Hagerty Car Insurance Review [2022]

Hagerty car insurance is available exclusively for specialty, classic, and antique vehicles. Hagerty has an A+ customer service rating from the BBB.

UPDATED: Oct 20, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by Laura Berry
Former Insurance Agent Laura Berry

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP® Joel Ohman

UPDATED: Oct 20, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 121 Drivers Edge
City: Traverse City
State: MI
ZIP Code: 49684-4203
Phone Number: 877-922-9701
Year Founded: 1984

Here's what you need to know...

  • Hagerty offers specialty insurance for collectors of specialty, classic, and antique vehicles
  • There are a few restrictions, but if they agree to insure your collector vehicle, it typically will cost less than going with a mainstream auto insurer
  • It’s always in the customer’s best interest to compare rate quotes from several classic car insurance companies before deciding which one to use
  • Hagerty has an A+ customer service rating.

Hagerty Car Insurance is a very exclusive classic car insurance provider. The company began offering auto insurance services in the country only in 1991 and they only cover specialty, antique and classic vehicles.Car aficionados who want affordable coverage for prized collectible vehicles can rely on Hagerty to provide them with specialty car insurance policies at a fraction of the price of regular car insurance plans. Read this review and then compare car insurance rates today!

What does Hagerty Insurance cover?

It’s critical to understand what your auto insurance policy covers. Hagerty offers a competitive package with its policies.

  • Clients get the full agreed value coverage amount in the event of a total loss.
  • Plan holders can pay a single liability fee even if they have several classic cars to insure.
  • There are a wide variety of deductibles available for clients.
  • Clients can pick any repair shop to handle repairs of insured collector cars.
  • In-house customer service is available and can process claims daily from April to October.
  • They offer medical reimbursement for plan holders and their families for injuries incurred during car shows.
  • Automatic insurance coverage of as much as $50,000 for any new addition to your car collection.

The people behind the company are vehicle collectors, too, so they know what a car collector is looking for in a collector car insurance policy.Aside from the standard Hagerty auto insurance, clients can also purchase special coverage and add-ons in their policies in cases where:

  • the insured vehicles are undergoing restoration
  • in transport overseas
  • used for business or promotional use
  • a policyholder uses their vehicle during foreign trips

These special types of coverage could be accommodated by other car insurance companies but at a much higher premium rates than Hagerty.

The company also provides a wider range of benefits for its clients. In fact, many plan holders think that Hagerty provides them not only with auto insurance coverage but also that feeling of being a member of an exclusive and elite auto club.Some of the free services include flatbed towing, emergency roadside rescue, concierge services and also a free subscription to the Hagerty magazine.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Problems with Hagerty Car Insurance

One of the main problems you might encounter with Hagerty auto insurance is that the company has a lot of restrictions.

  • Even if you own a classic car, it does not necessarily mean that they will agree to cover it.
  • Aside from the type and model of the vehicle, a major consideration in deciding whether to cover it or not is how frequently the vehicle is used by its owner. If you only have one collectible car and you use it every day, the company may refuse to cover it.
  • Also, drivers with at least two minor traffic violations within a period of 36 to 72 months may not qualify for any auto insurance plan from Hagerty.
  • Lastly, the company will also look into how a car collection is being kept by its owner. If you do not have a fully enclosed and secure area to store your classic car collection, you may not be eligible to get auto insurance from this company.

All in all, Hagerty Insurance offers valuable coverage at a great price if a vehicle can meet the company’s requirements.

The company also provides great customer service, fast claims and even additional benefits. Then again, it is still wise for a car owner to request quotes from different car insurance companies.It pays to compare rates, product features, and after-sales services of different auto insurance plans before getting one.Enter your zip in now to start comparing car insurance rates!

