FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
|Oklahoma Statistics Summary||Details|
|Road Miles ||Total in State: 112,637|
Vehicle Miles Driven: 47.7 billion
|Driving Deaths||Speeding: 143|
Drunk Driving: 683
|Vehicles||Registered: 3.4 million|
Total Stolen: 10,583
|Most Popular Vehicle||Ford F-150|
|Average Premiums (Annual)||Liability: $461.01|
Combined Premium: $1,005,32
|Percentage of Motorists Uninsured||10.50%|
State Rank: 31th
|Cheapest Provider||State Farm Mutual Auto|
Just the mention of Oklahoma conjures visions of bright blue skies, golden and rocky landscape, and miles upon miles of open road. That opportunity to satisfy your wanderlust isn’t the only variety that the great state of Oklahoma has to offer.
For every mile of interstate, there’s a car insurance company offering the state’s 3,943,079 residents coverage and rate options meant to keep those roadways busy.
Sometimes, though, variety can be overwhelming. As you sift through Oklahoma’s available car insurance providers and their policies, you’ll likely find yourself wondering:
- Which provider is going to protect my car most effectively?
- Who is offering the cheapest coverage?
- How carefully should I drive in order to stay within the letter of my policy and Oklahoma’s driving laws?
The good news is that you don’t have to answer those questions on your own.
It’s important to find the best rates and coverage for your car, and we’re more than happy to help guide you along your car insurance adventure. You can start comparison shopping today with our FREE online tool! Just enter your zip code in order to get started.
Oklahoma Car Insurance Coverage and Rates
Traveling through Oklahoma is a treat. The “Sooner State” is home to some of the most beautiful natural attractions in the United States, and its cities are bustling with energy. Oklahoma City, after all, was ranked among the top 100 places to live by US news as of 2018.
When you opt to settle in the expanse of the Sooner State, though, you’ll have to have a handle on the average vehicle operating costs and the way the state’s coverage may impact your lifestyle.
The most difficult part of auto insurance research is finding a place to start. Let’s find our feet by breaking down your car insurance options.
Oklahoma, at a minimum, requires its drivers to have liability insurance on hand. That coverage consists of bodily injury and property damage coverage, as seen below.
– Oklahoma Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
|Body Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per one person|
$50,000 per accident
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$25,000 minimum|
Liability insurance is the insurance you’ll need in order to be compensated for property damage or injuries that come as a result of a car accident for which you or anyone you’re insuring are responsible.
If you happen to be the driver at fault, you’ll fall under Oklahoma’s “at fault” legislation, as the state makes the driver at fault liable for any injuries caused by or property damaged in an auto accident.
Minimum liability coverage in Oklahoma, as noted above, needs to consist of:
- $25,000 to cover the injury or death of a single person
- $50,000 to cover the injury or death of more than one person
- $25,000 to cover damage to personal property
It’s worth noting again that this is the absolute minimum coverage required of drivers by the state of Oklahoma. If, after an accident, it’s possible that your minimum liability coverage won’t provide you with enough funds to take responsibility for any injuries or property damage.
In order to prevent placing yourself in an awkward situation, you’ll want to consider adding additional coverage to your plan.
– Oklahoma’s Required Forms of Financial Responsibility
When driving or owning a car in Oklahoma, you’ll have to keep proof of coverage with your vehicle at all times in order to comply with the state’s legislation requiring proof of vehicular financial responsibility. There are three different forms available to you that serve as acceptable proof.
- Valid Liability Insurance ID Card(s)
- Copies of your current car’s insurance policy
- Valid Insurance Binder (this is a temporary form of car insurance and should not be substituted for a form of financial responsibility in the long-term)
If you live and drive in Oklahoma, you must have at least one of the above-listed approved forms of proof of financial security on your person or in your glove box while operating your vehicle.
Without one of these forms, you are likely to face legal consequences. If you’re caught driving uninsured or without proof of insurance, you risk the following:
- Fine up to $250
- 30 days in jail
- Suspension of your driver’s license
- Suspension of your vehicle’s registration
Most, if not all, insurance providers make it easy for you to print out verification of your policy. Don’t procrastinate or dawdle! Driving without proof of insurance isn’t worth the hassle.
– Premiums as a Percentage of Income
In 2018, Oklahoma residents reported that the annual per capita disposable income for their state stood at $39,740, according to a study issued by the NAIC.
What is disposable personal income, or DPI? DPI serves as the amount of money available to a single person that can be spent post-tax payments.
What does this mean for the folks in Oklahoma? Well, after tax season passes, the majority of Oklahoma residents will have $3,311 available to them on a monthly basis that can be spent on general necessities, including good, rent, and utilities.
That’s not too much of a budget to operate on, which means that an Oklahoman has to think carefully about what kind of car insurance she wants to invest in.
The careful Oklahoman can spend up to 2 percent of their DPI on monthly car insurance payments, or $82 per month. That means that, over the course of a year, residents of Oklahoma will spend an average of $986 on comprehensive car insurance.
If you’re trying to figure out how to divvy up your paycheck with that kind of payment in mind, don’t free. American Consumer Credit Counseling recommends that you save 20 percent of every paycheck you get in order to ensure that you have a little bit of wiggle room in your budget each month. If we take the average Oklahoman DPI in mind, that percentage comes in at $662 a month.
Even so, you’ll want to do everything you can to make sure that you’re getting the best car insurance coverage for the most forgiving price. That’s why we’re here to help you make sure you’re considering all of your options from every angle.
– Oklahoma’s Core Car Insurance Coverage
The annual costs in the table above reflect the amount of money you might expect to spend to maintain liability, collision, comprehensive, or combined car insurance over the course of a year. These costs, as provided by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, read from 2015 and are expected to rise as of 2018.
What do you do in the face of rising insurance costs? Remember: at an absolute minimum, Oklahoma drivers and vehicle owners are required to apply for and operate with liability coverage.
However, because Oklahoma is an “at-fault” state and will pin you, if you’re the driver at-fault, with the check for any injuries or property damage done unto another driver, you’ll want to put a little more money down on your vehicular future.
– Oklahoma’s Additional Liability Coverage
|Medical Payments (MedPay)||63%||66%||66%|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UUM)||65%||63%||63%|
MedPay and Uninsured or Underinsured Motorists coverage are some of the most popular coverage options to add to a standard car insurance policy. Why? Let’s break them down.
MedPay, to start, will cover any medical payments you may have to make after an accident, meaning that the coverage will make it easier for you to afford any hospital bills that another driver may receive.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverage will have your back in case you’re in a car accident with someone who doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your expenses. This is an especially important add-on to consider, as 10.5 percent of drivers in Oklahoma were uninsured as of 2015.
Oklahoma as a whole ranks 31st in the United States for the number of uninsured motorists it has operating on the road.
Do yourself and another driver a favor, then, and look into UUM – it could keep the both of you from going bankrupt after an accident.
– Oklahoma Loss Ratios
Another thing worth noting: overall, car insurance providers in Oklahoma have lower loss ratios than most. In 2015, loss ratios across the nation ranged from 94-112 percent. Comparatively, Oklahoma’s loss ratios have decreased in the past several years.
How does that apply to you? Well, car insurance providers who have higher loss ratios are statistically noted to pay out on more claims than those with low ratios.
That higher loss ratio serves as a double-edged sword – you’ll receive a payment if you’re in an accident, yes, but your car insurance provider is also losing money, overall, and risking bankruptcy.
Comparatively, car insurance providers will loss ratios on the lower end are not paying out on claims. Again, we’re stuck between a rock and a hard place. You might not receive as much or any of a payment when you get in an accident, but at least the company will still be able to cover you in the long run.
Our best advice to you is to avoid signing with car insurance providers who have loss ratios on the high or low side of things. In this case alone, finding a company’s that’s average is your best course of action.
– Oklahoma Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
Those aren’t the only insurance add-ons that you can consider as an Oklahoman. There are additional affordable and efficient extras that you can include in your coverage without a problem.
If you’re looking to expand your car insurance coverage as an Oklahoma citizen, you have the option of including:
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Car Insurance
- Modified Car Insurance Coverage
- Classic Car Insurance
- Pay-As-You-Drive or Usage-Based Insurance
– Male vs Female Annual Car Insurance Rates in Oklahoma
One driving myth claims that male drivers – and particularly younger male drivers – are likely to pay more for their insurance coverage due to a perceived recklessness on the road. This isn’t necessarily the case, but some insurance companies keep it in mind.
As you can see, the coverage rates in Oklahoma reflect that sentiment, showing that males often pay more for their auto coverage than females. It might surprise you to learn, though, that the reverse is true in many other states.
Oklahoma is one of only a few states wherein males are charged more for their car insurance than females, suggesting a dismissal of that pesky, gender-based driving myth.
In fact, Oklahoma is even making moves towards lessening the difference between the cost of car insurance for males and the cost for females.
Even so, be aware of how your gender might impact how you’re charged for your insurance. Your driving record, though, still remains the most important factor in determining overall coverage costs.
– Cost of Oklahoma Car Insurance by Zip Code
Then again, we can’t forget one of the tenants of life: it’s all about location, location, location. How is your zip code impacting your car insurance costs? Take a look.
|Least Expensive Zip Codes||Average||Most Expensive Zip Codes||Average|
|Manitou 73555||$3,646.98||Tulsa 74110||$5,150.50|
|Frederick 73542||$3,650.18||Tulsa 74115||$5,130.85|
|Altus 73521||$3,682.05||Tulsa 74106||$5,113.35|
|Elmer 73539||$3,692.21||Tulsa 74103||$5,031.82|
|Tipton 73570||$3,692.55||Tulsa 74146||$4,996.54|
|Eldorado 73537||$3,694.92||Tulsa 74120||$4,955.86|
|Goodwell 73939||$3,704.39||Tulsa 74128||$4,946.22|
|Kenton 73946||$3,715.81||Tulsa 74119||$4,938.24|
|Headrick 73549||$3,722.42||Tulsa 74129||$4,932.56|
|Altus 73523||$3,724.33||Tulsa 74126||$4,924.71|
|Hooker 73945||$3,725.51||Tulsa 74134||$4,923.31|
|Felt 73937||$3,725.60||Tulsa 74116||$4,912.91|
|Tyrone 73951||$3,725.68||Tulsa 74104||$4,906.22|
|Hardesty 73944||$3,726.17||Tulsa 74112||$4,905.35|
|Indiahoma 73552||$3,727.43||Oklahoma City 73119||$4,901.45|
|Enid 73703||$3,729.94||Tulsa 74172||$4,895.94|
|Forgan 73938||$3,732.65||Oklahoma City 73106||$4,893.94|
|Turpin 73950||$3,734.52||Tulsa 74130||$4,887.69|
|Guymon 73942||$3,735.69||Tulsa 74135||$4,883.58|
|Texhoma 73949||$3,737.64||Oklahoma City 73102||$4,879.88|
|Balko 73931||$3,743.28||Oklahoma City 73108||$4,873.81|
|Blair 73526||$3,745.24||Oklahoma City 73103||$4,872.88|
|Beaver 73932||$3,746.46||Tulsa 74127||$4,870.80|
|Elgin 73538||$3,753.25||Tulsa 74105||$4,869.18|
|Boise City 73933||$3,754.57||Oklahoma City 73109||$4,867.95|
Someone living in Tulsa, then, is going to be paying more for her car insurance coverage than someone in Oklahoma City, even if the two have coverage costs that are fairly close to one another.
That minor difference and all the others in between is what makes researching and comparing available car insurance companies so important, especially when you’re just moving into a new area.
You don’t have to take the numbers down to your zip code, though – you can sometimes distinguish a difference in coverage cost just by looking at different cities.
So: you’ve got the costs of coverage listed out by city and zip code. Who’s got the best coverage in the whole state, and who has the worst?
Best Oklahoma Car Insurance Companies
When you move to Oklahoma, you’re going to have dozens and dozens of provider options. Choosing one to stick with isn’t easy, especially when you’re not in the mood to spend hours comparing rates and policies yourself.
That’s where we come in, and your life gets a little easier. We’ve taken a look at all of the car insurance providers in the state of Oklahoma, broken down their financial ratings, and pitted them against each other so that you can see which provider will serve you best. We’ve also included AM best ratings and customer complaints, just for kicks.
So, what are you waiting for? Take a look and see if your perfect provider is on one of our lists.
– Ratings of Oklahoma’s Top Ten Largest Car Insurance Providers
|State Farm Group||A||$677,192||25.41%||57.03%|
|Farmer's Insurance Group||NR||$303,207||11.38%||51.38%|
|Allstate Insurance Group||A+||$186,448||7.00%||48.05%|
|Liberty Mutual Group||A||$174,654||6.55%||57.68%|
|Oklahoma Farm Bureau Group||B+||$105,712||3.97%||55.16%|
|CSAA Insurance Group||A||$103,378||3.88%||50.54%|
|Shelter Insurance Group||A||$92,167||3.46%||61.81%|
Customer service might not be as statistically-driven as a provider’s loss ratio or financial standing, but it’s an essential factor to consider when you’re trying to find your best car insurance fit. It’s customer service, after all, that builds the reputation of a company.
– Car Insurance Companies with Best Ratings in Oklahoma
The above graph builds on the aforementioned importance of customer service. It’s easy to see how much of a priority the car insurance providers in Oklahoma place on their ability to interact positively with those drivers they represent.
– Car Insurance Companies with Most Complaints in Oklahoma
|State Farm Group||0.44||1,482|
|Farmers Insurance Group||0||0|
|Allstate Insurance Group||0.5||163|
|Liberty Mutual Group||.007||6|
|Oklahoma Farm Bureau Group||0.21||2|
|CSAA Insurance Group||3.97||6|
|Shelter Insurance Group||0.61||47|
Comparatively, take a look at the insurance providers who’ve garnered the most complaints in the state of Oklahoma.
While these complaints aren’t necessarily reflective of a company’s ability to provide for those who it insures, it does reflect a provider’s ability to communicate with individuals and resolve issues with coverage.
– Oklahoma Car Insurance Rates by Company as Compared to the National Average
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,816.80||-47.06%|
|Farmers Insurance Co||$4,142.40||0.0%|
|SAFECO Insurance Co of America||$6,874.62||39.74%|
But how do these companies stack up when their rates are compared?
As you can see, for drivers in Oklahoma, State Farm Mutual and USAA have annual rates that are significantly lower than the national average, meaning that they’ll be more affordable in the long run.
Comparatively, Progressive Northern and SAFECO Insurance of America have rates that expand on or are higher than, the national average rate of coverage.
– Coverage Cost as Determined by Different Annual Commutes
|Company||Commute and Annual Mileage||Average Annual Rate|
|Liberty Mutual||10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage.||$6,874.62|
|Liberty Mutual||25 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage.||$6,874.62|
|Progressive||10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage.||$4,832.35|
|Progressive||25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage.||$4,832.35|
|Farmers||10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage.||$4,142.40|
|Farmers||25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage.||$4,142.40|
|Allstate||10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage.||$3,718.62|
|Allstate||25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage.||$3,718.62|
|Geico||10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage.||$3,371.88|
|Geico||25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage.||$3,502.79|
|USAA||10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage.||$3,135.87|
|USAA||25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage.||$3,212.43|
|State Farm||10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage.||$2,768.69|
|State Farm||25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage.||$2,864.91|
Some of the time, your commute can add a few extra dollars to your car insurance coverage, but that really depends on where you’re living. As you can see, the car insurance providers in Oklahoma don’t put too much stake in the difference between a 10-mile commute and a 25-mile commute.
USAA, Geico, and State Farm, however, stand out by adding roughly one hundred dollars to your bill when you insurance a longer commute. If your morning drive goes on for a little longer than you’d like, then, you may want to consider how it’ll impact your annual car insurance costs.
– Oklahoma’s Coverage Level Rates
How will these rates change when based on the amount of coverage you have? The usual correlation sees costs go down as you seek out less coverage. Keep in mind, though, that even though registering for only the state minimum coverage may be cost-effective, it could serve you poorly in the long run.
Take a look at the listed carriers’ coverage costs throughout the state of Oklahoma and see what kind of coverage and rates suit your budget best.
– Credit History Rates in Oklahoma
No matter what level of coverage you seek out upon moving or seeking registration in Oklahoma, a provider is going to want to take a look at your credit score before making you an offer. Naturally, the higher your credit score is, the more likely it is that you’ll receive a great rate through your provider of choice.
For example, companies like Liberty Mutual will reward a great credit score. The average annual rate for a driver with an average or good credit score comes in at around $4,724.
Comparatively, a driver with a less impressive credit score may have to pay for coverage at a rate of $9,874. That $5,150 difference is nothing to sniff at, which means that as you seek out coverage, you should be keeping an eye on your credit and any potential rate bumps you might run into.
Oklahoma Can’t-Miss Fact: the average credit score for drivers in the state of Oklahoma is 656, leaving Oklahoma among the top 10 states in America with the lowest credit scores.
– Driving Record Rates
Naturally, your driving record will also impact your annual car insurance rate. Violations ranging from DUIs, minor accidents, and speeding violations can all raise your premium by a notable degree. Take Liberty Mutual as an example. Drivers with a clean record will only pay $4,623.23 a year for their coverage.
Comparatively, drivers who’ve been caught speeding will pay $6,369.71 a year. For speeding alone, your coverage costs could jump nearly $2,000! Stay careful on the road, then, and keep some of your hard earned cash in your wallet.
– Number of Insurers in Oklahoma
|Domestic||Foreign||Total Number of Licensed Insurers|
Oklahoma’s State Laws
So: we’ve talked about coverage, average annual rates, and the potential ways you can increase or decrease your overall insurance payments. One of the best ways to avoid a spike in the payments your provider requires of you is to comply with your state’s driving laws.
Now, state laws can be challenging to get a grip on, especially if you’re a new resident. Each state has its own policies on speed limits, seat belt usage, and driving under the influence of either alcohol or marijuana.
You can’t defend yourself from an insurance bump or a legal fine, though, by pleading ignorance. When you familiarize yourself with Oklahoma’s state laws, you’re doing preventative work that’ll save your wallet in the long run.
We’ve done some of that work for you here. Take a look at our compact guide to Oklahoma’s state laws, and do what you can to stay out of trouble.
– Oklahoma’s Car Insurance Laws
We’ve mentioned that Oklahoma requires minimum insurance coverage of any drivers who live in the state as residents or who have vehicles registered with the state’s DMV. As an Oklahoma resident or driver, you’re also required to have proof of financial responsibility for your vehicle on you while driving.
What happens, though, if you move to Oklahoma with a driving record that isn’t so stellar? It doesn’t matter if you happen to own a car. Car insurance providers do not have to provide you with coverage if they think that your driving record will cost them an exceptional amount of money in the long run.
In other words, no car insurance company is required to cover a “high-risk” driver.
