Driving Without Insurance: Avoid Lapses in Coverage for Lower Rates
Is it illegal to drive without insurance in America? Driving uninsured is illegal in 48 states. Every state has rules about having at least minimum car insurance coverage on any registered vehicle. Caught driving without insurance, you should be prepared to pay a fine to your state or face the driving without insurance penalty. Learn more.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jun 2, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Every state has rules about having at least minimum car insurance on any registered vehicle, and if you’re caught driving without insurance you should be prepared to pay a fine to your state.
Multiple offenses can add up and even cost you your license. If you’re caught, you’ll need to pay the penalty and get coverage before you drive again. Getting car insurance after not having it can cost you, as you might have to pay extra after a coverage lapse on car insurance.
But can you go to jail for not having car insurance? Can you drive without insurance if the car is insured? Is it illegal to drive without insurance in America? What happens if you get caught? Can you drive a car without insurance in Florida?
Read more to learn exactly what happens if you get pulled over while driving without any car insurance coverage.
Enter your ZIP code to start comparing car insurance rates with our FREE comparison tool, so you don’t get caught driving without the appropriate coverage.
What happens if you’re caught driving without car insurance?
Everyone seems to always be on the go, and life can get messy and crazy rather quickly. Bills are paid late, and sometimes not at all. But what happens if your insurance payment is late?
See our table below for more details about the fines you could face.
|State||Fine for Driving Uninsured|
Do you still have coverage? Is there a grace period? Can you drive without insurance? What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Florida and other states? We’re going to answer those questions and a lot more.
Need insurance now? You can enter your ZIP code in our free comparison tool and start getting quotes for cheaper car insurance today.
Can you go to jail for not having car insurance?
It depends on where you live. You’re likely to receive a fine or a suspended license before you’re given jail time. The penalty is determined by the state that you live in. As mentioned above, every state has specific laws, but they sure aren’t the same from state to state. What happens if you drive without insurance in Florida, Illinois, or North Carolina, for example? Take a look.
- If you’ve caught driving without insurance in Florida, the state penalty is $150 to $500 depending on the number of offenses. In addition, a person found driving without coverage will have their driver’s license, registration, and license plate suspended.
- Driving without insurance in Illinois has a minimum fine of $500 for driving without insurance with a maximum fine of $1,000. After the third offense, your license will be suspended.
- In North Carolina, driving without car insurance is a Class 2 misdemeanor. If drivers are caught without car insurance, they can go to jail. Although a fine is usually issued for first offenders, the fines become more severe for repeat offenders and jail time will eventually be applied.
In order to determine what the fines are in your state, you can visit your state’s Department of Insurance website or Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Failure to carry the required coverage can lead to some serious penalties, even if your policy is inactive for just a single day. Since most states consider driving while uninsured a misdemeanor criminal offense, it is possible to go to jail for choosing not to pay premiums for liability or personal injury protection coverage.
Anyone who owns a vehicle must have sufficient funds and assets to pay for the damages that they cause; therefore, it is pertinent that you maintain at least the minimum limits that are mandated by the state.
The costs of driving without insurance are severe and can wind up costing you your freedom in the end.
When you sign for your driver’s license, you agree that you will not just obey all of the traffic laws in the state but also comply with the mandatory car insurance requirements.
Is it illegal to have a lapse in your car insurance policy?
What is a lapse in car insurance? So you forgot to pay your car insurance premium. Is it illegal to drive around without insurance? In most states, the answer is yes. Not only are you liable for the damage done to your own car if you have an accident, but you are liable for the damage done to someone else’s car as well.
The risk of being uninsured is simple — it’s just not worth it.
When your insurance lapses, you will be liable for all that out-of-pocket or could be sued. If you think your insurance has lapsed or canceled, you should immediately contact your insurance provider. If you’re wondering what it means to have lapsed coverage, don’t worry. We will explain.
Is it illegal to drive without insurance in America?
There are very rare instances in which a driver does not legally have to have a policy in force. New Hampshire is the only state with no insurance requirements or fees. The state of Virginia does not require insurance, but you must register your uninsured car and pay a hefty fine.
All states have minimum limits — even New Hampshire — if you decide to purchase a policy. These limits are the minimum required amount, and you can opt to purchase more coverage. We suggest you purchase higher limits of insurance, especially if you own a luxury vehicle.
What does a lapse in your car insurance mean?
If your car insurance lapsed, what can you do? Maybe you’re reading this article and you’re unsure of what a lapsed car insurance means.
The following description is listed on The Economic Times website:
“Excessive delay in payments and servicing of the policy leads to the policy being dead or lapsed. However, a lapsed policy may be revived by fulfilling the terms and conditions as per the policy statement. To avoid losses to all parties, generally the revival and reinstatement is encouraged and facilitated.”
A lapsed policy is simply a policy that was in force and due to the non-payment of premium, the policy has gone into canceled status.
The cheapest and best auto insurance for a lapse in coverage is simply to never let it lapse, to begin with, but after that, it’s best to shop around.
What happens if your car insurance is canceled?
If your insurance is canceled, you should immediately contact your insurance provider and see if there is a grace period. We will cover more below on getting new insurance once your policy has lapsed or canceled.
The cost of not having insurance is high. There are not only fines and fees associated with not having insurance, but you can also lose your license and end up in jail.
How much can your car insurance rates go up after a lapse in coverage?
Gaps in coverage increase your premiums up to $138 per year. For six-month car insurance policies, it can be $194 per year. The cheapest way to avoid these costs is to be sure to get insured.
Want to find out what happens if you drive without insurance? Let’s take a look at the state laws and the consequences of being found guilty.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
State Laws for Car Insurance
Each state has its own unique set of laws regarding the legality of car insurance. Some may require a $15,000 limit for liability, while others require $30,000 of liability. Your state laws decide how much insurance you must have and who pays if you get into an accident.
What states do not require car insurance?
Each state has its own set of required liability limits. Even if you chose to buy insurance in New Hampshire, which doesn’t require all drivers to purchase insurance, you still have a minimum amount you are required to buy.
Take a look at the below table and check out your state. How much insurance do you need to buy?
|State||Insurance Required||Minimum Limits|
|Alabama||BI & PD liability||25/50/25|
|Alaska||BI & PD liability||50/100/25|
|Arizona||BI & PD liability||25/50/15|
|Arkansas||BI & PD liability, PIP||25/50/25|
|California||BI & PD liability||15/30/5|
|Colorado||BI & PD liability||25/50/15|
|Connecticut||BI & PD liability, UM, UIM||25/50/25|
|Delaware||BI & PD liability, PIP||25/50/10|
|D.C.||BI & PD liability, UM||25/50/10|
|Florida||PD liability, PIP||10/20/10|
|Georgia||BI & PD liability||25/50/25|
|Hawaii||BI & PD liability, PIP||20/40/10|
|Idaho||BI & PD liability||25/50/15|
|Illinois||BI & PD liability, UM, UIM||25/50/20|
|Indiana||BI & PD liability||25/50/25|
|Iowa||BI & PD liability||20/40/15|
|Kansas||BI & PD liability, PIP||25/50/25|
|Kentucky||BI & PD liability, PIP, UM, UIM||25/50/25|
|Louisiana||BI & PD liability||15/30/25|
|Maine||BI & PD liability, UM, UIM, Medpay||50/100/25|
|Maryland||BI & PD Liability, PIP, UM, UIM||30/60/15|
|Massachusetts||BI & PD liability, PIP||20/40/5|
|Michigan||BI & PD liability, PIP||20/40/10|
|Minnesota||BI & PD liability, PIP, UM, UIM||30/60/10|
|Mississippi||BI & PD liability||25/50/25|
|Missouri||BI & PD liability, UM||25/50/25|
|Montana||BI & PD liability||25/50/20|
|Nebraska||BI & PD liability, UM, UIM||25/50/25|
|Nevada||BI & PD liability||25/50/20|
|New Hampshire||FR only||25/50/25|
|New Jersey||BI & PD liability, PIP, UM, UIM||15/30/5|
|New Mexico||BI & PD liability||25/50/10|
|New York||BI & PD liability, PIP, UM, UIM||25/50/10|
|North Carolina||BI & PD liability, UM, UIM||30/60/25|
|North Dakota||BI & PD liability, PIP, UM, UIM||25/50/25|
|Ohio||BI & PD liability||25/50/25|
|Oklahoma||BI & PD liability||25/50/25|
|Oregon||BI & PD liability, PIP, UM, UIM||25/50/20|
|Pennsylvania||BI & PD liability, PIP||15/30/5|
|Rhode Island||BI & PD liability||25/50/25|
|South Carolina||BI & PD liability, UM||25/50/25|
|South Dakota||BI & PD liability, UM, UIM||25/50/25|
|Tennessee||BI & PD liability||25/50/15|
|Texas||BI & PD liability, PIP||30/60/25|
|Utah||BI & PD liability, PIP||25/65/15|
|Vermont||BI & PD liability, UM, UIM||25/50/10|
|Virginia||BI & PD liability, UM, UIM||25/50/20|
|Washington||BI & PD liability||25/50/10|
|West Virginia||BI & PD liability, UM, UIM||25/50/25|
|Wisconsin||BI & PD liability, UM, Medpay||25/50/10|
|Wyoming||BI & PD liability||25/50/20|
When you’re looking at this table, the three numbers in the third column (25/50/25, for example) refer to the dollar amount of each coverage type minimum limit). In our example, this means $25,000 of bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident, and $25,000 of property damage liability per accident. We’ve also spelled out the relevant abbreviations below.
|PD||Property Damage Liability|
|PIP||Personal Injury Protection|
What exactly is liability coverage? It’s a part of your car insurance that helps pay for the other driver’s damages if you cause the accident. Liability car insurance is the type required by law in nearly every state.
