FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
|Georgia Statistics Summary||Details|
|Road Miles||Total in State: 127,492|
Annual Miles Driven: 111,535 million
|Vehicles||Registered in State: 7,955,532|
Total Stolen: 26,854
|Most Popular Vehicle||Ford F-150|
State Rank: 25th
Drunk Driving: 366
|Average Annual Premiums||Liability: $557.38|
Full Coverage: $1048.40
|Cheapest Provider||Coast National Insurance Company|
A recent Gallup poll has revealed that 83% of Americans drive a car at least several times a week. Considering that driving is one of the riskiest daily activities you can engage in, not only is owning car insurance a legal issue in most states, it’s just smart!
If you live in the state of Georgia and you’re one of the 83%, you share the road with 7,000,000 other drivers. Car insurance, like any other product, varies in quality from company to company. Many Americans feel overwhelmed when purchasing car insurance, and studies show a prevalence of certain myths.
But there’s no reason to let the process get you down — we’re here to help! And you can trust us because we’re not trying to sell you anything. Knowing the requirements in your state and what your options are is a good place to start. And don’t worry, we’ve done the research for you!
Are you ready to make an informed decision? Here we go…
You may already know comparing car insurance rates is a great way to save money! Start today with just your zip code.
Georgia Car Insurance Coverage and Rates
The “Peach State” is a great place to live if you love Southern charm, friendly people, and beautiful beaches. US News & World Report ranked two Georgia cities in the top 100 places to live in the nation in 2018! But do you know what it costs to own and operate a vehicle in Georgia?
Although it might feel mundane, understanding basic things like car insurance rates and requirements can — and sometimes should — impact where you decide to live.
– Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Georgia
|Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Georgia||Stats|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 per accident|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident|
|Uninsured Motorist Property Damage||$25,000 with a $250, $500, or $1000 deductible|
Liability insurance pays all individuals — drivers, passengers, pedestrians, bicyclists, etc — who are owed compensation for property damage and/or injuries resulting from a car accident that you or anyone under your policy causes.
Georgia is an “at-fault” accident state. This means, if you are the at-fault driver during an accident, you will be held liable for any personal injury or property claims.
As such, liability insurance is required in the state of Georgia at these minimum coverage amounts:
- $25,000 – to cover Injury or death of one person in an accident you caused
- $50,000 – to cover total injuries or death of more than one person in an accident you caused
- $25,000 – to cover property damage in an accident you caused
Remember, these amounts are minimum requirements and do not cover injury, death, or damage to yourself or your own passengers! That will require additional coverage.
Your liability coverage does, however, kick in no matter who is driving your car, and if you are driving a rental vehicle.
– Required Forms of Financial Responsibility in Georgia
Georgia law requires every driver and every owner of a vehicle to have proof of financial responsibility (proof of liability coverage) at all times.
Here are the six forms of acceptable proof of vehicle liability insurance coverage in Georgia:
- Liability insurance policy
- Rental agreement
- Fleet insurance policy card
- Bill of Sale, dated to within 30 days of the vehicles purchase date, and a valid insurance binder page issued by a Georgia licensed insurer
- A valid Self-Insured Insurance Card/Certificate of Self-Insurance
- Valid insurance policy information card for Georgia International Registration Plan (IRP)
Every time a motorist operates a vehicle, he or she is required to have — on hand — one of the above six forms proving financial responsibility.
The Georgia Department of Revenue is required, by law, to suspend or revoke vehicle registrations on any vehicles found to be driving without continuous liability coverage. You will also incur a $25 fine for a lapse in coverage. That fine jumps to an additional $160 if the lapse in coverage is not paid in 30 days.
– Premiums as Percentage of Income in Georgia
In 2017, the annual per capita disposable personal income in Georgia was $38,326.
Disposable personal income (DPI) is the total amount of money available for an individual to spend (or save) after their taxes have been paid.
The average annual cost of car insurance in Georgia is $1,232, which is just over 3% of the average disposable personal income.
The average Georgian has only $3,194 each month to buy food, pay bills etc. The car insurance bill alone will deduct about $100 out of that — much more for more than minimum coverage and/or a less-than-perfect driving record.
American Consumer Credit Counseling suggests saving 20 percent of every paycheck. With Georgia’s DPI, that’s a whopping $639 each month! How much are you putting aside for savings?
– Core Car Insurance Coverage in Georgia
The above table illustrates the most recent data provided by the leading source on the matter, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. Expect car insurance rates in Georgia to be significantly higher for 2018 and on.
Don’t forget: Georgia has minimum requirements for liability coverage, but experts suggest drivers purchase more than what state law requires, especially when the state is an “at-fault” state like Georgia is.
Let’s dig into some of the most popular coverage options to add to a basic auto insurance policy.
– Additional Liability Coverage in Georgia
|Georgia Loss Ratio||%|
|Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Loss Ratio||–|
|Medical Payments Loss Ratio||80.33%|
|UUM Loss Ratio||22%|
As of July 2018, two states required Medical Payments coverage (Maine and Wisconsin), two states (plus D.C.) required Uninsured Motorist coverage (Montana and Wisconsin), and 17 states required both Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist coverage.
Med Pay, Uninsured, and Underinsured Motorist coverage are all optional in Georgia, but they’re still important to have. Why? In 2015 13 percent of motorists in the US were uninsured, and 12% of motorists in Georgia — these drivers would likely go bankrupt before they could pay off bills for damage and injuries they caused in a car accident.
Georgia ranked 25th in the nation in 2015 for uninsured or underinsured drivers.
Georgia has remained pretty steady as far as loss ratio is concerned and on the higher end of how much is covered.
– Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
We know getting the complete coverage you need for an affordable price is your goal.
Good news: there are lots of powerful but cheap extras you can add to your policy.
Here’s a list of useful coverage available to you in Georgia:
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Car Insurance
- Modified Car Insurance Coverage
- Classic Car Insurance
- Pay-as-You-Drive or Usage-Based Insurance
FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
– Male vs Female Annual Car Insurance Rates in Georgia
|Male vs. Female||Geico||Progressive|
Popular myth: men pay more for car insurance. In most states that isn’t always true and Georgia is one of them.
In Georgia, both Geico and Progressive charge females more than males who have the exact same profile and driving record.
Our researchers discovered that females in Georgia are charged as much as $50 a year more than males who are the same age and have identical backgrounds and driving records.
We’ve also collected rates from the GA Insurance Department Sites for several profiles:
|Profile A (40-year-old married male, good record, average mileage)||Reduced $1,644.29 and Add-on $1,697.79|
|Profile B (30-year-old married female, speeding ticket and at-fault accident, and average mileage)||Reduced $2,469.04 and Add-on $2,534.77|
|Profile C (28-year-old married male, speeding ticket and DUI, and high mileage)||Reduced $3,745.01 and Add-on $3,815.83|
|Profile D (65-year-old married retired couple, clean record, pleasure driving, low mileage)||Reduced $1,529.83 and Add-on $1,587.36|
|Profile E (35-year-old single female with 17-year old youthful male operator, clean records, average mileage)||Reduced $4,594.91 and Add-on $4,684.28|
|Profile F (19-year old single female, one speeding ticket, high mileage)||Reduced $4,028.96 and Add-on $4,113.38|
|Profile G (19-year-old single male, one speeding ticket, high mileage)||Reduced $5,084.54 and Add-on $5,170.63|
|Profile H (19-year-old single female, clean record, high mileage)||Reduced $3,552.26 and Add-on $3,629.53|
|Profile I (19-year-old single male, clean record, high mileage)||Reduced $4,441.06 and Add-on $4,521.15|
One thing to remember: your coverage limits and your driving record are gonna play a major role in your costs.
– Cheapest Georgia Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code
If you end up at one of the following zip codes in Georgia, you will have one of the highest rates in the state.
|25 Most Expensive Zip Codes in Georgia||City||Average by Zip Code||Most Expensive Company||Most Expensive Rate||2nd Most Expensive Company||2nd Most Expensive Rate||Cheapest Company||Cheapest Rate||2nd Cheapest Company||2nd Cheapest Rate|
|30314||ATLANTA||$6,991.02||Liberty Mutual||$13,795.98||Nationwide||$9,315.62||USAA||$3,886.82||State Farm||$4,776.36|
|30021||CLARKSTON||$6,944.22||Liberty Mutual||$13,494.47||Nationwide||$8,631.83||USAA||$3,459.21||State Farm||$4,616.14|
|30088||STONE MOUNTAIN||$6,913.82||Liberty Mutual||$12,998.29||Nationwide||$8,631.83||USAA||$3,574.28||State Farm||$4,700.44|
|30083||STONE MOUNTAIN||$6,899.09||Liberty Mutual||$13,494.47||Nationwide||$8,631.83||USAA||$3,478.91||State Farm||$4,726.08|
|30035||DECATUR||$6,893.89||Liberty Mutual||$12,998.29||Nationwide||$8,631.83||USAA||$3,734.78||State Farm||$4,756.96|
|30334||ATLANTA||$6,893.38||Liberty Mutual||$14,291.57||Nationwide||$9,240.55||USAA||$3,591.38||State Farm||$4,528.97|
|30315||ATLANTA||$6,889.33||Liberty Mutual||$13,795.98||Nationwide||$8,322.55||USAA||$3,865.01||State Farm||$4,645.27|
|30310||ATLANTA||$6,880.31||Liberty Mutual||$12,863.94||Nationwide||$9,315.62||USAA||$3,762.96||State Farm||$4,665.43|
|30304||ATLANTA||$6,835.84||Liberty Mutual||$14,291.57||Nationwide||$9,240.55||USAA||$3,544.19||State Farm||$3,655.92|
|30311||ATLANTA||$6,750.28||Liberty Mutual||$12,863.94||Nationwide||$9,315.62||USAA||$3,532.72||State Farm||$4,454.79|
|30058||LITHONIA||$6,733.62||Liberty Mutual||$12,998.29||Nationwide||$8,219.53||USAA||$3,420.60||State Farm||$4,587.99|
|30038||LITHONIA||$6,730.99||Liberty Mutual||$12,998.29||Nationwide||$8,219.53||USAA||$3,696.02||State Farm||$4,472.39|
|30032||DECATUR||$6,699.34||Liberty Mutual||$12,998.29||Nationwide||$8,631.83||USAA||$3,402.21||State Farm||$4,352.35|
|30034||DECATUR||$6,694.70||Liberty Mutual||$12,998.29||Nationwide||$8,396.55||USAA||$3,566.58||State Farm||$4,628.72|
|30079||SCOTTDALE||$6,686.79||Liberty Mutual||$13,494.47||Nationwide||$8,219.53||USAA||$3,131.70||State Farm||$4,006.43|
|30331||ATLANTA||$6,657.55||Liberty Mutual||$12,863.94||Nationwide||$9,315.62||USAA||$3,550.46||State Farm||$4,373.39|
|30316||ATLANTA||$6,647.47||Liberty Mutual||$13,132.24||Nationwide||$9,431.20||USAA||$3,773.63||State Farm||$4,385.74|
|30312||ATLANTA||$6,620.73||Liberty Mutual||$13,132.24||Nationwide||$9,240.55||USAA||$3,544.19||State Farm||$4,376.84|
|30072||PINE LAKE||$6,580.33||Liberty Mutual||$12,395.60||Nationwide||$9,476.29||USAA||$3,544.70||State Farm||$4,294.43|
|30349||ATLANTA||$6,554.04||Liberty Mutual||$12,648.11||Nationwide||$8,322.55||USAA||$3,646.54||State Farm||$4,334.90|
|30291||UNION CITY||$6,486.71||Liberty Mutual||$12,648.11||Nationwide||$8,322.55||USAA||$3,838.58||State Farm||$4,415.71|
|30087||STONE MOUNTAIN||$6,469.78||Liberty Mutual||$13,494.47||Nationwide||$6,990.93||USAA||$3,512.50||State Farm||$4,600.69|
On the other hand, moving to one of the zip codes below will result in a cheaper rate.