Reviews
for Hagerty

4.00 (15 reviews)
1
January 3, 2022

Awetz

BE AWARE

On october 23,2021 i had a vehicle stolen that i had insured through hagerty since then they have refused to pay out claim after requesting a Substantial ammount of information from me as i provided more then enough info they have recorded me 2 times made me tell them about all my finacials and went around to all my neighbors and gave out personal information to them and made me look like a bad guy also asking me information about when i purchase...
On october 23,2021 i had a vehicle stolen that i had insured through hagerty since then they have refused to pay out claim after requesting a Substantial ammount of information from me as i provided more then enough info they have recorded me 2 times made me tell them about all my finacials and went around to all my neighbors and gave out personal information to them and made me look like a bad guy also asking me information about when i purchased the vehical and who i bought it from which is totally Irrelevant to the Situation and now are requesting phone records which is bizzare being that if they didnt belive me from the start what is a phone number going to tell them,I am a business owner my self and would never ever treat my customers like this ,it wasnt like i had a choice to have insurance and seems like hagerty is the only ones that handle classic car insurance and at the end of the day i paid them to protect my vehical and they have treated me like a criminal and i do not think this is fair no matter what the situation is at the end of the day my car was stolen and i paid them to protect it its not like i had control of my car getting took i mean obviously if i could have controlled it it would have never happend . I think it is Fraudulent to have a customer pay for protection and when it comes down to paying they dont have any intention of paying and are requesting Substantial ammounts of information they have also badgerd people about it that have no control over what happend to the point where they are offended which no one should ever have to feel that way
5
April 20, 2020

mkc211

Couldn’t be easier and saved big.

Was very easy to insure a classic VW lethally less than 15 minutes and saved hundreds of dollars. Filled out online form in seven minutes, got on the phone with [REDACTED NAME] that took another 5 minutes. Saved from a Commerce Insurance now MapFre policy that was way overcharging me.
5
January 31, 2020

jjdigby

The best ever

Awesome saved me a lot of money. I would Highly recommend hagerty insurance to anyone with a classic car
5
August 18, 2019

draftybarn

Great insurance for my classic car

Excellent service, great pricing, attention to detail and roadside service. The best choice for classic cars.
5
March 29, 2019

Brandon111

Best classic car insurance company

The company is very reasonable and has very good customer service. Never had any kind of issue. Again best insurance company ever
5
March 21, 2019

Yfz450chris

Say yes to their Classic car insurance coverage!

I purchased classic car insurance from this place. You do have to fill out a form for review by their team. It seems like you dont know what to expect. However they contact you by the next business day with all of your options. My insurance is very affordable and worth what I pay. Even though I drive my classic very few miles. It is by far, worth knowing my pride and weekend joy is covered! I highly highly recommend these guys. They are absolute...
I purchased classic car insurance from this place. You do have to fill out a form for review by their team. It seems like you dont know what to expect. However they contact you by the next business day with all of your options. My insurance is very affordable and worth what I pay. Even though I drive my classic very few miles. It is by far, worth knowing my pride and weekend joy is covered! I highly highly recommend these guys. They are absolutely professional and get the job done by far!
1
March 2, 2019

Richiecuz

Outrageous renewal quote

My premium went from $492 with a $0 deductible $13,000 worth of coverage to after 4 calls $705 with a $1500 deductible $15,000 worth of coverage all because I was honest and told them I purchased 22" wheels for my Impala SS. Could have lied and said nope still has the stock wheels since they sit right along side my vehicle in my Locked garage inside my Gated community. I even explained I don't care to cover the wheels I want my Impala covered. I ...
My premium went from $492 with a $0 deductible $13,000 worth of coverage to after 4 calls $705 with a $1500 deductible $15,000 worth of coverage all because I was honest and told them I purchased 22" wheels for my Impala SS. Could have lied and said nope still has the stock wheels since they sit right along side my vehicle in my Locked garage inside my Gated community. I even explained I don't care to cover the wheels I want my Impala covered. I was advised thats not a choice for me now and because I was honest I show intent to want bigger wheels so there was nothing I could do. Outrageousness is the best word I can use. People check out American Modern, American Collectors, Gundy, Safeco or JC Taylor. Hagerty is not the only company out there. Don't let them bully you into higher insurance. Thanks for reading.
4
August 23, 2018

Angie2018

Great classic car insurance

One of the few insurance companies that will actually insure my DeLorean. They're a pretty good insurance company.
5
August 23, 2018

buj999

Good company

I've had nothing but great service with Hagerty. The agent was polite and very helpful. She explained everything precisely and completely. My past experience with them has been excellent, also.
5
May 25, 2018

Redbaron2

Classic and collector vehicle insurance for the regular guy.

This is a great insurance company for classic and collector vehicles! They have very reasonable rates.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.carinsurancecomparison.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption