FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
|Vehicle Miles in 2016||10,178 Million|
|Population in 2017||961,939|
|Most Popular Vehicle||Chevrolet Silverado 1500|
|Total Traffic Fatalities in 2017||119|
|Speeding Fatalities in 2017||33|
|DUI Fatalities in 2017||32|
|Full Coverage Average Annual Premium||$1,240.57|
|Liability Average Annual Premium||$799.30|
|Collision Average Annual Premium||$319|
|Comprehensive Average Annual Premium||$122.49|
Delaware, due to being the first of the original 13 colonies to ratify the Constitution on December 7, 1787, is distinguished as “The First State” of our nation. Like former NBA great Shaquille O’Neal, however, one moniker just isn’t enough for Delaware.
Even though it’s the second smallest state in the union, it boasts many monikers such as “The Diamond State,” “Blue Hen State,” and “Small Wonder,” giving Delaware an impressive nickname-per-square mileage ratio.
Equally impressive is the longevity of Delaware’s longest-tenured senator Joe Biden. His 36 years in office puts the former Vice President of the United States in the top 20 all-time of longest-serving senators in the history of our country.
During his time in the Senate and as vice president, Biden has been an advocate of investing in America’s infrastructure.
Not only is concern about the conditions and viability of the roads on which we travel significant, but attention must also be given to the manner in which we travel. Having a proper understanding of the vehicles we drive and the best ways to insure them is important while traversing these ever-changing, ever-expanding roadways.
The following will be discussed in this article:
- Minimum Coverage Requirements
- Loss Ratio
- Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
- Male vs Female Car Insurance Rates
- Delaware Insurance Rates by Zip Code
- Delaware Insurance Rates by City
- Financial Ratings
- Customer Satisfaction Ratings
- Car Insurance Company Complaints
- Largest Car Insurance Companies in Delaware
- Insurance Rates by Provider
- Delaware’s Car Insurance Laws
- Windshield Coverage
- Auto Insurance Fraud in Delaware
- Statute of Limitations
- Vehicle Licensing Laws
- Rules of the Road
- Safety Laws in Delaware
- Vehicle Theft in Delaware
- Risky/Harmful Driving Behavior
Delaware Insurance Coverage and Rates
Finding the time to research all there is to know about car insurance companies in Delaware and their rates and practices can seem like an impossible task.
The good news is we’ve paved the way for you to get the information you want and need to make an informed decision about your car insurance. We will help you discover the key indicators that insurance companies consider risks and how you can mitigate those risks.
We’ll help you to know what the state requires, what you may want or need, and where you can get it at the best price.
– Delaware Minimum Coverage
Delaware is one of only a few states that is considered “no fault,” meaning regardless of who is found to be at fault for an accident, all drivers must seek compensation for damages from their own insurance companies.
The Diamond State mandates that all drivers carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP). The minimum amount of PIP coverage required by law is $15,000 per person, $30,000 per occurrence. In addition, $5,000 funeral services coverage is required.
The required minimum limits for basic coverage in Delaware is to 25/50/10 for all motorists. This means that car owners must carry the following minimum levels of liability insurance:
$25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the owner of the insured vehicle, $50,000 for total bodily injury or death in an accident caused by the owner of the insured vehicle, and $10,000 for property damage per accident caused by the owner of the insured vehicle.
Delaware does not require you to carry Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage, but it is a viable option and can protect you and your passengers if the at-fault driver has no insurance, or if you’re the victim of a hit-and-run.
How much risk are you assuming by only carrying the minimum amount of liability insurance? It depends on your monthly budget and on how exposed you want to be to potential litigation.
If you have assets or future assets that you wish to protect, you want to consider increasing your liability coverage.
The experts at the Wall Street Journal recommend liability limits of 100/300/50 and offer the following advice for choosing your coverage limits:
Make sure you’re covered for an amount equal to the total value of your assets (Add up the dollar values of your house, your car, savings, and investments).
Please be aware that basic coverage only provides you with liability protection; It will not pay to repair or replace your car for an accident that you cause.
If you’re looking to repair or replace your car after an accident, then collision and comprehensive coverage are worth the investment. These policies come with a deductible and they pay out based on the current value of your car, not necessarily the price you might have paid for it.
Self-insurance is available in Delaware to individuals and businesses with 15 or more cars registered in the state.
Next, we will take a look at how much motorists in Delaware pay on average for auto insurance. The amount you actually will pay may be slightly lower or higher than these figures, but this data will provide you with some context from which you can project your own situation with reasonable accuracy.
The late, great American cartoonist Bob Thaves once said, “I don’t know if I can live on my income or not—the government won’t let me try it.”
That funny quote from the illustrates the concept of one’s Disposable Personal Income (DPI), which is the money you’re allowed to keep after the government takes its cut in the form of taxes.
|Annual Full Coverage|
|Monthly Full Coverage|
|Annual Per Capita|
Disposable Personal Income
|Monthly Per Capita|
Disposable Personal Income
|Percentage of Income|
You are mandated by law to carry at least the basic coverage. A full coverage policy includes liability, comprehensive, and collision insurance. Here’s a peek at the average cost of each:
Now that we have sorted through some data about auto insurance costs to the individual consumer, let’s take a look at some important statistics about the insurance companies themselves.
First, let us examine the concept of loss ratio.
– Loss Ratio
What exactly is a loss ratio? And what is its effect on your premiums?
The insurance loss ratio is the loss to the insurance company for claims that were paid out, divided by the premiums collected. A high loss ratio means that an insurance company has too many customers filing claims, which will subsequently lead to a rise in future premiums for all consumers.
State Farm, the largest auto insurer in Delaware, has a loss ratio of 60.02 percent, which is a healthy rate. Typically, a loss ratio between 40 to 60 percent is considered standard. Too much higher would mean that a company is paying out too many claims and would have a hard time remaining solvent. However, if a company’s loss ratio is well under 40 percent, that means the company is pocketing much more money in premiums than paying out in claims or discounts to its customers.
– Add-ons, Endorsements, Riders
A little over 11 percent of drivers in Delaware (11.4 percent to be exact) don’t have insurance, which ranks as the 28th highest percentage in the country.
As a counter to the those who choose to forego any coverage altogether, you may consider opting for additional coverage options to protect. You can consult this Instant Auto Insurance Guide provided by the Delaware Department of Insurance for a quick and helpful summary of all the enhancements available to you.
One such option in the Blue Hen State is Medical Payments Coverage. This coverage pays for reasonable and necessary medical expenses, without regard to legal liability, resulting from accidental bodily injury while operating or occupying an insured vehicle or being struck as a pedestrian by a motor vehicle.
Med Pay insurance applies regardless of whether the insured or another driver was at fault. It even applies when the insured or the insured’s family are pedestrians on the street and are struck by another motorist.
Despite the increasing popularity of pay-by-the-mile auto insurance plans offered by companies like Metromile, they are currently not being offered in Delaware.
Other Usage-Based Insurance programs (UBI) are active and available to drivers in Delaware. Programs like Drivewise from Allstate or Snapshot from Progressive or CoverageMyWay from Esurance offer discounts to drivers based on how well and how often they drive.
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save! Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
In addition to these add-ons, there are several more optional enhancements that you can explore to decide which ones may be right for you:
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Car Insurance
- Modified Car Insurance Coverage
- Classic Car Insurance
– Male Vs. Female Rates in Delaware
Through her alter ego, Sasha Fierce, Beyoncé introduced the world to the melodious thought exercise, “If I Were a Boy,” highlighting the double standards and differences in expectations that exist for women compared to their male counterparts in our society.
Queen Bey raises an interesting debate. If she were a boy, would her car insurance rates be any different? Would they be better or worse?
Let’s take a look to find out.
|Company||Single 17-year old female||Single 17-year old male||Single 25-year old female||Single 25-year old male||Married 35-year old female||Married 35-year old male||Married 60-year old female||Married 60-year old male|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||$27,326.93||$41,390.16||$12,287.48||$17,022.83||$12,287.48||$12,287.48||$12,138.88||$12,138.88|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$8,048.04||$10,393.68||$3,162.14||$3,294.46||$2,818.09||$2,818.09||$2,600.14||$2,600.14|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||$9,243.54||$14,106.72||$1,745.40||$1,906.92||$1,634.80||$1,642.27||$1,610.37||$1,568.84|
Here’s a look at the Most Expensive Demographic rates in the Diamond State. Can you see where you fit in? Are you having a better idea of what car insurance in Delaware might cost you and your family?
|Company||Demographic||Average Annual Rate||Rank|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Single 17-year old male||$41,390.16||1|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Single 17-year old female||$27,326.93||2|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Single 25-year old male||$17,022.83||3|
|Allstate P&C||Single 17-year old male||$15,406.57||4|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Single 17-year old male||$14,106.72||5|
|Allstate P&C||Single 17-year old female||$13,198.18||6|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Married 35-year old female||$12,287.48||7|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Married 35-year old male||$12,287.48||7|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Single 25-year old female||$12,287.48||7|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Married 60-year old female||$12,138.88||10|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Married 60-year old male||$12,138.88||10|
|Progressive Direct||Single 17-year old male||$11,159.65||12|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 17-year old male||$10,393.68||13|
|Progressive Direct||Single 17-year old female||$10,102.13||14|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Single 17-year old female||$9,243.54||15|
|Nationwide Mutual||Single 17-year old male||$9,060.24||16|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 17-year old female||$8,048.04||17|
|Nationwide Mutual||Single 17-year old female||$7,151.92||18|
|GEICO Advantage||Single 17-year old male||$6,710.85||19|
|GEICO Advantage||Single 17-year old female||$6,449.50||20|
|USAA||Single 17-year old male||$5,556.07||21|
|USAA||Single 17-year old female||$4,729.53||22|
|Allstate P&C||Single 25-year old male||$4,113.55||23|
|Allstate P&C||Single 25-year old female||$3,876.03||24|
|Allstate P&C||Married 35-year old female||$3,680.77||25|
|Allstate P&C||Married 35-year old male||$3,617.49||26|
|Nationwide Mutual||Single 25-year old male||$3,575.26||27|
|Allstate P&C||Married 60-year old male||$3,405.48||28|
|Nationwide Mutual||Single 25-year old female||$3,345.06||29|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 25-year old male||$3,294.46||30|
|Allstate P&C||Married 60-year old female||$3,230.45||31|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 25-year old female||$3,162.14||32|
|Nationwide Mutual||Married 35-year old female||$3,017.56||33|
|Nationwide Mutual||Married 35-year old male||$2,994.99||34|
|GEICO Advantage||Married 60-year old male||$2,983.93||35|
|GEICO Advantage||Married 35-year old male||$2,952.77||36|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Married 35-year old female||$2,818.09||37|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Married 35-year old male||$2,818.09||37|
|GEICO Advantage||Single 25-year old female||$2,798.53||39|
|Nationwide Mutual||Married 60-year old female||$2,753.71||40|
|Nationwide Mutual||Married 60-year old male||$2,742.95||41|
|GEICO Advantage||Single 25-year old male||$2,699.68||42|
|GEICO Advantage||Married 35-year old female||$2,660.39||43|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Married 60-year old female||$2,600.14||44|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Married 60-year old male||$2,600.14||44|
|GEICO Advantage||Married 60-year old female||$2,562.65||46|
|Progressive Direct||Single 25-year old female||$2,437.17||47|
|Progressive Direct||Single 25-year old male||$2,371.56||48|
|Progressive Direct||Married 35-year old female||$1,994.89||49|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Single 25-year old male||$1,906.92||50|
|Progressive Direct||Married 35-year old male||$1,844.62||51|
|Progressive Direct||Married 60-year old male||$1,790.24||52|
|USAA||Single 25-year old male||$1,773.54||53|
|Progressive Direct||Married 60-year old female||$1,754.37||54|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Single 25-year old female||$1,745.40||55|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Married 35-year old male||$1,642.27||56|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Married 35-year old female||$1,634.80||57|
|USAA||Single 25-year old female||$1,615.19||58|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Married 60-year old female||$1,610.37||59|
As you can see, whether you’re a boy or girl, young or old, in Delaware, it’s going to cost you a pretty penny (actually, a lot of pretty pennies) to be insured with Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company.
– Delaware Insurance Rates by Zip Code
Is car insurance more expensive in Northern Delaware or in Lower Slower Delaware?
Let’s find out by taking a look at the most expensive Zip Codes in the First State. Here are the 25 zip codes with the highest average annual premiums in Delaware:
|Zip Code||Grand Total||Rank||Compared to Average|
So that you can compare and contrast, here are the 25 zip codes with the lowest average annual premiums in Delaware:
|Zip Code||Grand Total||Rank||Compared to Average|
-Delaware Insurance Rates by City
|City (Highest)||Average Grand Total||City (Lowest)||Average Grand Total|
|SAINT GEORGES||$7,549.45||OCEAN VIEW||$4,954.08|
Where does your city rank statewide?
Delaware Car Insurance Companies
Sifting through all the information to find the auto insurance company that is a right fit for you can be overwhelming.
Who’s going to give you the best rates? Who has the best customer service? Do you qualify for any discounts or upgrades?
In a state that boasts more chickens and corporations than actual human beings, it’s hard to even know whom to ask for advice.
No need to worry: we are here to help you find the relevant information you need to make a wise decision.
When deciding on a car insurance company, you should seriously examine its public reputation.
Doing your due diligence will ensure that you don’t end up in an acrimonious relationship with an auto insurer that leaves you feeling so dead, held up so high on such a breakable thread (breakable thread).
A company’s public reputation can often be a strong indicator of the kind of rates it offers to its consumers. We’ll show how the largest companies rate in the areas of financial stability and customer satisfaction.
– Financial Ratings
AM Best is a credit rating agency. It evaluates insurance companies and grades them based on their financial stability. The table below shows the ten largest insurance companies in Delaware as measured by direct premiums written with their AM Best rating.
|Company||Direct Premiums Written||AM Best Rating|
|State Farm Group||$208,113||A++|
|Nationwide Corp Group||$117,716||A+|
|Liberty Mutual Group||$65,887||A-|
|Allstate Insurance Group||$50,794||A+|
|Hartford Fire & Casualty Group||$22,107||A+|
|CSAA Insurance Group||$13,997||A|
– Customer Satisfaction Ratings
– Companies in Delaware with the Most and Least Complaints
For any relationship to be successful and long-lasting, trust has to be a major factor. Both parties must work together to achieve satisfaction.
Unfortunately, satisfaction can’t always be achieved in every relationship. When a consumer is dissatisfied, he or she can file a complaint. Those complaints, justified or not, are factored into a company’s complaint ratios.
The complaint ratio is how many complaints a company receive per one million dollars of business.
If you wish to file a complaint against an insurance company in the state of Delaware, use this online form.
– Largest Car Insurance Companies in Delaware
This chart gives a visual representation of the car insurance companies with the largest market share in Delaware.
– Complaint Ratios for Delaware’s 10 Largest Auto Insurers
Ever wonder how many licensed auto insurance companies are in Delaware? The answer is 867. 101 are domestic to Delaware, while the remaining 766 are foreign to the Diamond State.
– Delaware Car Insurance Rates by Company
Now, we’re going to examine which carriers, on average, give the best rates statewide.
– Delaware Rates by Carrier and Commute
6,000 Annual Mileage
12,000 annual mileage
– Delaware Rates by Carrier and Coverage Level
– Delaware Rates by Carrier and Credit History
Curious about how your credit history impacts the quotes you receive from car insurance companies? Consumer Reports conducted a study for Delaware analyzing the effect of credit history on premiums.
– Delaware Rates by Carrier and Driving Record
When it comes to owning a not-so-clean driving record, your reputation can precede you. Each auto insurance company has its own underwriting criteria and each views certain violations differently. Here is a quick look at how different auto insurers in Delaware price various driving violations:
|Company||Clean Record||With 1 Speeding Violation||With 1 Accident||With 1 DUI|
– Delaware Rates by Carrier and Demographic
|Company||Demographic||Average Annual Rate|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Married 60-year old female||$1,610.37|
|USAA||Single 25-year old female||$1,615.19|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Married 35-year old female||$1,634.80|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Married 35-year old male||$1,642.27|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Single 25-year old female||$1,745.40|
|Progressive Direct||Married 60-year old female||$1,754.37|
|USAA||Single 25-year old male||$1,773.54|
|Progressive Direct||Married 60-year old male||$1,790.24|
|Progressive Direct||Married 35-year old male||$1,844.62|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Single 25-year old male||$1,906.92|
|Progressive Direct||Married 35-year old female||$1,994.89|
|Progressive Direct||Single 25-year old male||$2,371.56|
|Progressive Direct||Single 25-year old female||$2,437.17|
|GEICO Advantage||Married 60-year old female||$2,562.65|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Married 60-year old female||$2,600.14|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Married 60-year old male||$2,600.14|
|GEICO Advantage||Married 35-year old female||$2,660.39|
|GEICO Advantage||Single 25-year old male||$2,699.68|
|Nationwide Mutual||Married 60-year old male||$2,742.95|
|Nationwide Mutual||Married 60-year old female||$2,753.71|
|GEICO Advantage||Single 25-year old female||$2,798.53|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Married 35-year old female||$2,818.09|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Married 35-year old male||$2,818.09|
|GEICO Advantage||Married 35-year old male||$2,952.77|
|GEICO Advantage||Married 60-year old male||$2,983.93|
|Nationwide Mutual||Married 35-year old male||$2,994.99|
|Nationwide Mutual||Married 35-year old female||$3,017.56|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 25-year old female||$3,162.14|
|Allstate P&C||Married 60-year old female||$3,230.45|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 25-year old male||$3,294.46|
|Nationwide Mutual||Single 25-year old female||$3,345.06|
|Allstate P&C||Married 60-year old male||$3,405.48|
|Nationwide Mutual||Single 25-year old male||$3,575.26|
|Allstate P&C||Married 35-year old male||$3,617.49|
|Allstate P&C||Married 35-year old female||$3,680.77|
|Allstate P&C||Single 25-year old female||$3,876.03|
|Allstate P&C||Single 25-year old male||$4,113.55|
|USAA||Single 17-year old female||$4,729.53|
|USAA||Single 17-year old male||$5,556.07|
|GEICO Advantage||Single 17-year old female||$6,449.50|
|GEICO Advantage||Single 17-year old male||$6,710.85|
|Nationwide Mutual||Single 17-year old female||$7,151.92|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 17-year old female||$8,048.04|
|Nationwide Mutual||Single 17-year old male||$9,060.24|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Single 17-year old female||$9,243.54|
|Progressive Direct||Single 17-year old female||$10,102.13|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 17-year old male||$10,393.68|
|Progressive Direct||Single 17-year old male||$11,159.65|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Married 60-year old female||$12,138.88|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Married 60-year old male||$12,138.88|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Married 35-year old female||$12,287.48|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Married 35-year old male||$12,287.48|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Single 25-year old female||$12,287.48|
|Allstate P&C||Single 17-year old female||$13,198.18|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Single 17-year old male||$14,106.72|
|Allstate P&C||Single 17-year old male||$15,406.57|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Single 25-year old male||$17,022.83|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Single 17-year old female||$27,326.93|
|Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co||Single 17-year old male||$41,390.16|
Note: All carriers and situations are not created equal. Examine the vast difference between the rates offered to a 60-year-old married female and a 17-year-old single female by Travelers:
A married 60-year-old female will pay $1,610.37 on average with Travelers; while a 17-year-old single female will pay $9,243.54 with the same company.
When it comes to shopping for the best car insurance rates, remember these two words: Do You.
Choose the company offering the best rates for your personal situation, not anybody else’s.
The best way to ensure that you’re getting the best possible coverage at the best possible rates for your specific circumstance is to compare rates from multiple carriers.
FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Another sure-fire way to make sure your rates stay as low as possible is to be a good driver. And being a good driver entails knowing the rules of the road and adhering to them. We’ll go over the laws of the land to keep you informed and your driving record spotless.
Trying to memorize every traffic law in Delaware would be both mind-numbing and impractical. We’ll help you to sift through the nonessentials and highlight those regulations which are most relevant Delaware drivers.
– Car Insurance Laws
State laws have considerable influence on auto insurance. Each state determines the type of tort law and threshold (if any) that applies in the state, the type and amount of liability insurance required, and the system used for approval of insurer rates and forms.
Insurance companies in Delaware are subject to the regulations set by that state insurance commissioner. Ultimately, all rates and regulations must meet the fair competition standards set by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).
– Car Insurance Rate-Setting Regulations
“Open competition” is the capitalistic process in which rates are formed; however, if the insurance commissioner decides that rates are excessive or could be harmful to the company’s solvency, he or she will step in and adjust those figures.
– High-Risk Insurance
The SR-22 form must be filed by drivers who have committed violations or have multiple infractions, as well as uninsured drivers and others. If your license has been revoked or suspended, you may need to file an SR-22 to have it reinstated.
The SR-22 form is available from your insurance company but it is not an insurance policy.
If you do require the SR-22 insurance proof in DE, that means your license is or will be suspended or revoked and you cannot legally drive in Delaware. Filing the correct documentation and meeting other requirements per the DMV can help you toward eventually reinstating your driving privileges.
Please be sure to have the correct address on your driver’s license to ensure that you receive the notice.
Here is a list of some major violations that will earn points on your license or even a suspension in Delaware:
To see a list of other violations that can result in points or suspension, click here.
Your license may be canceled for an incorrect or fraudulent license application or it may be canceled if a check written to pay driver license fees is returned for insufficient funds.
– Windshield Coverage
Delaware has no specific laws requiring insurance companies to offer special glass coverage or no-deductible windshield replacement. Your insurance company may require you to use a specific repair shop in order to receive coverage. As a consumer, you have the right to choose repair vendor but you may be required to pay the difference in the quote.
For a detailed summary of windshield and glass coverage in Delaware, refer to this article.
– Automobile Insurance Fraud in Delaware
Insurance fraud is the second largest economic crime in America. Insurance fraud impacts premium rates and the prices consumers pay for goods and services. The department’s insurance fraud prevention division plays an important role in investigating suspected fraud.
And if those fraud numbers continue to escalate it is more likely that the insurance will pass on some of that cost to you as the consumer in the form of increased premiums.
If companies didn’t have to waste your premium dollars on false claims, you could see a reduction in the rates you pay.
There are two classifications of fraud: hard and soft.
- Hard Fraud – A purposefully fabricated claim or accident
- Soft Fraud – A misrepresentation of information to the insurance company
Soft fraud is more common than hard fraud. Twenty to 40 percent of consumers admitted to lying to their insurer about one of the following:
- Number of annual miles driven
- Number of drivers in the household
- How the vehicle would be used
Insurance fraud is a crime no matter how you slice it. Even the “little, white lie” you tell to get a lower rate can lead to harmful consequences. That kind of willful misrepresentation of facts is called known as “rate evasion” and is $16 billion annual expense to auto insurers.
But consumers aren’t the only ones perpetrating auto insurance fraud in Delaware. American Standard is under investigation by Delaware Attorney General Matt Denn’s office for allegedly running an auto warranty scam.
