Will my car insurance rates go up if I get a ticket for talking on my cell phone?

If you are ticketed for being on your cell phone while driving, your car insurance rates could go up by as much as 30 percent. Don't text and drive.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses...

Full Bio →

Reviewed byJoel Ohman
Founder, CFP®https://res.cloudinary.com/quotellc/image/upload/insurance-site-images/ciccom-live/41b5e36b-joel-ohman.jpg

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...
  • Traffic laws can vary significantly from one state to the next
  • Driving and talking on your cell phone can cause many problems
  • If you are ticketed for being on your phone while driving, your car insurance rates could go up by as much as 30 percent, depending on your insurance company

As USA Today states in this article on distracted driving, some states are finding that distracted driving has become a large part of accidents in recent years.

Changing technology affects every area of our lives, including car insurance.

Most states have regulated cell phone use while driving, and your car insurance rates will probably go up for a cell phone ticket. Exactly what you’ll be cited with and how high a fine you will pay will depend on the jurisdiction in which you received the ticket.

Gaining access to online car insurance quotes is no secret. Just enter your ZIP code above now to get started.

What if my state has banned only the use of handheld devices?

There are currently several states where the use of any handheld device while driving is completely prohibited.

The prohibited handheld devices include:

  • Cell phones
  • Portable music players
  • Tablet computers
  • Palm Pilots

When it comes to cell phones, some states such as New York and California, allow you to talk while driving as long as you’re using a headset or Bluetooth device.

If you are caught in one of these nine states, you will be issued a ticket for driving while talking on a phone.

Almost every state considers violations of cell phone laws to be at least a moving violation, and some states even consider it a misdemeanor.

Additionally, 28 states ban all cell phone use among new drivers and assess significant fines for doing so. These drivers will also see increased insurance rates if they receive a ticket.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Can I use my phone while driving?

Using a portable Bluetooth or headset are also options while driving. Some newer cars have built-in Bluetooth, which allows you to set up your cell phone with your car to allow you to speak hands-free.

Also, OnStar, which has been a hands-free system in cars produced by General Motors for nearly a decade, now offers an aftermarket system that can be installed in any car.

However, it is important to remember that some states consider driving while talking illegal, even if you are not physically holding the phone to your ear.

In fact, according to the United States Department of Transportation’s website for Distracted Driving, drivers who use a handheld device are four times more likely to be seriously injured than drivers who don’t.

Do your best not to speak on your cell phone while driving. If you must take the call, pull over to the side of the road to speak.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Are there states that don’t ban all use of handheld devices?

There are some states where drivers are allowed to use cell phones to talk while driving. However, there are 34 states where texting while driving is also prohibited.

Needless to say, texting while driving is just as dangerous as talking while driving. States take this very seriously and will punish violators accordingly.

Also, it is important to note that more than half of the states ban all use of cell phones while driving among new drivers and drivers with a long list of moving violations.

New drivers are especially vulnerable to accidents already without adding cell phone use.

Many states impose extremely punitive fines and add points to a license to discourage young drivers from engaging in this type of activity.

Many car insurance companies assign higher rates based on a point threshold. In other words, a rate increase may not kick in until you reach a five-point threshold, allowing you two tickets for talking on the phone before your rates go up.

Obviously, one ticket for talking on the phone combined with another for speeding will push you over the threshold.

Does your insurance go up if you get a ticket for being on your phone?

If you get a ticket for talking while driving, how high your rates go up depends on your insurance company and the state in which you were ticketed.

Just like seat belt laws, how a particular state views talking while driving violations will have a huge impact on how high your insurance rates will go.

But unlike seat belt tickets, there are very few states that will let you off with a simple fine and no points on your license.

The one exception to this rule occurs in states where talking on a cell phone while driving is not considered a primary offense.

In these states, you cannot be pulled over simply for driving while talking. There must be something else involved such as speeding, failing to signal a turn, driving with a suspended registration or license, etc.

Where talking and driving is not a primary offense, it is often possible to negotiate to where the court is only holding you accountable to the primary offense.

Suffice it to say that, if you’re caught driving while talking on your cell phone, you’re going to suffer at least some consequences.

Now is the time for you to start searching for better car insurance rates than you pay now, by entering your ZIP code into our FREE search tool below.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption