DUI Insurance Laws in Hawaii

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

Here's what you need to know...
  • Any person convicted of a DUI in Hawaii is required to have an ignition interlock installed on their vehicle
  • Compared to the national average, Hawaii has more drunk drivers per capita
  • Getting car insurance is not easy after a DUI conviction, but drivers in Hawaii can file for an SR-22

Sometimes, citizens choose to drink while driving. Hawaii has strict DUI laws.

Hawaii became the 50th state in 1959. It has a population of over a million people, and it is comprised only of islands. Hawaii is known for its beautiful beaches, palm trees, gorgeous mountains, magnificent waterfalls and exotic flowers.

Compare state car insurance with our comparison tool above!

Hawaii DUI Requirements

AdobeStock_83230289-1600x1600

Drivers in Hawaii who are convicted of a DUI are considered to be more likely to cause accidents that might result in injuries or property damage. Therefore, they are required to have proof that shows they can pay for any damages that might be their fault.

One way that a person in Hawaii can satisfy this auto insurance requirement is to purchase a high-risk insurance policy, which is called an SR-22.

With this option, individuals must carry the state’s minimum liability insurance and continue the policy throughout the requirements stated by the courts.

Individuals must carry SR-22 insurance for three years after getting convicted of a DUI. In Hawaii, there are several ways for a person to obtain an SR-22:

  • Fill out an SR-22 form that states they are insured
  • Post a $25,000 surety bond
  • Post a $25,000 cash bond
  • Provide a self-insurance certificate of $25,000

Hawaii DUI Laws

Individuals operating a motor vehicle who have a blood-alcohol content (BAC) above 0.08 percent are considered to be driving under the influence. However, if the BAC is between 0.051 and 0.079 percent, impairment can be proven in court.

If a driver is under the age of 21, it is illegal to drive with a BAC over 0.02 percent, and commercial vehicle drivers cannot have a BAC over 0.04 percent. The DUI laws in Hawaii include driving on the road, in the air or on the water.

The state also has laws for someone who is known as a “highly intoxicated driver.” In this case, their BAC would need to be above 0.15 percent.

Some of the other Hawaii DUI laws include:

  • The testing of BAC by the arresting officer
  • The requirement of the officer to warn the defendant of the penalties for refusing a chemical test
  • Suspension of the driver’s license for 90 days to 5 years

A new law in Hawaii requires that drivers pay $84 for an interlock device. They must also pay $89 each month for a leasing fee. A temporary permit will be issued that states the requirement for the device.

If an individual is arrested for the first time and refuses chemical testing, their license will be revoked for a year, but they will be allowed to drive with an interlock device.

The 1st, 2nd, and 3rd DUI offenses in Hawaii are considered misdemeanors while more than 4 DUI convictions are considered to be a class C felony.

Hawaii DUI Penalties

car keys

If an individual is arrested in Hawaii for driving under the influence, they can expect to have their driver’s license suspended for ninety days. Provisions can be made for people who need to drive to and from work.

Other penalties for driving under the influence in Hawaii might include the following.

1st DUI offense:

  • $150 to $1,000 fine
  • 2 to 5 days of jail
  • 72 hours of community service
  • 14 hours of Alcohol Education mandatory
  • Driver’s license revoked for 3 months

2nd DUI offense:

  • $500 to $1,500 fine
  • 5 to 14 days of jail
  • 240 hours of community service
  • DUI school required
  • Alcohol Evaluation and Treatment mandatory
  • Driver’s license revoked for 1 year

3rd DUI offense:

  • $500 to 2,500 fine
  • 10 to 30 days of jail
  • 240 hours of community service
  • DUI school required
  • Alcohol Evaluation and Treatment mandatory
  • Driver’s license suspended for 2 to 5 years

Hawaii DUI Statistics

Some of the DUI car insurance accident statistics for the state of Hawaii are as follows:

  • From 2003-2012, 484 people were killed in accidents involving drunk drivers.
  • 2.9% of Hawaii drivers admitted to driving under the influence in the past month compared with a 1.9% national average.
  • There are more DUI related fatalities per capita in Hawaii than the national average.

Hawaii Insurance Options

when you lose your keys

Drivers who have had their license suspended for driving under the influence might have trouble obtaining affordable car insurance. Citizens need to know exactly how long their license will be suspended.

If they need to get to work, their license could be reinstated, but they will need to purchase SR-22 insurance.

Under the laws in Hawaii, only agents and brokers who have a license in the state of Hawaii are permitted to issue SR-22 insurance.

Therefore, individuals need to shop around and compare prices on insurance. Affordable car insurance rates can be found if people research their options and look for the best deals.

Most car insurance companies offer free quotes on SR-22 insurance options. Drivers can obtain a quote in just minutes, so they can see who will offer them the cheapest car insurance prices on their insurance.

There are severe penalties for letting SR-22 car insurance coverage lapse and the insurance agent is required by law to report and lapse in coverage to the Hawaii DMV. Find Hawaii car insurance by entering your zip below!

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]