Unfortunately, not all drivers follow the law. Where does your state land on the list for uninsured drivers?
|State||Percentage of Uninsured Drivers||State Rank|
The national average for uninsured drivers, is about 13 percent, but as you saw in the table, the number per state varies, with percentages anywhere between 4.5 and nearly 27 percent.
To make sure you’re not one of those uninsured drivers, you’ll need at least the minimum liability coverage we described above. Take a look at this table to see average costs for liability.
|State||Average Annual Rate for Liability Coverage||Average 6-Month Rate for Liability Coverage||Average Monthly Rate for Liability Coverage|
|District of Columbia||$628.09||$314.05||$52.34|
Rates vary by state, but in some cases, the cost of maintaining liability coverage is actually cheaper than the fine you’ll pay if you’re caught driving uninsured (we’ll go into more detail on this later).
What happens if you get caught driving while uninsured?
Is it illegal to drive without car insurance? In most cases, the answer is yes. The consequences of driving without auto insurance depend on the state you live in. It’s not worth it. Consequences range from fees and fines from various entities to jail time.
You can see the penalty for no car insurance in your state below:
- Alabama: $200 on first offense and $400 on second offense
- Alaska: $100 for first lapse or $250 if combined with another non-DUI related offense
- Arizona: $50
- Arkansas: $50
- California: $14
- Colorado: $40
- Connecticut: $200
- Delaware: DMV lapse fee of $100 per vehicle and $5 per day after first 30 days
- District of Columbia: DMV lapse fee of $150 and $7 per day after first 30 days to a maximum of $2,500
- Florida: $150 for first lapse, $250 for second reinstatement, $500 for third or more within three years
- Georgia: Lapse of more than 10 days incurs a $25 fee if not paid within 30 days along with a $60 fee
- Hawaii: $20 in Honolulu County; other counties may differ
- Idaho: $85
- Illinois: $100
- Indiana: $150 for the first offense, $225 for a a second offense, or $300 for a third offense
- Iowa: Need to show proof of financial responsibility only after an accident, at which time at least $485 in penalties and fees incurred
- Kansas: $100 for first offense, $300 for second offense within one year
- Kentucky: $40
- Louisiana: DMV lapse fee of $125 for up to 30 days, $225 for 31 to 90 days, $525 for over 90 days
- Maine: $50, plus $20 to $30 additional fee and $35
- Maryland: Uninsured motorist penalty fee of $150 for the first 30 days, $7 for each day thereafter, and registration restoration fee of up to $25
- Massachusetts: $500
- Michigan: $50 plus $25 if license was suspended
- Minnesota: $30
- Mississippi: $30
- Missouri: $20 after first suspension, $200 after second suspension, $400 after third suspension
- Montana: No charge for first lapse of insurance
- Nebraska: $500
- Nevada: $251 plus a fine of $250 if lapse was 31 to 90 days, $500 if lapse was 91 to 180 days, and $1,000 if lapse was more than 181 days
- New Hampshire: Only proof of financial responsibility is required
- New Jersey: Restoration fee of $100
- New Mexico: $30
- New York: Civil penalty of $8 per day for lapses of insurance for the first 30 days, $10 per day for the second 30 days, and $12 per day for the third 30 days
- North Carolina: Civil penalty of $50 for the first insurance lapse in a three-year period, $100 for the second lapse, $150 for third and subsequent lapses
- North Dakota: No loss of license or registration on first offense
Ohio: Compliance fees up to $60, plus $100 for first offense, $300 for second offense, $600 for third offense
- Oklahoma: $275, plus $125 administrative fee
- Oregon: $75
- Pennsylvania: $88
- Rhode Island: $30 to $50
- South Carolina: DMV lapse fee of $5 per day up to $200, plus $550 uninsured motorist fee
- South Dakota: $50 to $200, depending on length of non-compliance, and $28 application fee
- Tennessee: $65, plus $50 administrative fee
- Texas: $100
- Utah: $100
- Vermont: $71
- Virginia: $145
- Washington: $75
- West Virginia: $100
- Wisconsin: $60
- Wyoming: $50
You can also have various no car insurance fines.
Keep reading to find out more about the consequences of driving without car insurance.
DMV Fines for Driving Uninsured
The Department of Motor Vehicles charges fees to drivers who drive without insurance.
|State||DMV Fees for Lapsed Insurance|
|Alabama||Registration reinstatement fee of $200 on first offense and $400 on second offense|
|Alaska||License reinstatement fee of $100 for first lapse or $250 if combined with another non-DUI related offense|
|Arizona||License reinstatement fee of $50|
|Arkansas||License reinstatement fee of $50|
|California||License reinstatement fee of $14|
|Colorado||Reinstatement fee of $40|
|Connecticut||Reinstatement fee of $200|
|Delaware||DMV lapse fee of $100 per vehicle and $5 per day after first 30 days|
|District of Columbia||DMV lapse fee of $150 and $7 per day after first 30 days to a maximum of $2,500|
|Florida||Registration and license reinstatement fee of $150 for first lapse, $250 for second reinstatement, $500 for third or more within three years|
|Georgia||Lapse of more than 10 days incurs a $25 fee if not paid within 30 days along with a $60 reinstatement fee|
|Hawaii||License reinstatement fee of $20 in Honolulu County; other counties may differ|
|Idaho||License reinstatement fee of $85|
|Illinois||Reinstatement fee of $100|
|Indiana||Reinstatement fee $150 for the first offense, $225 for a a second offense, or $300 for a third offense|
|Iowa||Need to show proof of financial responsibility only after an accident, at which time at least $485 in penalties and fees incurred|
|Kansas||Reinstatement fee $100 for first offense, $300 for second offense within one year|
|Kentucky||registration reinstatement fee of $40|
|Louisiana||DMV lapse fee of $125 for up to 30 days, $225 for 31 to 90 days, $525 for over 90 days|
|Maine||License reinstatement fee of $50, plus $20 to $30 additional fee and $35 registration reinstatement fee|
|Maryland||Uninsured motorist penalty fee of $150 for the first 30 days, $7 for each day thereafter, and registration restoration fee of up to $25|
|Massachusetts||Reinstatement fee of $500|
|Michigan||Registration reinstatement fee of $50 plus $25 if license was suspended|
|Minnesota||License and registration reinstatement fee of $30|
|Mississippi||License reinstatement fee of $30|
|Missouri||License reinstatement fee of $20 after first suspension, $200 after second suspension, $400 after third suspension|
|Montana||No charge for first lapse of insurance|
|Nebraska||Reinstatement fee of $500|
|Nevada||Reinstatement fee of $251 plus a fine of $250 if lapse was 31 to 90 days, $500 if lapse was 91 to 180 days, and $1,000 if lapse was more than 181 days|
|New Hampshire||Only proof of financial responsibility is required|
|New Jersey||Restoration fee of $100|
|New Mexico||Registration reinstatement fee of $30|
|New York||Civil penalty of $8 per day for lapses of insurance for the first 30 days, $10 per day for the second 30 days, and $12 per day for the third 30 days|
|North Carolina||Civil penalty of $50 for the first insurance lapse in a three-year period, $100 for the second lapse, $150 for third and subsequent lapses|
|North Dakota||No loss of license or registration on first offense|
|Ohio||Compliance fees up to $60, plus reinstatement fee of $100 for first offense, $300 for second offense, $600 for third offense|
|Oklahoma||Reinstatement fee of $275, plus $125 administrative fee|
|Oregon||License and registration reinstatement fee of $75|
|Pennsylvania||Restoration fee of $88|
|Rhode Island||Reinstatement fee of $30 to $50|
|South Carolina||DMV lapse fee of $5 per day up to $200, plus $550 uninsured motorist fee|
|South Dakota||License reinstatement fee of $50 to $200, depending on length of non-compliance, and $28 application fee|
|Tennessee||License and registration restoration fee of $65, plus $50 administrative fee|
|Texas||Reinstatement fee of $100|
|Utah||Reinstatement fee of $100|
|Vermont||Driver’s license reinstatement fee of $71|
|Virginia||Registration reinstatement fee of $145|
|Washington||Reinstatement fee of $75|
|West Virginia||Registration reinstatement fee of $100|
|Wisconsin||License reinstatement fee of $60|
|Wyoming||Reinstatement fee of $50|
Reinstatement fees can range from a daily charge to a one-time fee of $500. You can reinstate Progressive auto insurance, State Farm, or most insurers.