Luckily, the Oklahoma DMV recommends that drivers who can’t find coverage through a car insurance provider can turn to Oklahoma’s Automobile Insurance Plan. With that kind of option available to them, drivers in Oklahoma have no excuse for not having coverage.
– Oklahoma’s High-Risk Insurance
Accidents, though, are called accidents for a reason. Some of us are going to end up with marks on our driving records, no matter how careful we are. In Oklahoma, drivers with accidents on their driving records are considered “high-risk drivers.” These drivers need to fill out an SR-22 form in order to apply for high-risk insurance.
You’ll need to fill out an SR-22 form if:
- Your license has been suspended or revoked due to a DUI/DWI
- You have no insurance and are in a vehicular accident
- You have been involved in an accident that’s caused severe injury to another driver
- You are caught driving while uninsured
- There are a significant number of points on your driving record
– Low-cost Insurance
Unfortunately, Oklahoma does not provide its low-income families with a government-sponsored car insurance program, meaning that if you can’t afford car insurance, you cannot rely on the state government to support you.
Some states offer their low-income families this level of support, but that’s no need to fret! By carefully examining your needs and comparing the providers available to you, you can find a car insurance plan that fits your lifestyle.
FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
– Windshield Coverage
Oklahoma does not require you to replace your windshield when it gets cracked or broken. Insurers, too, are not required to replace your windshield for you if it is compromised. A comprehensive plan can see your windshield replaced with aftermarket or used parts, but that will depend on the provider and plan that you’ve sought out.
– Automobile Insurance Fraud in Oklahoma
Car insurance fraud, as outlined by the IIHS, is defined in two different ways. There is both hard fraud and soft fraud.
Deliberate falsehoods regarding insurance claims or accident is considered hard fraud.
Soft fraud, comparatively, occurs when an accident has genuine happened, but the victim has padded their claim.
As of 2018, Oklahoma authorities recovered $345,924 from falsified auto insurance claims, as reported by the Oklahoma Department of Insurance. These findings accompanied 1,286 complaints of fraudulent claims and $152,456 submitted findings for criminal prosecution.
While you might be tempted to get all that you can once you’ve been in an accident, falsifying your accident claims is a) illegal, and b) not worth the consequences.
– Statute of Limitations
Once you’ve been in an accident, you need to move quickly in order to get the compensation from your insurance that you need to repair your car or pay any other necessary fees. Oklahoma, as you will see, allows you two years to file your claim.
|Personal Injury||2 years|
|Property Damage||2 years|
– State Specific Laws
Oklahoma also makes itself unique from other states in its implementation of an Unfair Claims Settlement Practices Act. This piece of legislation makes insurers to clients – that is to say, you – precisely what your policy with the insurer will cover. That way you know exactly what you can use your insurance for and how much money you should have available to you if you seek compensation.
That is to say, the Unfair Claims Settlement Practices Act keeps your insurer from overlooking or deliberately ignoring a part of your coverage that might cost them significant sums of money. This move towards fairness keeps you in the black and ensures that your provider remains as honest as possible.
– Vehicle Licensing Laws in Oklahoma
Now, if you’re pinching pennies, you may think that forgoing insurance is the way to save money. However, in Oklahoma, driving without insurance and getting caught can result in some significant fees.
We’ve touched on viable proof of insurance previously, but for a refresher, they include:
- A valid liability insurance ID card
- A copy of your car’s up-to-date insurance policy
- A valid insurance binder, which serves only as temporary car insurance
|1st Offense||Fine: $250|
Jail time: up to 30 days
License suspension with $275 reinstatement fee
Possible vehicle impounding
Possible seizure of license plates and fines for return
Without proof of insurance, you risk Oklahoma authorities suspending your car’s registration. If your registration is suspended, you’ll get a letter from the Oklahoma government, and you’ll have to provide proof of insurance before your registration can be reinstated.
Proof of insurance is essential not only to drive a car but to register that car in the state of Oklahoma. You’ll be required to present proof of insurance when you go to secure an Oklahoma license plate.
If you are ever pulled over by a police officer, either for speeding, possession, or something else, you’ll be required to provide proof of vehicle insurance along with your driver’s license to the officer in question.