If you suspect insurance fraud or have been the victim of fraud, you can contact the Delaware Department of Insurance to report such activity.
– Statute of Limitations
Delaware’s statute of limitations for filing a claim is two years for both personal injury and property damage.
– Vehicle Licensing Laws
Don’t make the mistake of driving in the state of Delaware without proper registration and insurance. It would be unwise and potentially costly to do so.
– Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Delaware’s DMV has an online portal where residents can perform tasks such renew their registrations and drivers’ licenses, update or change their address, and retrieve their driving history. Vehicle registration and insurance information can be easily accessed through the state database.
The penalty for driving without insurance in Delaware is as follows: A minimum $1,500 fine and license suspension for six months for a first offense. A second offense within three years will earn a minimum $3,000 fine and license suspension for six months.
– Proof of Financial Responsibility
For information on what the requirements are for financial responsibility in Delaware, click here.
– Teen Driver Laws
Delaware employs a Graduated Driver License program for young drivers, designed to reduce the high accident and fatality rate among teen motorists. The program seeks to give young drivers supervised driving experience to assist them to eventually earn their Level 1 Permit and Class D License.
To be eligible for Delaware ‘s Level 1 Permit teen drivers must be a minimum of 16 years old and under 18 years old. The learner permit candidates must present proof that they have completed a certified Delaware driver’s education course. When applying for a learner permit, the teen drivers must have a sponsor sign the permit application. The sponsor is held responsible along with the teen drivers for any negligent damage that the permit holders may cause until they reach the age of 18.
While driving the supervisor or sponsor must sit beside the teen driver while the vehicle is in motion, no other passengers are allowed to sit beside the permit holder. This mandatory supervision is in effect for the first six months that the teen driver holds the permit.
Level 1 permit holders must have certified documentation of 50 hours of driving, 10 of which must be nighttime driving. Like all drivers in Delaware, a texting ban and handheld device ban in place for teen drivers. In fact, Level 1 permit holders are prohibited from using cell phones altogether when driving, even if it’s mounted or connected to Bluetooth.
When the teen driver with a Level 1 Permit has been driving for a full year and is in good standing (without suspension, revocation etc.), the permit will automatically convert to a Class D License.
|Restrictions||Level 1 Learner's Permit||Class D License|
|Age||15 years, 10 months||16 - must have held an Level 1 Permit for a minimum of six months prior|
|Passengers||No more than one passenger in addition to parent, supervisor, or sponsor||First six months or until age 18 - no passengers under 18|
|Hours||Under age 18 - no driving between 10:00 p.m. and 6 a.m.||Under age 18 - no driving between 10:00 p.m. and 6 a.m. (exceptions: presence of a parent/guardian, driving to and from school activities or work, family emergency, being an emancipated teen)|
|Cell phone use||Complete ban|
Texting prohibted for all drivers
Texting prohibted for all drivers
|Pre-requisites||If under 18, parent or guardian or sponsor must assume financial responsibility in written documentation||50 total hours supervised driving, 10 must be at night|
– Older Driver License Renewal
Delaware can never be accused of ageism against its senior population when it comes to their driving laws.
Elderly drivers in Delaware must get their licenses renewed every eight years just like every other driver in the general population. Just like the rest of the general population, senior drivers must show proof of adequate vision at every renewal. And just like the rest of the general population, elderly motorists are prohibited from renewing online or by mail; all drivers in Delaware must renew in person.
– New Resident Licensing
If this is your first time being a resident in the First State, you may have some questions regarding how and when to apply for a new license in Delaware. The DMV and Department of Transportation in Delaware have provided you a lifeline in the form of this useful resource: Guidelines for New Residents.
Bring all required documentation to a driver’s licensing location to obtain your new Delaware driver’s Iicense.
– License Renewal
Driver licenses must be renewed every eight years. Renewals must be done in person. You should not wait until your license expires.
– Rules of the Road
Delaware is a “no fault” state, meaning all drivers must seek compensation for damages from their own insurance companies.