Jail Time For Being Uninsured
Multiple charges can even land you in jail. Idaho, Kentucky, and Michigan are just three of the many states that will impose jail time.
Towed Car Can’t Be Driven While Uninsured
Chances are if you are breaking the law, you won’t be leaving in a car with no insurance. So go ahead and add more fees to your total for impound and re-registration.
Fines For Being Uninsured
Not only do you have to pay fees to the DMV, but the state also has fines.
|State||Fine for Driving Uninsured|
Fines can range from $25 all the way up to $5,000.
SR-22 Car Insurance Requirement
SR-22 is a filing required in some states for drivers convicted of driving uninsured or even other charges such as reckless driving or driving under the influence.
Your insurance company files proof with the state that shows that you at least have the minimum required insurance limits set by the state. This is not insurance, but merely a filing from your insurer.
Importance of Maintaining Continuous Car Insurance Coverage
Maintaining continuous coverage is important for many reasons. Once you have let your car insurance cancel, fees and fines begin to pile up. Getting car insurance after a lapse in coverage can make your car insurance premiums increase drastically. You could lose your car, license, and even worse, be in financial ruin due to this decision.
What should you do if you’re charged with driving without car insurance?
Mistakes happen. You thought you paid your insurance bill or maybe you didn’t know your insurance was canceled. If you got caught driving without car insurance, what do you do next? First, you need to get insurance for your car. If you got a ticket, you should also follow all protocols listed on your citation.
Depending on your state laws and driving history, you could arrange a plea bargain or get your charges reduced. This all depends on your state and the judge you are set to see on your court date.
Does unpaid car insurance go on your credit?
This is a tricky question. If you’re late in paying your insurance, the answer is no, it does not go on your credit. If you have earned premium, which is due despite canceling your coverage, and you don’t pay, then the answer is yes.
Earned premium is an amount due even after you have canceled your coverage. This amount must be paid to the insurer. If not, the insurer has the right to turn you into collections, which can definitely affect your credit.
Accidents and Claims with No Car Insurance
So what should you do if you’re involved in an accident with no insurance or hit by someone with no insurance? Let’s take a look at your options.
What should you do if you were involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist?
Accidents are stressful enough, but knowing you are fully insured makes the process a little bit easier. Whenever you are involved in an accident, there is a chance the other person involved does not have insurance. So what do you do if that happens?
If you have coverage, you will file the claim against your insurance under uninsured motorists coverage. This coverage can be used to pay for medical bills and property damage incurred by someone without insurance.
Another helpful type of coverage is collision coverage. This will pay only for damage done to your vehicle. There is no coverage for injuries under collision.
What happens if you get into a car accident without insurance?
What if you are the one without insurance? Well, depending on your state, you could be named in a lawsuit and a judgment filed against you. If you live in a no-fault state, the other party not at fault is still required to file the claim on their insurance.
In rare cases, the party not at fault can file a lawsuit, but it is not as likely in no-fault states.
If you live in one of the many tort states, or at-fault, you could be held liable for pain and suffering along with medical bills and property damage.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Can you get car insurance after a lapse or cancellation?
Once you realize you don’t have insurance, the next thing you must do is get insurance. But how do you get it? We’ll explain how you can get new coverage or possibly continue with your previous coverage.
Is there a grace period for late car insurance payments?
Some companies offer a grace period for late payments. The best thing to do is always pay your insurance payment when it’s due, but often companies will allow a period of time when you can make a payment after the due date.
For example, the Louisiana car insurance grace period says when you purchase a new policy, the insurer may cancel it within 60 days, which is the grace period when the company conducts its underwriting review.
Companies can range from just a few days to a few weeks. We suggest calling as soon as you realize you haven’t made your current payment and see how to rectify the payment and continue coverage.
Remember, companies don’t have to provide coverage if you were to get into an accident and were late on your payment. They can also add fees when you’re late. Don’t rely on grace periods.
While some companies may reinstate your policy due to a grace period, others may rewrite your policy. The new policy could have higher premiums due to lapsed coverage, and they may even impose financial restrictions such as only paying with automatic transfer.
Does letting your car insurance cancel affect your premiums in the future?
Most insurance companies ask about your prior coverage and if you have had continuous coverage. Not having coverage for an extended period of time can categorize you as a high-risk driver. This will increase pricing. Some companies do not offer insurance costs to drivers without continuous coverage.
Can I get cheap coverage if my insurance lapsed?
The best option to get the cheapest lapsed driver car insurance is to shop around. It may be a longer process, but shopping your insurance with various companies will ensure you are getting the best prices available.
How do they know you don’t have coverage?
Every state has a system in place to help them determine when someone’s insurance has lapsed. Many states have moved to the electronic method.
When you purchase a vehicle from a dealership, you are required to purchase insurance before you leave the lot.
When a state runs things electronically, the insurer that you buy your insurance from enters your info into the state’s insurance system.
If you cancel your insurance or default on your payments, the insurance company just presses a couple of keys, and the state is informed. If you purchase a policy with a different company, then the system is updated, and nothing happens.
If, however, you don’t buy a different policy then a letter is generated by the electronic system to let you know you have 30 days to provide proof of insurance or your registration will be suspended.
Why Car Insurance Laws are Important
Having an accident costs money; it’s that simple. Nearly everyone who drives safely thinks that they won’t have an accident because they drive well. The problem is that accidents are called accidents for a reason. Even the best drivers have caused accidents.
When you don’t have insurance, then you are creating a financial burden on someone else. Even if you live in a tort state, it takes time to recoup the costs using that method.
Auto insurance offers more than just protection for your vehicle; it offers protection against injury and loss of life.
Carrying comprehensive car insurance covers your vehicle for more than just an accident. If your car is stolen, vandalized, or an act of nature damages or destroys it, then you are protected from that as well.
Insurance plays an important part in your financial stability.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
How can you find coverage?
Getting an insurance quote is like getting an estimate. Using a quote tool allows you to get an estimate of what your insurance costs are going to be.
When you make a final decision, the insurer will run your driving record before telling you the final amount.
The biggest benefit of using a free quote tool is your ability to compare quotes side by side. You will quickly get a real idea of what the cheapest rates are. If you don’t have car insurance , use our FREE quote tool by using your ZIP code!
Driving a Car without Your Own Insurance Coverage
Technically you can drive an insured car without your own insurance, but there are a few things to keep in mind if you choose to do so:
- You are not legally required to get insurance when you pass the exam for your state-issued license
- Drivers are only required to buy car insurance when they own a vehicle and the vehicle had valid plates
- If you want to borrow a friend’s vehicle, the primary insurance on the car may extend coverage to you
- Most insurance companies have a permissive user provision that says that someone is covered when borrowing the car
- There is always the risk that the insurer won’t pay for claims presented when you’re driving a borrowed car
The percentage of Americans who own a car is on a decline. Car sharing services and easy access to afford public transportation has created less of a need to own a vehicle.
When you add in the fact that owning a car can get very expensive, people living on a limited income find it easier to pay for single rides instead of paying all of the costs that come with car ownership.
Just because you choose not to own a car doesn’t mean that you won’t ever drive a car. There may come a time where you’ll need to borrow a car or drive a friend to the airport.
Do I have to have coverage if I have a driver’s license?
Getting your license is a process. First, you need to complete the training that’s required by the state. Then, you must pass the written portion of the exam.
Once you pass the knowledge-based portion of the test, you can set up your appointment for your drive test. It could take months to officially get your license once you start the process. You need to familiarize yourself with all of the documents that you need to have at your appointment just to avoid delays on the day you’ve been waiting for.
You will need to provide proof of insurance and registration for the car you’re testing in, but that doesn’t mean that you’re required to have insurance just because you have a license. If you don’t own a car, there’s no standard legal requirement that says insurance is mandatory.