– Teen Driver Laws
Most teens are excited to turn 16 because it means they can start practicing to earn their drivers licenses. However, in Oklahoma, teenagers can get their drivers permits at 15 1/2 years old. They have to sit through a mandatory holding period of six months before applying for a license, of course, but the ability for a young person to practice their driving is hardly a bad thing.
|Nighttime restrictions||10 p.m. to 5 a.m.|
|Passenger restrictions (family members excluded unless noted otherwise)||no more than 1 passenger|
|Nighttime restrictions||-6 months with driver education|
-12 months without driver education or until age 18 (minimum age: 16 1/2)
|Passenger restrictions||-6 months with driver education|
-12 months without driver education or until age 18 (minimum age: 16 1/2)
Teenagers in Oklahoma also have to consider other restrictions on their drivers’ license. These restrictions will be lifted within 12 months of the driver receiving her license or at age 18. If a young driver opts to take driver’s education classes, though, these restrictions will be removed twice as quickly!
|Mandatory holding period||6 months|
|Minimum supervised driving time||50 hours (10 of which must be at night)|
|Minimum age||16 years old|
– Older Driver License Renewal Procedures
As unpleasant as the DMV is, it is a necessary evil for everyone, no matter how long you’ve had your license for. Oklahoma residents who’ve lived in the state for a long while need to make sure to renew their drivers’ licenses every four years, which serves as a constant renewal point for drivers all across the United States.
You are not able to renew your license over the Internet or by mail. The good news, though, is that while you do still have to visit the DMV in person, older drivers in Oklahoma don’t have to pass a vision test in order to renew their licenses.
– New Oklahoma Residents
If you’re new to Oklahoma and intend to stay in the state for a good, long while, you’ll need to secure a license plate and car insurance policy within the state. Share your new address with your provider and make sure that you have the minimum coverage required in Oklahoma.
|Body Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per one person|
$50,000 per accident
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$25,000 minimum|
You’ll also want to check in with your provider to see if you need to take your car to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) or Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC). A representative at either of these agencies will be able to double check your vehicle identification number in order to ensure that you’re the proper owner of the car. After that, you’ll be good to go.
– Rules of the Road
Oklahoma also has state-specific road laws that you’ll need to consider when taking to the interstate. Keep these in mind in order to keep your driving record as clean as possible.
– Fault vs. No-Fault
As we’ve mentioned, Oklahoma is an at-fault state. That means that when you get in an accident in Oklahoma, one of the drivers will be determined to be at-fault. Whoever is determined to be at-fault will be responsible for paying for any damages, medical expenses, or other costs that resulted.
– Keep Right and Move Over Laws
The left lane on the highway is reserved for drivers who go a bit faster than average. If you’re going under the speed limit, either due to a flat tire or personal preference, you cannot drive in the left lane.
According to JUSTIA US, “Every driver who intends to pass another vehicle proceeding in the same direction, which requires moving his vehicle from one lane of traffic to another, shall first see that such movement can be made with safety and shall proceed to pass only after giving a proper signal by hand or mechanical device.”
This means that if you intend to pass, you need to use your turn signal and make sure that it’s safe to pass, first.
– Speed Limits in Oklahoma
Speeding laws vary throughout Oklahoma, but in general, exist as follows:
|Rural Interstates||75 mph|
|Urban Interstates||70 mph|
|Other Limited Access Roads||70 mph|
|Other Roads||70 mph|
– Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws
Oklahoma also takes care to enforce seat belt policies. If you choose to drive or ride without a seat belt, keep in mind the following consequences:
Car seat laws work similarly. The first time you violate Oklahoma’s car seat laws, you not only put your child at risk, but you risk a $50 or more fine.
|Type of Car Seat Required|
|Rear-Facing Child Safety Seat||Younger than 2 years (or until a child outgrows the manufacturer's top height or weight recommendations)|
|Child Restraint System||Younger than four years old|
|Child Restraint or Booster Seat||Four to seven years old (can't be taller than 4'9")|
|Adult Belt Permissible||Over eight years old (or taller than 4'9")|
– Oklahoma Ridesharing
With the popularity of Uber and Lyft on the rise, you may be interested in registering your car to rideshare. Only the following insurers in Oklahoma allow drivers to use their cars for ridesharing:
- State Farm
Even so, these insurers each have different specifications for the ridesharing they’re willing to cover.
– Oklahoma Safety Laws
We’ve touched on drunk driving and its consequences before. Oklahoma has severe laws in place to dissuade drivers from driving while under the influence.
|High BAC Limit||0.15|
|Criminal Status||1st misdemeanor, 2nd+ in 10 years felony|
|Look Back Period||10 years|
Driving While Impaired, you’ll notice, registers as a misdemeanor – but only the first time. If you get caught driving under the influence a second time, you earn yourself a felony.
|DUI - 1st Offense|
|License Revoked||1 to 6 months|
|Jail Time||5 days to 1 year|
|Fine||no minimum but up to $1,000|
|Other||IID (ignition interlock) required for 18 months if BAC is 0.15+|
|DUI - 2nd Offense|
|License Revoked||6 months minimum|
|Jail Time||1-5 years|
|Fine||no minimum but up to $2,500|
|Other||IID (ignition interlock) required for 5 years|
|DUI - 3rd Offense|
|License Revoked||1-3 years|
|Jail Time||1-10 years|
|Fine||no minimum but up to $5,000|
|Other||IID (ignition interlock) required for 5 years|
For the sake of your health, not to mention your wallet, do what you can to avoid driving drunk. The consequences are the same for driving under the influence of marijuana, as Oklahoma has not yet legalized the use of THC for medical or recreational purposes.
