Arkansas DUI Insurance Laws

Wondering what Arkansas DUI insurance laws are? You'll need SR-22 insurance after a DUI and you can expect that your rates will be high. Convicted drivers can spend close to $5,000 on car insurance.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State University as well as technical and professional communication at East Carolina University. Zaneta has prepared technical p...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP®

UPDATED: Jan 20, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...

  • Arkansas drivers receive official notification after being arrested for a DUI
  • Penalties for driving under the influence are steep for first-time offenders as well as repeat offenders
  • Most drivers who have been convicted of a DUI will need to get an SR22 form to become insured again
  • There are insurance companies in Arkansas who specialize in coverage for motorists with DUI(s) on their records

Drivers in the state of Arkansas who have broken one of the Arkansas DUI insurance laws face serious consequences both legally and in terms of their auto insurance expenses.

 Over 16,000 in-state drivers received citations for driving under the influence in 2009, making DUI the seventh most common moving violation in the state.

It is important for motorists pulled over for this offense to understand the legal car insurance requirements in place in Arkansas and the options they have to try to find affordable auto insurance. We know you’ll want your questions answered. How long does a DUI affect your insurance in Arkansas? What happens when you get a DUI in Arkansas?

We have the answers and the tools you need to get insurance today.  Find car insurance quotes by entering your ZIP code into the FREE tool to save after a DUI.

Receiving a Notice of Suspension

After being arrested for breaking DUI laws, Arkansas drivers receive an Official Driver’s License Receipt and Notice of Suspension and Revocation of Driving Privilege. This is a standard step followed by law enforcement officers.

  • The Driver’s License Receipt is a written record indicating that the arresting officer has taken the person’s driver’s license.
  • The Notice of Suspension allows the driver to operate an automobile for the next 30 days provided they possessed a valid and current license at the time of the arrest.
  • The Notice of Suspension also informs arrested drivers that they have seven days to schedule a hearing that will determine whether they were driving while intoxicated, registered at least a .08 blood alcohol content (BAC) at the scene, or refused to take a test to measure their BAC.

This Notice provides instructions for arrested drivers to contact Driver Control in the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration to set up a similar meeting to determine whether they might be eligible to drive under a restricted permit with an ignition interlock, a device that requires motor vehicle operators to pass a breath test for BAC prior to starting a car.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Penalties for DUI in Arkansas

Penalties are increasingly steep for cases in which drivers are found guilty of driving while impaired or driving under the influence in the state of Arkansas, with repeat offenders facing heavy fines and lengthy jail time:

  • First-time offenders convicted of DUI or refusing a breath test may face jail time of anywhere from one day to six months. Those who are found guilty of DWI (a lesser offense) are likely to see community service rather than time behind bars.
  • A second offense within a five-year period can result in a driver receiving as much as two years in prison.
  • A third offense can lead to guilty drivers spending up to 30 months in jail.
  • A fourth DUI offense carries a possible sentence of four years.
  • Those who refuse a test for the fourth time face permanent revocation of their driving privileges in the state of Arkansas.
  • All of the above is in addition to fines that can start out at $150 and reach as high as $5,000 or more.

The addition of financial fines on top of legal consequences makes getting arrested for driving under the influence a very costly mistake for motorists. A DUI will greatly affect car insurance rates!

There are assorted fees on top of these fines that must be paid as well, meaning that even a first offense can end up costing thousands of dollars.

Drivers who complete their sentence and meet all the requirements of their sentencing such as alcohol education and treatment also must pay a reinstatement fee of $150 per offense before they can get their licenses back.

One’s Arkansas car insurance will rise drastically after a DUI.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

SR22 Forms and Insurance Expenses

But the financial cost is hardly a one-time expense that ends when all fines and fees are paid. Motorists found guilty of DUI face sharp increases in their auto insurance rates as well, up to $1,500 a year or more in many cases.

There are steps to take for drivers convicted to obtain a restricted permit allowing them to drive to and from work or school, but these steps include getting an SR22 form for anywhere from three to five years.

  • An SR22 form is simply a way for a provider to prove that a driver in these circumstances is insured. It indicates that the driver is covered with at least $25,000 in bodily injury per victim, $50,000 in bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability, the minimum requirements for coverage in the state.
  • The form demonstrates the driver’s financial responsibility with respect to liability in the event of an accident. It is often required of high-risk drivers in the state including those who have had alcohol-related offenses.
  • The form is filed by the insurance company on behalf of the driver and is processed by the state Department of Motor Vehicles.

Not all auto insurance companies sell these policies, so drivers needing this type of certification need to find specialists who do sell SR22 coverage. Locating a good fit in an insurer can make a big difference in premium for high-risk policyholders.

Getting Insured after a DUI

There are numerous companies licensed to sell high-risk vehicle insurance and provide SR22 forms in the state of Arkansas. Drivers who are up against these circumstances can do a lot to improve their financial outlook by focusing on high-risk specialists and comparing their rates.

In many cases, those who specialize in these policies are able to provide cheaper car insurance premiums than those offered by standard providers.

Sometimes there is a small fee for obtaining an SR22 form, but oftentimes a carrier will include it in the first premium payment.

It is well worth getting properly insured and having the right legal protection going forward after a DUI.

Motorists who are in this unfortunate position can improve their long-term outlook by having appropriate coverage and meeting all requirements put into place by the state of Arkansas.

Comparing policies and premiums offered by multiple insurers makes it easier to find the best car insurance rates after a DUI arrest.

Find state car insurance by entering your ZIP code below.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by State