DUI Insurance Laws in Michigan
Drunk driving in MI is punishable by up to seven years in jail, fines up to $5,000, license revocation, and 360 hours of community service.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jun 2, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
- Michigan’s DUI punishments start at a fine between $100–500, up to 360 hours mandatory community service, a possible license suspension, and up to 93 days incarcerated
- Second and third time DUI offenders in Michigan can lose their licenses permanently and face up to seven years in jail
- A DUI record can make car insurance premiums skyrocket
- A Michigan DUI is warranted to any driver with a BAC of 0.8 percent or higher. Commercial drivers and drivers under the age of 21 have even lower limits (0.4 and 0.2 percent respectively)
There are some requirements that you must follow if you are arrested for breaking Michigan DUI insurance laws.
Enter your ZIP code above now to compare DUI insurance quotes from Michigan providers.
Whether or not you’ve been falsely accused of driving under the influence, having a DUI attorney can help lower the punishments you’ll face. Below are the possible penalties that you will face if convicted of a DUI. Each offense will mandate the installment of an interlock device on your car.
For Your First Offense
- You can receive jail time for up to 93 days.
- 360 hours of community service can be mandated.
- Your license can be suspended for 6 months.
- You may be fined $100 to $500.
Your Second Offense
- If this happens within seven years, the jail time can be anywhere from five days to five years.
- You may also be given 30 to 90 days of community service.
- Your license can be taken away for good.
- You may be fined $200 to 1000.
Your Third Offense
- If you are convicted of your third offense you may receive jail time of one to seven years.
- You could also be fined $500 to 5,000.
- Your license can be revoked if it has not already been done.
Michigan DUI Laws
It is illegal to drive under the influence in the state of Michigan. Breaking these laws can result in a drunk driving charge and will limit your chances of finding affordable car insurance, and leave you identified as a high-risk driver.
How does law enforcement identify drunk drivers? Your blood alcohol content level will determine whether you’ve had too much to drink. If you are a teen driver or a commercial driver, limits on BAC are even more strict.
Here is a breakdown of Michign DUI law standards:
- No person may drive with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent.
- Any commercial driver cannot drive with a blood alcohol level of 0.04 percent.
- Any person under the age of 21 cannot drive with a blood level of 0.02 percent.
- You have only 14 days to request an administrative hearing to maintain your ability to carry a license and drive.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Michigan DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Michigan, then you might be surprised to discover just how much that the presence of an experienced DUI attorney can help you prepare a defense.
This is the key to a future for you on Michigan roads.
Far too many people that are arrested for DUI fail to understand just how important is.
The state-appointed attorney, if you receive one, would typically side with the state in many cases.
This results in your receiving a plea that could be avoided if a DUI attorney had been used. One of the major penalties will be the increase in car insurance rates.
One example of this is the use of the “pro se” law. It takes the body chemistry of a person into account when the blood alcohol level is in question. Many people have lost their license and freedom to drive because they simply fail to understand this fact.
A DUI attorney knows this and can help you protect yourself if you have been falsely accused.
Michigan DUI Statistics
Michigan DUI statistics are a tragedy to those people that loose loved ones to drunk driving accidents. There are many car insurance accident statistics that have been taking for people accused of a DUI. Most DUI offenders fail to realize the consequences of their own life as well. They cause a loss of life to those that they hit. They, as the DUI offenders, suffer very grave circumstances. Here are some of those statistics from 2011.
- 35 percent of accidents in Michigan are due to a DUI offender.
- 277 DUI related car accidents occurred in 2011.
- 66 percent of those accidents involved only one car.
- Most offenders end up losing their license through revocation and they are fined.
Michigan is working to lower those statistics to make a safer place for people to drive.
While these statistics are seemingly high, they are still far lower than in years past. One example is taken from 2009. Then, 806 fatalities were reported as being the result of DUI offenders.
These improvements have happened as a result of a campaign to drug test enforcement.
Since 2009, the state patrol officers and the traffic officers have been ordered to test for alcohol and drugs for any traffic stop that seems likely to result in a DUI.
While this might seem like standard protocol, you might be surprised to discover that it was not always this way. This increase in enforcement has made a large improvement in the state of Michigan. The roads are safer today than back in 2009.
Michigan DUI Car Insurance Options
There are some DUI car insurance options in Michigan that allow anyone that has been convicted of a DUI the chance to save some money. You can buy car insurance through a standard insurance company or a non-standard one. The difference is the brand name and cost. They are the companies that advertise and charge a high rate for your coverage. Most often, you overpay significantly. It is the most common form of insurance that people buy.
The second is the non-standard car insurance company. They do not advertise and offer lower rates. Many drivers find that even with the points that they receive on their driving record after a DUI, they can save money of their car insurance
That is why it is so important to know whom to talk to after being arrested for DUI. Even if you are someone that thinks they know everything there is to know about insurance rates after a DUI, there is more to learn from an attorney that is qualified to help you beat your DUI charges and get better insurance rates. Compare Michigan car insurance by entering your ZIP code below!
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.