– Distracted Driving Laws
Distracted driving, while different from driving while intoxicated, has consequences that can be just as severe.
|Hand-held ban||Learner's permit and intermediate license holders|
|Text ban||All drivers|
No text is worth getting into a car accident, as you risk more than an increase in your insurance payments. There is not a single text that’s worth your life.
Driving in Oklahoma
Whenever you head out on the road, you want to do your best to stay safe. If you’ve just moved to a new home or an entirely new state, though, you might not know about some of the local laws or trends that might impact the roadways.
That’s why you have us. Below are all of the vehicular trends that have a presence in Oklahoma and should influence the way you drive around your new – or old – home.
From fatality rates to the areas most prone to vehicular left, you can count on us.
– Vehicle Theft in Oklahoma
|Car Model and Make||Year of Vehicle||Year of Vehicle|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||1994||1143|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||2004||780|
|Dodge Pickup (Full Size)||2001||419|
|GMC Pickup (Full Size)||1994||304|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Small Size)||1998||127|
It seems like the bigger your car is in Oklahoma, the more likely it is to draw attention – the bad kind as well as the good kind.
If you have a pickup, try to keep an eye on it or install an additional security system, especially if you’re visiting one of the upcoming worst cities for vehicular theft in Oklahoma, as reported by the FBI.
Naturally, Oklahoma City, as one of the state’s biggest cities, is more prone to vehicular theft than some of the smaller towns in the area.
This doesn’t mean that you have to be hyper-paranoid as an Oklahoma City local, but it does encourage you to be cautious.
– Fatality Rates in Oklahoma
On an equally lighthearted note, let’s address the primary causes of driver fatalities in Oklahoma, as listed by the NHTSA.
You’ll note that just two cities make the NHTSA report: Oklahoma City and Tulsa. Some of this has to do with the varying risks that arise in urban areas versus rural areas.
However, you’ll also note that the more rural parts of Oklahoma are less kind to interstate drivers. The congestion of rural roads has nothing on the speeding that open rural roads encourage.
But that’s not all. Different types of people are prone to different kinds of fatalities. Pedestrians will endure different fatalities than a car’s occupants, so let’s dig into that divide.
|Passenger Car Occupants||230||226||222||207||198|
|Light Pickup Truck Occupants||130||174||121||144||123|
|Light Utility Truck Occupants||92||82||78||88||86|
|Large Truck Occupants||29||41||27||27||28|
|Bicyclists and Other Cyclists||13||4||6||5||6|
Do your best to keep an eye on the road while you’re driving in Oklahoma. Passenger cars are the most likely to be involved in a car crash in the state, with pickup trucks just behind. Bicyclists and walking pedestrians, too, are at additional risk, so you’ll want to keep your eyes open.
But what types of crashes and crash fatalities are most likely to occur in Oklahoma?
|Total Fatalities (All Crashes)||678||669||645||687||655|
|- (1) Single Vehicle||351||335||351||376||357|
|- (2) Involving a Large Truck||112||134||106||126||133|
|- (3) Involving Speeding||174||152||171||185||143|
|- (4) Involving a Rollover||232||246||217||223||210|
|- (5) Involving a Roadway Departure||385||402||359||386||370|
|- (6) Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||134||146||116||139||126|
Most recently, then, the majority of car crashes that have occurred in Oklahoma involve a roadway departure, with single vehicle accidents following in a close second.
That’s a lot of variables to consider. We haven’t yet taken into account, though, the counties in Oklahoma that are home to the most traffic fatalities.
|Le Flore County||7||10||14||18||16|
|Top 10 County Total||298||265||303||300||297|
|State Total (Includes All Counties)||678||669||645||687||655|
Some of these statistics may seem overwhelming. When you compare Oklahoma’s fatality numbers to those of other states, though, these rates are comparatively low.
The nearby New Mexico, for example, is rated second among the top-10 worst states for drivers.
Even so, speeding is still a pretty pervasive problem throughout the state.