– Keep Right and Move Over Laws
Delaware law requires that you keep right if driving slower than the average speed of traffic around you.
Delaware adopted a new “Move Over” law on January 1, 2007, requiring drivers to move over and for emergency vehicles while simultaneously lowering speed as they pass. The law bars drivers from driving in the lane next to shoulders where emergency and nonemergency workers are present.
– Speed Limits
|Type of Roadway||Speed Limit|
|Rural Interstates||65 mph|
|Urban Interstates||55 mph|
|Other Limited Access Roads||65 mph|
|Other Roads||55 mph|
– Seat belt Laws
Delaware requires drivers and all front-seat passengers 16 and older to wear a seat belt. A violation is not a primary offense. Passengers in the back seat ages 8-15, or weighing 66 pounds or more, are permitted to use an adult safety belt.
Not wearing a seat belt by itself cannot be a cause for your getting pulled over but should you be stopped for some other traffic violation, you can be ticketed for failure to wear a seat belt. The minimum fine is $25.
– Car Seat Laws
All children 7 years old or younger, or weighing less than 66 pounds, are required to be seated in a child safety seat. They are not permitted to use an adult seat belt under any circumstances.
To date, no auto insurers in Delaware offer insurance specifically for ridesharing services.
– Safety Laws
The goal of all safety laws should be to ensure the well-being of all motorists and pedestrians on the road. The Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT) has compiled a list of helpful safety resources regarding traffic and safety laws.
One of those such resources is the Delaware Strategic Highway Safety Plan.
– DUI Laws
The Blood-Alcohol Content (BAC) limit in Delaware is 0.08 percent; the High BAC limit is between 0.15 and 0.2 percent.
|DUI in Delaware||1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense||4th Offense|
|Jail||Max. Six months||Two to 18 months||One to Two years||Two to Five years|
|Fines and Penalties||$500 to $1,500||$750 to $2,500||$1,500 to $5,000||$3,000 to $7,000|
|License Suspension||12 to 24 months||24 to 30 months||24 to 36 months||60 months|
|IID** Required||No||Possible - after 24 months||Possible - after 24 months||Possible - after 48 months|
– Drug-Impaired Driving Laws
Currently, Delaware has a Zero Tolerance Policy on THC and metabolites.
Delaware Can’t-Miss Facts
Here are some can’t-miss facts about the Diamond State:
– Vehicle Theft in Delaware
Car theft is no laughing matter. Which cars in Delaware are most popular to car thieves? Check out the chart below to find out.
– Vehicle Theft by City
The table below gives a breakdown of the top cities for auto theft within the state.
|City||Number of Thefts|
– Risky and Harmful Behavior
For your information, we’ve compiled a list of all driving-related fatalities in Delaware.
-Traffic Fatalities by County
|New Castle County||48||59||63||53||59|
– Fatality Rates Rural Vs. Urban
– Fatalities by Person Type
|Passenger Vehicle Occupant||50||73||69||73||69|
|Bicyclist and Other Cyclist||1||3||3||2||5|
– EMS Response Time
|Location||Time of Crash to EMS Notification||Notification to Arrival||Arrival at Scene to Hospital Arrival||Time of Crash to Time of Hospital Arrival|
The Diamond State, along with southeast Pennsylvania and southern New Jersey, form the congested tri-state corridor of the Delaware Valley.
So, how bad is the commute look for the motorists of Delaware? How does rush-hour traffic compare to the rest of the nation? What methods do they use to get to work? The answers to those questions are coming up next.
– Car Ownership
– Commute Time
At 25 minutes, Delaware motorists almost mirror the national average of 25.3 minutes of commute time. Only 2.48 percent of Delawareans experience a “super commute” of 90 minutes or more.
– Commuter Transportation
Now you have all the essential facts about Delaware driving laws and insurance requirements. Make sure to put all that knowledge to good use to get yourself the best insurance quotes possible.
Enter your zip code below to compare car insurance quotes and to ensure you’re getting first-rate rates from the top auto insurance companies in the First State.