Will the car’s insurance cover you if you’re not on the policy?
If you’re driving an insured car that you don’t own, the chances of the car’s primary insurance covering you are high.
Pretty much all companies that sell the standard type of personal auto policy will let the vehicle owner lend their vehicle out to their friends without having to worry about coverage or protection.
You might feel more comfortable driving a car when you’re listed on the policy as a driver, but getting added to the policy isn’t always necessary.
There is a term in the policy that says that someone is covered under your policy as long as they are given express permission to drive it. This is called the permissive use provision.
What are the restrictions for permissive use coverage?
Car insurance follows the car as long as the policyholder is complying with the terms and conditions written into the policy contract. There are restrictions when it comes to borrowing a car and getting automatic coverage.
If you don’t have your own insurance, knowing these restrictions can really help you avoid disastrous scenarios. Permissive use restrictions include:
- The driver can’t live in the same household as the vehicle owner
- The driver must have a valid driver’s license free of serious accidents
- The driver can’t be on the title of the car or the car’s registration
- The driver can’t be otherwise excluded from the policy
- The driver must have driving experience
Keep these in mind if you choose to drive someone’s car when you’re not on the policy, or your friend asks to borrow your car.
Why does the primary policy cover someone who’s not on the policy?
Insurance companies are in business to make money. It’s almost a shock for people to learn that someone is covered to drive a vehicle when they aren’t rated on the insurance or being charged a premium.
You need to look at the big picture to fully comprehend why coverage often extends.
What some people don’t understand is that it costs the insurer money to add a driver to the policy. The carrier will incur administrative expenses to endorse the policy when the driver is added and then removed from the policy.
It also costs the company money to run reports to see if the driver has tickets or accidents.
The primary purpose of carrying insurance on a car is to protect the vehicle owner from financial damage if there’s any type of covered loss.
Since it’s the legal owner of the car who will likely be sued if someone is borrowing the car and gets into a crash, it only makes sense for the insurer to pay for these losses to keep the owner out of court.
Will I have to buy car insurance if I have serious convictions on my record?
You don’t have to carry insurance just for being licensed, but if you’ve been convicted of a serious driving infraction in the past, the court may order you to buy coverage.
In some states, when you’re cited for DUI, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended license, you’ll be ordered to file an SR-22 to get your license back. An SR-22 filing is required so that you can show that you’re financially responsible at all times.
How do you buy insurance when you don’t own a car?
If you don’t own a car, the only way that you can get insurance and file your SR-22 is to buy a special policy that’s just for people who don’t own a car. This type of insurance is called a non-owners insurance policy. It provides you with liability auto insurance and not physical damage coverage because you don’t own a car to buy damage coverage on.
You can drive a car under its primary insurance but you might want to have your own coverage when you’re driving several different cars that you don’t own.
If you’re going to buy a car in the future or you just want financial protection, consider buying a non-owner’s plan now. It will give you coverage to pay for damages that you cause when you’re driving a rental or a borrowed car.
Laws Surrounding Car Insurance Requirements
One of the most confusing things about car insurance is why the requirements vary so dramatically from state to state.
There may be alternatives to insurance in states instead of an explicit car insurance requirement, but most drivers will opt to carry coverage instead of having to place a huge deposit with the Department of Motor Vehicles.
In every state, car insurance is either mandatory or required in effect by the way that the financial responsibility law is written.
Not only do laws surrounding insurance vary, so do the limits and types of coverage that you must carry. A majority of states operate under a fault-based system, but some states choose a different method referred to as no-fault.
Here is a breakdown of what you need to know about insurance state to state.
What is tort-based or fault-based insurance?
A tort auto insurance system is one where the driver who is operating the vehicle is responsible for paying all medical expenses and other damages. Currently, 38 states operate under a fault-based system where all drivers must have at least personal liability insurance.
Some of these states may also require drivers to carry medical payments and uninsured motorist insurance for added protection.
You will need to check into these requirements so that you comply whenever you are registering your vehicle in a new state.
What are no-fault systems?
There are currently 12 states that have some form of no-fault system in place.
Instead of ordering the party who is primarily at fault to pay for the damages, each party will file a claim with their own insurer. The carrier will pay for their own insured’s medical bills and damages, up to the limits of the policy.
To pay for these damages, drivers must carry a unique coverage called Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Personal Injury Protection will cover several different types of expenses including:
- Reasonable medical expenses for persons injured in the accident
- Funeral expenses
- Income replacement coverage for those who are disabled
- Rehabilitation services
While PIP is not typically required in tort-based systems, it may still be a good idea to purchase it, just in case.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
How are car insurance laws enforced?
Now that you know what types of laws exist, you should familiarize yourself with how your state or local prosecutors enforce the policies when you are cited.
Some state prosecutors who charge for this offense take it far more seriously than others. These stricter laws are typically in states where the rate of uninsured motorists is very high.
In some ways, the uninsured motorist rate can directly impact how serious your penalty will be and whether you might face jail time or not.
Prosecutors can enforce the traffic code based on strict liability or with a more lenient intent requirement.
Learn about the difference between the two by reading a brief explanation:
What are strict liability offenses?
In states that treat no insurance as strict liability offenses, it does not matter whether or not you intended to drive without insurance. If you left for work in the morning and had no clue that your policy had canceled that morning, you can be convicted of a misdemeanor.
What are intent requirements?
If you are lucky enough to live in a state with an intent requirement, it is more difficult to get convicted of driving with no insurance and to be ordered to complete a jail sentence.
When you are cited, you must go right to court. What happens when you go to court for no insurance? you’ll need to prove that you accidentally got behind the wheel of an uninsured car.
The prosecutor will have to show proof that you intentionally drove without coverage before you will be convicted and ordered to pay a fine or even serve time.
Penalties for Failing to Comply with Car Insurance Laws
A majority of states operate under a strict liability type of policy enforcement. The prosecutor does not have to bear the burden of proving that the driver violated the law on purpose.
The driver must pay the price for their oversight the same as they would if their decision was intentional.
There is a long list of penalties for uninsured driving, and if you are convicted after you are cited by a law enforcement officer, you could be judged to serve time.
The judge is much more likely to order other penalties before ordering a defendant to serve time.
Some of the penalties you might face include:
- A fine based on the number of convictions you have
- Suspension of driver license
- Suspension of license plate
- SR-22 requirement
- The reinstatement fee for the registration of license
- A jail sentence of up to six months for multiple offenses
While it is not common for a first-time offender to be assessed the maximum penalty of jail time, it is possible. You need to consider this option in states where no insurance convictions are criminal offenses.
If you currently do not have coverage, make sure that you start to price coverage as soon as possible. Enter your ZIP code to start using our FREE comparison tool to compare car insurance premiums in your local area!
What happens if I was caught driving without car insurance?
You will definitely receive a ticket and fine, and you will be asked to appear in court. To avoid the fine, you will have to show proof of insurance as a sign of good faith to the judge. This is a chance to prevent your license from getting suspended.
Each state has different minimum requirements for car insurance. The penalty for driving without proper insurance also varies by state. Saving money on car insurance is not worth the risk of driving without coverage In hard economic times when people are more budget-conscious, they might think that car insurance is something they can cut to save money.
This step could end up costing them a lot more than a monthly insurance premium, as the effects of getting pulled over without car insurance can be expensive.
Driving without car insurance can be a very expensive mistake, especially if the person is in an accident. Driving without car insurance can also leave the driver more vulnerable to lawsuits.
What are the consequences?
The penalty for driving without car insurance depends on the situation and varies greatly depending on which state the person lives in. Each state has its own individual car insurance requirements and a driver needs to be educated on these rules.
Here are some examples of how different states penalize uninsured driving:
- Illinois – In the state of Illinois, a person will be charged a fine between $500 and $1,000 for driving without car insurance. After the third offense, the driver will have their driver’s license suspended. Drivers are required to provide proof of car insurance whenever a police officer asks for it.
- Florida – In the state of Florida, a person that is caught driving without car insurance is not only fined between $150 and $500, they also have their license plate, car registration, and driver’s license suspended for the first offense. Unlike in Illinois, a police officer can only ask for proof of car insurance in the event of a car accident.
- North Carolina – Driving without car insurance in North Carolina is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which means the uninsured driver could spend as much as five years in jail and have to pay a fine up to $15,000. The fine amount is left to the discretion of the courts.
A police officer in North Carolina cannot pull someone over just to ask the driver if they have proof of insurance, but if the driver is pulled over for another reason they have to present the proper documentation if the police officer asks for it.
Since each state’s rules for car insurance are so different from one another, it is important for a driver to remember to look into the different requirements if they plan on moving to another state.