|25 Least Expensive Zip Codes in Georgia||City||Average by Zip Codes||Most Expensive Company||Most Expensive Rate||2nd Most Expensive Company||2nd Most Expensive Rate||Cheapest Company||Cheapest Rate||2nd Cheapest Company||2nd Cheapest Rate|
|31699||MOODY A F B||$3,976.82||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,819.43||GEICO||$2,101.36||USAA||$2,430.99|
|31750||FITZGERALD||$4,197.86||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,957.00||GEICO||$2,580.05||State Farm||$2,717.52|
|31783||REBECCA||$4,202.67||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,162.32||State Farm||$2,751.23||GEICO||$3,030.56|
|31079||ROCHELLE||$4,205.41||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,162.32||State Farm||$2,868.06||USAA||$2,921.31|
|31626||BOSTON||$4,210.42||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,819.43||GEICO||$2,456.21||State Farm||$2,967.64|
|31792||THOMASVILLE||$4,231.02||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,819.43||GEICO||$2,456.21||State Farm||$2,901.62|
|31757||THOMASVILLE||$4,236.28||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,819.43||GEICO||$2,456.21||State Farm||$2,946.56|
|31627||CECIL||$4,244.75||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,819.43||GEICO||$2,612.68||State Farm||$2,715.08|
|31620||ADEL||$4,247.91||Liberty Mutual||$9,257.13||Nationwide||$4,819.43||GEICO||$2,612.68||State Farm||$2,702.55|
|31778||PAVO||$4,284.48||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,819.43||GEICO||$2,613.34||State Farm||$2,924.94|
|31738||COOLIDGE||$4,289.46||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,819.43||GEICO||$2,613.34||State Farm||$2,959.80|
|31558||SAINT MARYS||$4,291.24||Liberty Mutual||$9,023.13||Nationwide||$5,784.34||GEICO||$2,431.31||USAA||$2,437.65|
|31793||TIFTON||$4,300.63||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,819.43||State Farm||$2,760.31||GEICO||$2,764.28|
– Cheapest Georgia Car Insurance Rates by City
Below, you can see which cities have the most expensive rates.
|10 Most Expensive Cities in Georgia||Average by City||Most Expensive Company||Most Expensive Rate||2nd Most Expensive Company||2nd Most Expensive Rate||Cheapest Company||Cheapest Rate||2nd Cheapest Company||2nd Cheapest Rate|
|Clarkston||$6,944.22||Liberty Mutual||$13,494.47||Nationwide||$8,631.83||USAA||$3,459.21||State Farm||$4,616.14|
|Redan||$6,913.82||Liberty Mutual||$12,998.29||Nationwide||$8,631.83||USAA||$3,574.28||State Farm||$4,700.44|
|Stone Mountain||$6,899.09||Liberty Mutual||$13,494.47||Nationwide||$8,631.83||USAA||$3,478.91||State Farm||$4,726.08|
|Lithonia||$6,732.30||Liberty Mutual||$12,998.29||Nationwide||$8,219.53||USAA||$3,558.31||State Farm||$4,530.19|
|Scottdale||$6,686.79||Liberty Mutual||$13,494.47||Nationwide||$8,219.53||USAA||$3,131.70||State Farm||$4,006.43|
|Pine Lake||$6,580.33||Liberty Mutual||$12,395.60||Nationwide||$9,476.29||USAA||$3,544.70||State Farm||$4,294.43|
|Decatur||$6,512.61||Liberty Mutual||$12,755.96||Nationwide||$8,274.74||USAA||$3,491.47||State Farm||$4,464.04|
|Union City||$6,486.71||Liberty Mutual||$12,648.11||Nationwide||$8,322.55||USAA||$3,838.58||State Farm||$4,415.71|
|Mountain Park||$6,469.78||Liberty Mutual||$13,494.47||Nationwide||$6,990.93||USAA||$3,512.50||State Farm||$4,600.69|
|Ellenwood||$6,468.98||Liberty Mutual||$12,669.13||Nationwide||$7,813.72||USAA||$3,739.84||State Farm||$4,719.07|
Clarkstown has the most expensive rates, followed by Redan.
