What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Montana?
Montana penalties for driving without car insurance include fines from $250 to $500 and possible imprisonment for up to 10 days. Avoid jail time by comparing quotes for MT state minimum coverage.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jan 22, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- Montana requires automotive liability insurance to operate or own a motor vehicle
- Penalties for violating this state law can include fines and mandatory jail time
- Although minimum coverage is 25/50/20 in the state of Montana, taking advantage of a policy higher than the state minimum can be a good way to reduce financial risk to the driver
Auto insurance is required in almost every state, and the Big Sky state is no exception. In the state of Montana, all drivers and car owners are required to possess automotive liability insurance.
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident and subject to the limit for one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident
- $20,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Although insurance policies sometimes lapse and people fall behind, it is important to renew your policy as quickly as possible and to refrain from driving until it has been renewed.
Car insurance is intended to provide coverage for unforeseen circumstances that can create financial difficulties for the driver found at fault, or, in some cases, drivers who are found to be fully absolved of guilt but encountered another driver who didn’t have insurance.
Compare car insurance quotes to find the coverage you need at the best rate. Enter your ZIP code into our free tool above to get started.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
In the state of Montana, being found in noncompliance or violation of automotive insurance law is a misdemeanor punishable by both increasing fines and eventual jail time.
Each violation of this law will result in five points on the driver’s record. If a driver accumulates 30 points their license will be revoked.
- First Offense – A first-time violation in the state of Montana is punishable by $250 to $500 in fines, as well as possible imprisonment lasting up to 10 days.
- Second Offense – A second-time violation in the state of Montana is punishable by a set fine of $350, as well as possible imprisonment lasting up to ten days. The recipient is also subject to revocation of vehicle registration lasting up to 90 days.
- Third Offense – A third-time violation in the state of Montana is punishable by a set fine of $500, as well as possible imprisonment lasting up to six months. The recipient is also subject to revocation of vehicle registration lasting up to 180 days.
- Subsequent Offenses – Fourth and subsequent violations in the state of Montana are punishable by a set fine of $500, as well as possible imprisonment lasting up to six months. The recipient is subject to indefinite revocation of vehicle registration and their driver’s license, lasting until proof of insurance is provided to state officials.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Proof of Insurance Required in Montana
In the state of Montana, drivers are required to carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. Like a driver’s license or vehicle registration, the policyholder must produce proof of insurance if a law enforcement official asks for it.
Since May of 2012, this has been supported by the addition of the Montana Insurance Verification System(MTIVS). This system allows drivers to check their insurance status online from home, which can help prevent lapses in coverage.
MTIVS is now used in traffic stops to help verify a driver’s insurance status, and partially eliminates the need for a physical proof of insurance.
If a driver has lost their card or has an expired card but still holds a valid coverage plan, the responding officer is capable of confirming that the plan is valid and sending the driver on their way.
This system of providing electronic proof has simplified the traffic stop process for both citizens and officers.
How to Get Insurance in Montana
The state of Montana supplies a variety of different policies and rates, but it is recommended that most frequent or inexperienced drivers seek higher coverage than the state minimum. This is not only the case in Montana, but is recommended for drivers across the country.
Montana has among the highest rate of automobile accidents of any state, and both intoxicated and uninsured drivers can make the roads unsafe for the average citizen.
When shopping for car insurance, it’s important to strike a balance between state requirements and personal needs. Whether you’re comparing policies before renewing or a first-time buyer, car insurance research is essential to saving money and getting the best coverage.
While many insurance companies may fit your needs, it is vital to hold out until you find the coverage truly tailored for your situation.
The main mistake made by the consumer when purchasing car insurance is that they may rush to a decision, trying to get the process over with rather than truly seeking the best comparative prices.
Use our free, no obligation rate tool below. Enter your ZIP code and then compare several rates from top insurance companies in your area.