How do the police know I’m uninsured?
Just as each state has its own separate rules for car insurance, each state also has its own way to know if a driver’s policy is no longer current.
- Instant technology – In Michigan, the State Patrol can see who has insurance before they even pull someone over. As technology expands, this may become the case in more states.
- Electronic updates –When a person buys a new car from a car dealership they have to insure the new vehicle before they can leave the dealership with it. In the states that have a computer-based system, this process takes only a small amount of time.
- Paper mail updates – If the driver cancels their insurance with one company and the state’s system does not receive an update from a new insurance provider within a certain time frame, the driver will receive a letter saying requiring proof of new insurance within thirty days or their registration could be suspended.
This process takes a bit longer in states that do not have a computer-based system. It could be as much as ninety days before the state knows the driver has lapsed on their car insurance.
Once the state issues a letter informing the driver of this, the driver has 10 to 30 days to get new car insurance.
In these states, the fines for not getting a new policy in the required amount of time are higher since the driver has so much longer to get the new policy.
Why is car insurance necessary?
Some people might think that car insurance is an unnecessary expense and that the state has no right to require people to purchase it.
In reality, car insurance protects the driver as well as everyone else on the road.
If a person thinks they cannot afford a monthly insurance payment, then they certainly cannot afford to have a car accident. Car repair, medical payments, and in some cases lawsuits, can cost anywhere from $6,000 to more than $1 million.
What are the penalties for driving without insurance?
Here are a list of penalties to what happens if you don’t insure your car.
- Every state determines the penalties for driving while uninsured
- Penalties also depend on the type of violation given such as speeding or DUIs
- Typical penalties include fines, license suspension, and even jail time
Driving without car insurance penalties are based on the state you are driving in and the type of violation you are given for driving uninsured.
What kinds of violations will I face for driving uninsured?
The type of violation you will receive for driving without auto insurance depends on the state you are driving in, but there are two main violations.
Driving without proof of insurance
The first one is driving without proof of insurance. You should always keep proof of valid, current, and paid-up insurance in your vehicle.
When a police officer runs the information on your driver’s license, most states have a system that will tell the police officer if you have valid insurance. If the system says that you do have valid insurance, the officer will give you driving without proof of insurance ticket.
To resolve this type of ticket, you typically just need to show up in court on the court date given to you on your ticket. At that court appearance, bring your proof of insurance. The court may forgive the entire ticket or may have you pay a portion of the total ticket.
No insurance ticket
The other type is a no insurance ticket which means that you are caught driving without any valid insurance.
Driving without valid insurance or proof of ability to pay for damages is illegal in all 50 states, and the consequences for doing so vary greatly from state to state. However, you can count on some typical consequences that seem to be standard no matter what state you are in when you receive your violation.
However, you can count on some typical consequences that seem to be standard no matter what state you are in when you receive your violation.
What kinds of penalties are there for driving without insurance?
The most common penalty for driving while uninsured is a monetary fine. Any ticket other than a warning has a fine attached to it.
Another typical penalty is having your license suspended, generally on top of paying the fine associated with your ticket. Once your license has been suspended for any period of time, you will be considered a high-risk driver.
The final common consequence is jail time.
If you receive a ticket for driving uninsured or driving without proof of insurance and you cannot pay the fine, your license will be suspended and you could face jail time. All of these consequences can be avoided simply by finding and maintaining affordable car insurance.
Are there penalties for driving without car insurance?
There are penalties for not having car insurance:
- Every state has laws and requirements about driving with car insurance
- Driving without valid car insurance can bring a variety of penalties
- You may even lose your license if you risk driving without car insurance
In addition, you must disclose the auto insurance you have when requested by a police officer, the Department of Motor Vehicles, or any other official entity.
Driving without valid insurance is against the law, and the penalties vary based on the individual, the driving record, and what other driving violations they have had in the past.
The length of time without car insurance can also impact the penalty for driving without car insurance.
Are you searching for car insurance quotes online? Use the FREE search tool by entering your ZIP code to find car insurance premiums near you.
Are there penalties for not having proof of insurance?
If you are currently insured with a valid insurer and simply do not have an insurance card in your vehicle to present to authorities, you might receive a citation for not having proof of car insurance.
In most cases, a police officer or the Department of Motor Vehicles can determine whether or not you are insured through computer records.
There are certain states that have implemented an auto insurance verification system where authorities can look up if your policy is in force.
Although you should always carry proof of insurance, some police officers may be willing to forgo writing a ticket if there is valid proof that you have insurance.
However, if you are pulled over by a police officer and you do not have proof of insurance, you must still submit paper proof to the Department of Motor Vehicles within a certain amount of time.
If you fail to do so, the penalties can include either the full suspension of your vehicle registration or even the suspension of your driver’s license.
If you are ever ticketed for lack of proof of insurance, be sure to get a copy of your valid insurance card showing that you were covered at the time of the violation as soon as possible.
As far as fines are concerned, if you fail to submit proof that you have insurance the fine will most likely be rather small.
What are the exact penalties for not having car insurance?
If you are driving without valid car insurance, you are driving a vehicle that is a large financial liability.
Fines for driving without car insurance pale in comparison to the costs associated with an accident when there is no policy in force.
Penalties for knowingly driving without car insurance can be severe, including such charges as reckless negligence if you hurt another person in an accident.
Examples of the most common penalties issued by the DMV for driving without auto insurance can include:
- Major fines
- Suspended license
- Loss of the ability to register a car
- Criminal charges
- Eventual arrest and possible conviction
Any person driving a car and convicted of not carrying insurance can be fined anywhere from $100 to more than $1000.
If you do not have insurance, your car is not considered legally registered.
Looking for car insurance quotes? Use the FREE comparison tool by entering your ZIP code to find premiums near you today.
Will I lose my license if I’m caught driving without car insurance?
Certain states will also automatically suspend your driver’s license if you are driving without car insurance.
If your license is suspended, you cannot drive and your car will no longer be registered, making getting car insurance more expensive.
Depending on your individual situation and state you live in, you can be arrested and charged as a criminal for not having valid auto insurance while driving.
In addition, driving without auto insurance exposes all of your personal assets. If you do not have insurance to cover damages or injuries in an accident, your personal property might be at risk.
What happens if my car insurance lapses?
If your car insurance lapses, there are a few things to keep in mind:
- It’s illegal to drive a car without insurance
- High-risk drivers may find it difficult to find affordable coverage
- Most car insurance companies will automatically renew your current policy
If you experience a lapse in car insurance and you still own a registered vehicle, then you have one of two options. To remain in compliance, you can immediately purchase additional insurance.
Most car insurance companies will automatically renew your policy when your previous term expires.
Typically, they send you information letting you know that your policy is about to expire and what action you should take if you no longer wish to carry your car insurance. If you don’t receive notice of cancellation and your policy lapses, then you need to contact your insurer to find out why.
Can my insurer cancel my policy because of excessive insurance claims?
An insurer can choose not to offer you car insurance. If you have a lot of claims on your policy, the insurer may determine that it’s is not cost-effective to continue to offer you auto insurance.
The good news is that just because an insurer chooses to drop you as a customer doesn’t mean that you can’t get insurance somewhere else.
Keep in mind that if you have an excessive amount of claims, your name is put into a database. Other insurance companies may insure you, but they will charge you more to do it.
What can I do if my car insurance is terminated due to DUI convictions?
If your policy is terminated because of a DUI/DWI conviction, you may have to look to a specialty company to help you with future insurance. There are many companies that offer car insurance to individuals who are considered to be extremely high risk, such as people who have been convicted of driving under the influence.
If you have multiple DUI convictions, there is every possibility that your driver’s license has been suspended.
If this is the case, and you don’t have other drivers on your vehicle, you may want to turn in your license plates until you can drive again. There is no point in paying excessively high insurance premiums for a vehicle that you cannot even drive.
Even when you have your license back and time has elapsed between your DUI and your current driving record, you can expect to pay more for your car insurance. DUI convictions stay on your driving record longer than most other driving incidents.
According to the Insurance Information Institute, 32 percent of all crash fatalities occur because of people who drive drunk. If you have multiple DUI convictions, even if you are now sober, you are going to be considered a high-risk driver for a very long time!
If an insurance company won’t sell car insurance coverage to me, is there another alternative?
There are some situations that will simply make you a driver that is too high of a risk for a typical insurer to insure. In many states, you have the option of buying a state auto insurance plan.
If you can’t afford car insurance, some states provide affordable options for you as well. For example, the California Department of Insurance offers the California Low-Cost Automobile Insurance Program.
Driving without insurance in California carries a fine of $100 to $200 for a first offense and between $200 and $500 for a second offense.
