however, that you usually only have a specific period of time to take the class before it will no longer count towards your points, so be aware of the time-frame provided to you by the courts.
Does my insurance company get informed of my accrued points?
Yes, your insurance company does receive notice that you have had points assigned to your drivers license.
In states with automated systems, this information is passed on to the insurance company within 7 days, in states that still use a paper system it can take up to 2 months.
Once the insurance company gets this information, you will generally see an increase in your rates. If you only have a couple of points the increase should be fairly minor. If you have a lot of points, however, you could see a major increase.
If you need to control some of your insurance costs, you may want to look at getting quotes to see if you can get a better rate.
Get your FREE car insurance quotes right now by entering your ZIP code!