|County Name||2015||2016||2017||County Name||2015||2016||2017|
|Atoka County||0||1||4||Garfield County||3||0||1|
|Dewey County||0||1||1||Wagoner County||4||4||1|
|Le Flore County||6||5||8||Alfalfa County||0||0||0|
|Texas County||1||1||3||Beaver County||1||1||0|
|Cherokee County||1||3||7||Beckham County||3||2||0|
|Woodward County||3||4||3||Carter County||3||1||0|
|Caddo County||2||4||4||Cimarron County||0||1||0|
|Adair County||2||1||3||Coal County||0||1||0|
|Choctaw County||0||2||2||Cotton County||0||0||0|
|Mccurtain County||2||2||4||Ellis County||1||1||0|
|Delaware County||2||3||5||Garvin County||3||1||0|
|Blaine County||0||0||1||Grady County||4||2||0|
|Love County||0||1||1||Grant County||1||1||0|
|Mayes County||1||5||4||Greer County||0||4||0|
|Johnston County||2||0||1||Harmon County||0||0||0|
|Hughes County||0||1||1||Harper County||0||3||0|
|Craig County||0||0||1||Haskell County||0||1||0|
|Custer County||1||3||2||Jackson County||0||0||0|
|Pittsburg County||7||3||3||Jefferson County||0||4||0|
|Pawnee County||1||1||1||Kingfisher County||1||1||0|
|Creek County||0||3||4||Kiowa County||1||0||0|
|Pontotoc County||1||1||2||Latimer County||1||1||0|
|Mcclain County||2||3||2||Lincoln County||1||0||0|
|Sequoyah County||4||0||2||Major County||1||0||0|
|Rogers County||2||6||4||Marshall County||2||1||0|
|Bryan County||2||7||2||Mcintosh County||2||4||0|
|Canadian County||1||2||6||Murray County||0||1||0|
|Seminole County||3||3||1||Noble County||1||1||0|
|Washington County||0||2||2||Nowata County||1||1||0|
|Ottawa County||3||0||1||Okfuskee County||0||1||0|
|Tulsa County||22||24||20||Okmulgee County||3||4||0|
|Muskogee County||3||1||2||Pottawatomie County||5||3||0|
|Oklahoma County||36||30||21||Pushmataha County||0||0||0|
|Payne County||1||4||2||Roger Mills County||0||0||0|
|Kay County||3||1||1||Stephens County||0||0||0|
|Cleveland County||8||3||6||Tillman County||0||0||0|
|Logan County||1||0||1||Washita County||1||1||0|
|Osage County||3||4||1||Woods County||0||1||0|
Tulsa, you’ll note again, comes in at number one for counties that have notable speeding problems and, in turn, fatalities. Urban areas, then, require your increased awareness.
There is another threat, though, that puts Oklahomans at risk: intoxicated drivers.
Despite wide-spread information dissuading people from drinking and driving, drunk driving remains one of the most common causes of driver fatalities throughout the whole of the United States.
Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Diver by County
This kind of drunk driving is often undertaken by teenagers. The combination of driving inexperience and the discombobulation of alcohol results in a startling number of fatalities.
|Number of Under 18 DWI Arrests:||Total per One Million People (DWI Under 18 Arrests):||Rank:|
Oklahoma’s underage fatalities as a result of intoxicated driving rank at 1.3 fatalities, placing the whole of the state slightly above the national average, which is 1.2 fatalities. Luckily, EMS response time is fairly good in Oklahoma. This means that no matter how severe the accident, help will arrive quickly should you be hurt.
|Location of Incident||Time of Crash to EMS Notification||EMS Notification to EMS Arrival||EMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital Arrival||Time of Crash to Hospital Arrival||Total Fatalities in Crashes|
|Rural||9.44 min||16.21 min||49.34 min||66.75 min||383|
|Urban||4.18 min||7.33 min||30.04 min||37.81 min||244|
With a response time between four and nine minutes, calling for help is the best thing you can do if you find yourself in an accident. Urban response time is naturally a bit faster than rural response time, but it’s still reassuring to know that, in case of an unfortunate incident, help is always nearby.
Do you own more than one car? In general, Oklahoma residents own an average of two cars. If you have any more than that, well, we’re jealous.
And while commuting isn’t the worst thing in the world, it’s certainly not what most people would willfully choose to go through at 8 am on an average morning. For the employed living in Oklahoma, though, things aren’t so bad. The average commute to work in Oklahoma is reported to take less than 25 minutes, the national average.
How is that commuting being done? Most people in Oklahoma prefer to get to work by car, but that’s not the only mode of transportation available. Public transportation is an entirely viable option for Oklahoma residents, as is carpooling or heading to work via motorcycle.
– Oklahoma’s Top Cities for Traffic Congestion
That said, there are some cities wherein the troubles of traffic are unavoidable. You’ll want to plan your morning drive pretty carefully if you live in either Tulsa or Oklahoma City. While the state doesn’t make the specific percentage of time spent in congestion during the day’s peak hours available, you can tell pretty readily that driving through Tulsa or Oklahoma may be slow going right before work begins and just as the day ends.
|City||Hours Spent in Traffic|
Even so, there’s no need to fret! Of all of the cities in Oklahoma, only these two make the list. The rest of the state is able to maneuver its roadways with ease, barring construction, and thereby spend a little less time getting stressed out by the other drivers in the area.
So: if by now you’re not an expert on Oklahoma’s car insurance, driver laws, and the ways you can compare insurance providers and save, never fear. Compare car insurance rates now by entering your zip code below in our FREE online tool!