If you purchase state-supported car insurance because of a bad driving record, this will have an impact on how much you’ll pay. Don’t expect to get a lower rate if you have multiple claims, DUIs, and so on, listed on your driving record.
Enter your ZIP code below to compare car insurance quotes right now!
What happens if my car insurance lapses?
What happens if my car insurance lapses?
- Whenever a policy expires or is canceled, a lapse in coverage occurs.
- Avoid a lapse in insurance by renewing or buying a new policy before your current one expires.
- Severe penalties are incurred when one is caught driving under a lapse in car insurance.
- Use comparison websites and free quote tools like the one on this site to find the best coverage deals!
There are not too many places where you can get caught without car insurance and not pay a price for the lapse. Most states require all drivers to show proof of insurance if stopped by the police.
A couple of states will allow a new driver to pay uninsured motorists fees while without coverage; although, you will still be responsible for damages in the event of an accident. If you own any assets at all, then this can put you in financial distress.
What does it mean to have my car insurance lapse?
A lapse in car insurance occurs when the policy expires or is canceled by the insurer. Even if the policy is reinstated, or another policy becomes effective 24 hours later, this uninsured period is seen as a lapse.
If an accident or theft happens during those 24 hours, any claims filed are going to be rejected.
Insurance coverage is supposed to be continuous; therefore, a renewal should take place on or before the expiration date.
Since the DMV is notified of new policies, changes, and expirations through a car insurance database, the driver is usually notified by the insurer and DMV of an upcoming cancellation.
If there is no response or notification to DMV of a new policy, the driver’s license could be suspended.
How do I avoid a car insurance lapse when I switch insurers?
Some people change insurance companies when a car insurance policy lapses to save money. You may think the new insurer is unaware of the lapse in the previous policy, but they can cross-reference the policy and cancel your existing policy based on false information.
This small indiscretion could cost you an increase in price. It could also affect your credit score.
All you need to do to avoid this is to make sure you have coverage before you cancel the old policy.
What are the penalties and fees for a car insurance lapse?
The policyholder is responsible for late fees associated with late premiums. Eventually, after a couple of notices, the insurer is going to cancel the policy if premiums are not received.
When you go to another company, they are going to charge a higher rate because of the lapse in coverage.
If your license is suspended because of a lapse in coverage, a reinstatement fee is due, any attorney’s fees attached, and an SR22 form will be required in most states.
How long are you penalized for a lapse in car insurance?
The penalty varies by company and by state, but usually, you’re penalized for under 30 days. The penalty is extended if you remain uninsured for a longer period.
Does driving without coverage go on your record? Yes. And how long does an insurance lapse stay on your record? The DMV will then monitor your record for any lapses in coverage for the next three years.
How can I avoid a car insurance lapse?
Most car insurance carriers will work with a policyholder regarding payments as long as the lines of communication remain open. They can add a few extra days to the coverage cycle, although, most companies operate by automation.
In such cases, the computer database automatically cancels the policy if it does not detect a payment after the grace period.
Maintaining a policy can be expensive. There are certain categories of people that have a hard time avoiding the high cost of a policy; especially those classified as high-risk drivers by the insurer.
There are several options to saving on insurance including:
- Promotional Discount Codes
- Driving School
- Clubs and Associations
- Automatic Seatbelts and Airbags
- Security System
- GPS System
- Energy Efficiency and Fewer Emissions
Most discounts are good for a 10% savings. Other factors that affect premiums depend on credit rating, driving record, and your location.
How can I find affordable coverage so I can avoid a car insurance lapse?
Once your insurance record is damaged it is hard to improve your standing so your premiums will be affordable again. Once your license has been suspended, it is hard to find an insurer that will insure you for a reasonable rate.
Comparison sites are available to those who decide to research their options.
Most states offer an affordable car insurance program. Uninsured motorist fees may be renewed if the renewal transpires before the first-period lapse.
In some states, you are allowed to pay an uninsured motorist fee after the purchase of a car and renew it and is not to be confused with uninsured motorist protection from those who are driving without coverage.
How do I get car insurance after a gap in coverage?
A lapse in coverage will make car insurance companies see you as high-risk. Most will sell you coverage if your driving record is good, but your costs may increase by up to $137.75/month on average.
- Rates usually increase after a lapse in coverage.
- Consider taking steps to prevent a lapse in coverage.
- Compare rates to find an insurance company that will punish you less for a lapse in coverage.
After a gap in coverage, you will find that it is more difficult to get car insurance than before. Rest assured, you will be able to find it, though there will be less choice than there would be for someone without a gap in coverage, and the premiums will be higher.
If you are in the market for car insurance following a gap in coverage, be sure to shop around thoroughly in order to find the best options possible. Be upfront and honest about the gap in coverage. Expect to encounter higher costs.
To find cheap car insurance, just enter your ZIP code in the FREE comparison tool so you can compare rates from many different car insurance companies in your local area!
Why are premiums higher following a gap in coverage?
If you happen to have a gap in your car insurance , most insurance companies will raise the costs they charge you for a period of time following that gap.
Depending on how long you have been without coverage, you may even get deemed high-risk which means even higher premiums than a simple rate increase would entail.
Insurance companies see any lapse in your coverage as a sign of a lack of responsibility. To them, this means, the chances are higher that they will need to pay out a claim. Therefore, they increase your premiums.
Many insurance companies have a built-in discount for continuous coverage. If you break that continuity, you lose the discount and have to deal with higher premiums.
Insurance companies attempt to keep the ratio of lapsed coverage down, so they create penalties for a lapse in coverage. In addition, the DMV in many states requires continuous insurance on your vehicle, as a condition of the registration.
If you do not have continuous coverage, it may lead to a fine being imposed on you, or even a revocation of your car registration.
How do I avoid gaps in coverage?
By avoiding gaps in your insurance, you can avoid the pain of looking for car insurance following a gap in coverage.
Realistically, many people forget to pay a bill on occasion. There are also instances where personal circumstances such as medical emergencies, sudden life changes, or even going through a divorce can result in drivers not paying their insurance bills, and experiencing gaps in coverage.
However, forgetting to pay your insurance bill can cost you dearly. Therefore, you need to take the steps ahead of time to make sure this does not happen to you.
- Automatic withdrawal – By putting your car insurance payments on automatic withdrawal from your bank account, you can be sure that your payments are always made and always on time. Overdraft, bank fees will not exceed the penalties imposed by insurance companies for a policy that is not paid and consequently canceled.
- Lump sum payment – Often if you opt for automatic payments or a lump sum payment for your car insurance, you will be eligible for an additional discount.
- Talk to your insurer – Another way to deal with a gap in your insurance is to deal directly with the insurer that cut off your latest policy. If you explain the situation to them and have had a good track record to date otherwise, you may get the situation rectified.
By asking for forgiveness, you may be able to avoid the damage to your insurance premums.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Finding Affordable Car Insurance Coverage
Following a gap in car insurance, it is a given that fewer companies will want to offer you insurance. In fact, it is one of the first questions asked by every insurer when you look for a price quote.
Expect the gap question and always answer it honestly. If you attempt to deceive your insurer, they will find out and your policy will likely be canceled. You may even be charged with fraud.
To find affordable car insurance, it pays to shop around. Get as many car insurance quotes as possible and carefully compare what is offered. Be familiar with the types of discounts available and ask for them where appropriate.
You should be able to save money for using your vehicle less than a set number of miles annually, for having certain safety devices, for specific payment methods and for having completed driver training courses, in addition to a variety of other reasons.
When you shop around for a car insurance quote, the absolute best way to do so is with an online quote tool. You simply input your ZIP code to start and the quote tool will prompt you for the rest of your information.
It then submits your information to companies serving your state and the resulting quotes are delivered straight to you. It takes a fraction of the time it would take to contact a variety of companies for quotes.
What do I do if my car insurance has lapsed?
Prices for car insurance after a lapse in coverage increase because you are labeled high-risk. You should carry coverage even if you aren’t driving your car to avoid a lapse in coverage.
- If you allow your car insurance to lapse, you will have a difficult time finding coverage
- Since you will most likely be considered a risk, your insurance rate will be high
- Check with your insurer to see how you can maintain insurance on a car you are not using
- Insurance companies notify your state of any cancellations in your policy
You can get car insurance after a prolonged lapsed period. However, you are going to spend a lot of money on your new insurance, and you may have a hard time finding an insurer that will insure you.
Although every state varies in its required coverage, you will still encounter problems if you let your insurance lapse.
Does the state mandate maintaining car insurance?
First, most states require you to maintain car insurance regardless of whether you drive the car.
As long as you have registered a car with a tag, you will have to keep car insurance current. Although many states allow you to maintain storage coverage for cars that are not driven, you still have to maintain some kind of car insurance on the car.
The requirement for coverage varies depending on the state.
You can review your state’s requirement by looking at your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles website or a site like Edgar Snyder & Associates, which lists car and motorcycle insurance laws.
What can the state do if I cancel my car insurance?
Depending on the state in which you reside, the ramifications of not having car insurance will vary.
For instance, some states will fine you a lump sum for not having insurance whereas other states will fine you on a per-day basis for all the days you skip having coverage.
You also run the risk of having your license suspended if you do not maintain car insurance. In addition to a suspended license, you will have to pay fees to have your license reinstated. You may also have to appear in court to prove you finally have insurance and pay court costs. Last, you run the risk of going to jail.
How will the state find out if I canceled my car insurance?
The state will find out if you cancel your car insurance from your car insurer. Insurance companies are required by law to notify the state of any insurance cancellations.
Also, if your car is financed, the insurer will notify the bank or finance company that finances the car loan.
The bank or finance company will add a premium to your monthly loan payment to ensure that they are covered should something happen to the car.
What happens when auto insurance lapses?
You will pay higher premiums if you allow your insurance to lapse. If you do not have insurance for a period, the insurer will consider you a risk.
The insurer does not know why you allowed your insurance to lapse. For instance, maybe you could not pay your insurance premiums, or maybe you were fixing a car due to an accident that occurred and was not reported.
Regardless of why you did not pay your insurance policy, the insurance companies will consider you a high risk.
Not only will you pay higher premiums, but you may have a hard time getting insurance. You may be forced to get insurance through a high-risk insurance agency, which is going to be more expensive.
What is the minimum car insurance for a car that’s not being driven?
Although each state differs in the minimum required by law on car insurance, you would be wise to at least keep comprehensive insurance on your car. This coverage would protect the car in case it got stolen or damaged by fire, water, or vandalism.
Ask your company what the minimums are that you can keep on your car while not driving it or until you can afford to increase the coverage.
It is better to have anything rather than nothing in your car as far as insurance goes.
What happens if my car insurance isn’t current?
Well, it all depends on where you live. For instance, if you drive without insurance in Dallas, Texas, cars can be impounded if there is no current car insurance on the car. Getting a car out of the impound lot can be time-consuming and costly.
How do I get car insurance after my policy lapsed?
The ease of maintaining car insurance after a policy lapse depends on how large the gap is. Contact your provider as soon as possible to reinstate your car insurance after a policy lapse.
- The ease of getting a policy after your car insurance has lapsed depends on how long the gap is
- While your insurance has lapsed, do not drive
- Because of a lapse in coverage, you may be categorized as high-risk, and you can expect to pay more in premiums
Your options for getting car insurance after your policy has lapsed depend on how long you have been without coverage.
Your car insurance provider may agree to reinstate you if the lapse has only been for a few days.
If a longer time is involved, you can approach your former insurer for coverage. You may have to find a new company willing to offer you this required protection, though.
How do you get car insurance after a lapse in coverage of a few days?
If you didn’t renew your policy as scheduled and you realize that the policy has lapsed for a few days, contact your car insurance provider immediately. They may be willing to reinstate your coverage, so long as you pay the amount due.
When you contact the insurance company, ask about payment options. To get your coverage back quickly, you will want to make sure that you get your premium to the insurance company right away.
Paying by credit card or through online banking may be the best choice to get back on track sooner.
During the period starting when your policy expired and when it officially is reinstated, you don’t have any coverage.
It is not wise to drive during this time.
- The insurer will refuse to pay any damages as a result of an accident if you are unfortunate enough to be involved in one.
- You will face criminal charges if you are caught.
The inconvenience of looking for another method of transportation while you are uninsured is definitely worth the hassle.
Getting Coverage from a Former Insurer
You may be able to get coverage from your former insurer following a lapse in coverage. The insurer is under no obligation to extend coverage to you, but if you have been a customer for some time it may choose to do so.
Most companies understand that a lapse in coverage can happen due to an oversight or some other circumstance. They are willing to work with existing customers who want to get back on track by providing coverage.
Ask about the procedure for getting coverage after the lapse and find out if the company will renew the former policy or if you will need to reapply for coverage.
You also need to know that your insurance provider is required to notify the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) about the lapse in coverage.
The DMV will send you a form asking you to respond to the report about the lapse, and you will need to provide proof of insurance within a certain time limit. Failure to do so will result in being ordered to surrender your plates.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Shopping for New Coverage
A lapse in coverage doesn’t necessarily make you the most attractive customer to an insurer, but you can still get the protection you need. You will need to shop around to find a new insurance provider.
Be sure to compare coverage options and premiums from different insurance providers.
Pricing for similar or even identical levels of coverage can vary greatly between companies.
Each one uses a different system for rating applicants, and it may be possible to find an insurer who won’t put you in a higher risk category because of the lapse in coverage.
If you find out that the lapse in coverage makes you too high a risk for standard insurance companies to insure then look to insurers who specialize in covering higher-risk drivers. The premiums will be higher.
A number of insurance companies will let you buy your coverage online and print off proof of insurance right away. The card you get from the website should be stored in your vehicle so that you have it handy in case you are stopped by the police or are involved in an accident.
When you get your policy and the insurance card that comes in the mail, you can switch the temporary card for the new one.
Try to avoid any future lapses in your car insurance. Things come up and sometimes the car insurance is overlooked or a tight budget makes it difficult to pay the premiums on time.
If you find that your car insurance has lapsed, contact your insurer immediately to discuss your options. You may be able to get the coverage reinstated.
If your insurer is unwilling to extend coverage to you after the policy has lapsed, you will need to find new coverage quickly.
What should I do if my car insurance lapsed and I had an accident?
If the loss occurred after your coverage lapsed, the car insurer won’t pay out. High-risk drivers pay $137.75/mo more on average, so compare multiple quotes for the best prices.
If your car insurance has lapsed and your car is totaled, then you have a couple of issues you need to deal with before deciding if switching auto insurance companies is the right move.
What you choose to do will depend on when the lapse in coverage occurred in relation to the accident and on the insurer’s policy about customers who let their policy lapse. The decision about whether to switch companies can be made after you have contacted the insurance provider to discuss the matter.
Driving without insurance is illegal in most parts of the United States. For example, is it illegal to drive without insurance in Florida? The answer is yes.
Facing this type of charge means that a driver may be fined and/or lose his or her license for a time. Even a first-time offense means that you may lose driving privileges for up to a year, depending on the jurisdiction. You will have to deal with the criminal charges, along with whatever your insurance provider’s practice is when a policy lapses.
No matter what you decide to do after reading this frequently asked question, you should compare all of your options by entering your ZIP code in the free insurance comparison tool above and comparing car insurance quotes online.
Lapse in Auto Insurance Coverage
With some insurance companies, being even a day late in paying the policy premium may result in policy cancellation. Others will allow a customer to bring their premium payments up to date by making up the one they missed and making their next one as usual.
To find out what your insurance provider’s practice is when a customer misses a payment, contact the Customer Service department right away.
A representative will explain how the insurer handles this situation. If the missed payment was due to an oversight or a temporary financial difficulty, pay the company by online banking or by phone as soon as possible.
You will still need to contact the company to discuss the matter, but making an effort to pay right away will only help if you want to get your policy reinstated.
Total Loss and Car Insurance
If the accident occurred before the lapse in coverage, then your insurer should pay out on the policy. In the case of a total loss, the company will only pay up to the cash value on the vehicle. The policy deductible is subtracted from the amount of the check.
In a situation where the loss occurred after the lapse in coverage, the insurance provider will not pay. Even if the company will reinstate your policy, any loss that occurs from the date the policy lapsed to the date coverage was resumed is not covered.
If you choose to replace the vehicle, you will be doing so without any insurance proceeds.
Deciding Whether to Switch Car Insurance Companies
If the insurer cancels the policy because the coverage has lapsed, you will need to find another company willing to extend coverage to your next vehicle. You will be required to disclose to the new company the fact that you lost your insurance coverage.
Some insurers will not extend coverage to a customer whose policy has lapsed, while others will agree to provide protection but charge more in premiums. The higher rate is due to the increased level of risk that you now present.
If you find a company willing to extend coverage, you may not have the option of paying for your coverage on a monthly basis. Instead, the company may insist on being paid annually or semi-annually.
Once you have established a good payment record with the insurer, the rules about making payments may be relaxed so that you can go back to paying your car insurance premiums monthly.
If your insurer refuses to reinstate your policy, look at several options before making a final decision.
Each insurance provider has unique criteria that underwriters use to determine the level of risk that an applicant presents.
Some insurers have a blanket policy where they don’t cover drivers whose insurance coverage has lapsed under any circumstances. Certain companies are more forgiving than others; the way to find these insurers is to take some time to shop around.
When asking for a quote for coverage, be honest about when and why the lapse in coverage occurred. If your previous history included paying your premiums on time, let the new company know that.
A one-time incident is easier for the insurer to understand than a long-standing pattern of missed payments.
Compare Quotes from Multiple Car Insurance Companies
The Internet makes it easy to shop around for the right coverage if you are ever caught in a situation where your car insurance has lapsed and your car is totaled.
You don’t need to wait until the worst happens before considering whether to switch companies, though.
What is the fee for lapsing in car insurance?
- A lapse in car insurance occurs when you cancel your policy or stop paying your premiums
- The longer the lapse, the more likely it is that you will have to pay a fee for it
- A person who bounces from insurer to insurance provider will pay more for their policy than someone who has a history with the same company
- The kind of proof you need to avoid paying lapse fees depends on where you live
Whether or not there is a fee when you have a lapse in your car insurance will depend on a number of factors, such as where you live, why you have a lapse, how long the lapse is, etc.
The longer the lapse, the more likely it is that you will have to pay a fee for it.
When does a lapse in car insurance occur?
A lapse in car insurance occurs when you cancel your car insurance policy or stop paying your premiums while your vehicle is still registered.
Because it is against the law in every state but New Hampshire to drive without car insurance, all other states have some sort of system in place to ensure that they know when a driver allows their insurance to lapse.
In some states, there are situations where a lapse is allowed while your vehicle is still registered.
For example, if your vehicle will be in the shop for an extended period of time, you may be able to stop paying your insurance without having to turn in your tags or pay a fine.
Another example of when you may be allowed a lapse is if you are placing your car in storage. In this case, you should keep some sort of insurance on your vehicle to protect against damage that could happen while it is in storage.
There are some places like Florida, for example that offer no leeway for carrying insurance on a registered vehicle. If your vehicle is registered, you must have at least the minimum state-required car insurance, or you will face fines.
If you won’t be driving your vehicle for an extended period of time, you must turn in your tags to avoid paying for car insurance.
If you aren’t sure whether or not your state requires you to carry car insurance on a vehicle that is out of commission, you can easily find out by talking to your insurance agent.
You can also visit your state’s Department of Insurance website to determine the laws in your area.
Is there an average fee for a lapse in car insurance?
Unfortunately, there is not a standard fee when you have a lapse in car insurance. In some states, you have to pay to have your vehicle registered again, which can cost several hundred dollars.
Other states have a plate reinstatement fee that could be as low as $50.
There is also the possibility that, in addition to the fees you have to pay to reinstate your vehicle or your tags, you will also have to pay some fines for allowing your insurance to lapse. Typically, these fines are based on the frequency of the lapse.
For example, if you let your insurance lapse once in three years, your fee might be $100. The second time you let your insurance lapse, the fee might be $200, and so on. Some states have fees that exceed $1,000, but it is unusual for things to escalate to that level.
Typically, if you get to that point, you will find that you will lose your license and may even face some jail time. Again, this all depends on the state in which you live.
How long do I have before the fees accrue for a lapse?
The good news is that, in most states, you have 10 days to provide proof of insurance after a lapse without paying any fees.
The bad news is that there are some individuals who take full advantage of this system, purchasing insurance, and then letting it lapse and waiting a couple of months to purchase insurance again.
This type of fraud is becoming more difficult with more states automating their systems. In the past, it could take a couple of months before you received a notice that your insurance had lapsed.
After that, you would have 10 days to provide proof of insurance or provide proof that you were no longer driving your vehicle.
Today, however, if a state has its system automated, then they can often have a notice in your mailbox within a week of the lapse, which means that you need to take care of the problem faster.
It also saves taxpayers money because fewer people are able to allow their policies to lapse without consequences.
In addition, many of the best auto insurance companies refuse to insure people who don’t maintain a steady policy on their vehicles.
Insurance companies all have access to a central database that lets them know how many claims a particular driver has had, how often they switch insurance companies, how many times their policy has lapsed, etc.
Even if an insurer is willing to insure a policy hopper, that person will pay more for their policy than someone who has a history with the same insurance provider. And even if their driving record is exceptional, they can simply expect to pay more.
Since you don’t want to be paying hundreds of more dollars a year for your car insurance, you can receive a discount for staying with the same company for a year or longer.
What kind of proof do I need to avoid paying fees for a lapse?
If you live in a state where they allow you to suspend your car insurance while your vehicle is being worked on or in storage, then you will need to inform your insurer of the condition of your vehicle.
In some states, you will be required to provide proof of your storage contract that specifically mentions the storage of your vehicle. If your vehicle is in for long-term maintenance, then you will have to bring in a statement from your mechanic.
If you are doing the work yourself, then you may be able to sign an affidavit stating this fact.
There are some states that will require you to turn in your tags but won’t charge you a fee to get your tags back. Others require you to turn in your tags and pay a small fee for getting your tags back. Again, everything is contingent upon where you live.
If you have sold your vehicle, then you need to provide your state registration office with proof of sale by just turning in your license plates.
You should never give your license plates to the buyer of your car; they are responsible for getting their own plates.
What’s more, by keeping the license plates, you can save on registration fees if you buy another vehicle sometimes as much as $300.
If you aren’t planning on replacing your vehicle, you need to turn in those plates so that you don’t face insurance lapse fees.
The bottom line is that you don’t want to let your auto insurance lapse. If you are struggling to make your payments, it may be time for you to consider other insurance options by getting some free quotes.
If you want to avoid whether you can go to jail for not having car insurance, use our FREE car insurance quotes right now by entering your ZIP code!
Frequently Asked Questions
Let’s recap what we’ve learned about driving uninsured in this section. We’ll recap what you learned in a few brief questions that are frequently asked on search engines across the web related to what happens if you are caught.
How do you get car insurance after a lapse in coverage?
Stop driving immediately. Even a one day lapse in car insurance is grounds to stop driving. Find a car insurance policy that you can afford to avoid any legal penalties. The best insurance after a lapse in coverage is the company you were previously with.
What if insurance lapses on a financed car?
The finance company may not know right away, but insurance companies may notify the finance company that you’re not insured.
For example, a General insurance lapse policy states if you own a vehicle and make payments, you’ll need to add their finance company as a lienholder. The finance company will be notified of the custom insurance policy, and they will be notified if your policy lapses or cancels.
What happens if you don’t insure your car?
You won’t be able to drive your car. Here’s what happens if you get caught:
- You may subject to penalties, fines, and jail time.
- Your car can get impounded.
- Your license can get suspended.
It’s in your best interest to get insured as soon as possible if you plan on driving your car.
How do the Michigan police know I don’t have insurance?
Law enforcement has instant technology that shows whether you’re driving without insuring your vehicle in Michigan. Police officers will know whether you’re driving without car insurance before they pull you over.
How long can I go without car insurance before I get fined?
If you plan on driving your car, you should get car insurance within 30 to 60 days. This will give you time to establish residency in a new state and get your car registered with the state’s DMV.
What happens if I get pulled over without my insurance card?
Don’t panic. Most car insurance companies will allow you to access your car insurance policy through your smartphone. If you can’t log in to a mobile app, call your car insurer and speak with an agent.
How can I drive without getting caught without insurance?
It’s not wise to drive without insurance. For example, driving while uninsured in Atlanta, Ga. is a misdemeanor and purposely avoiding in a state where vehicle laws are strict is financially and legally damaging.
How can I get out of a no proof of insurance ticket?
The best way to waive a no-proof-of-insurance ticket is to show up to court with proof of insurance. The judge may decrease the amount of the fine or dismiss your offense altogether.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Florida
What kind of penalty will you face in Florida? What happens if you get pulled over without insurance? How long can you go without insurance before your license is suspended in Florida?
Florida is its own beast when it comes to driving and car insurance.
You may have to face:
- $150-$500 fine for driving uninsured
- License plate, car registration, and driver’s license can be suspended for the first offense
Florida is much harsher than a lot of other states, and you don’t have a lot of leeway. It’s illegal to drive uninsured, and you’ll pay for it if you’re caught.
What’s the bottom line?
Is it illegal to drive without insurance in America? Unless you live in New Hampshire, driving without insurance is against the law. Even if you live in New Hampshire, the state still requires minimum limits if you chose to buy a policy. Driving without insurance can cause many consequences from exorbitant fees to even jail. It’s not worth the potential money saved by not paying your premium.
Get started in making sure you’re properly insured with the best insurance for lapsed coverage by using your ZIP code to get a free quote today.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.