|10 Least Expensive Cities in Georgia||Average by City||Most Expensive Company||Most Expensive Rate||2nd Most Expensive Company||2nd Most Expensive Rate||Cheapest Company||Cheapest Rate||2nd Cheapest Company||2nd Cheapest Rate|
|Moody AFB||$3,976.82||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,819.43||GEICO||$2,101.36||USAA||$2,430.99|
|Fitzgerald||$4,197.86||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,957.00||GEICO||$2,580.05||State Farm||$2,717.52|
|Rebecca||$4,202.67||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,162.32||State Farm||$2,751.23||GEICO||$3,030.56|
|Rochelle||$4,205.41||Liberty Mutual||$9,217.46||Nationwide||$4,162.32||State Farm||$2,868.06||USAA||$2,921.31|
Georgia Car Insurance Companies
With the hundreds of car insurance providers out there, it’s nearly impossible to know who you can trust or when is the right time to switch (if ever!).
Let us help you figure that out!
Keep reading to get the inside scoop on who the best providers are (and why) across the Peach State.
– Georgia’s Car Insurance Rates by Provider
|Top 5 Cheapest Providers (Average)||Rates||Top 5 Most Expensive Providers (Average)||Rates|
|Coast National Insurance Company||$1,141.14||Everest Security Insurance Company||$7,306.51|
|American National Property and Casualty Company||$1,260.92||Main Street America Assurance Company||$7,299.73|
|21st Century Centennial Insurance Company||$1,297.98||Amica Mutual Insurance Company||$7,084.16|
|AIG Property Casualty Company||$1,475.30||Victoria Fire And Casualty Company||$6,487.43|
|Twin City Fire Insurance Company||$1,617.20||Insuremax Insurance Company||$6,448.09|
– Ratings! How Georgia Car Insurance Companies Compare
Let’s dive right in with financial ratings and a look at the top ten Insurance providers in Georgia…
– The 10 Largest Georgia Car Insurance Companies’ Financial Ratings
|Providers (Listed by Size, Largest at the Top):||A.M. Best Rating:|
|United Service Automobile Association||A++|
|Georgia Farm Bureau||B+|
Sometimes it’s more important to know what people are saying about these companies than it is to know the financial data. You’re the customer, after all, and you need to be treated well! Read on to find out what other customer experiences have been like…
– Georgia’s Car Insurance Companies with the BEST Customer Ratings
J.D. Powers and Associates in 2018 ranked Farm Bureau Insurance — Tennessee the highest for customer satisfaction in the southeast! That’s a rather surprising result, seeing as how it beat out the big-name companies.
J.D. Power Business Consultant says, “Cost is not the sole indicator of customer satisfaction in the auto insurance industry. Low prices may attract new customers, but it’s service that keeps them.”
Here’s the total breakdown for 2018:
– Georgia’s Car Insurance Companies with the MOST Customer Complaints
As important as knowing which companies are satisfying to customers, though, is knowing which have disappointed.
Customer complaints are telling, and you may want to avoid car insurance companies that have a record of accruing a lot of them!
Here’s a break-out of customer complaints against the major insurance providers in Georgia:
|Top Providers by Market Share in GA||Complaints 2018||Complaints 2017||Complaints 2016||Complaints 2015|
|Georgia Farm Bureau||16||16||23||19|
Sometimes complaints are balanced by overall customer satisfaction, too. Be sure to account for all factors as you’re shopping around!
– The 10 Largest Car Insurance Companies in Georgia
|Company||Direct Premiums Written||Loss Ratio||Market Share|
|State Farm Group||$1,937,806||68.72%||22.49%|
|Allstate Insurance Group||$820,479||51.96%||9.52%|
|Liberty Mutual Group||$335,540||66.84%||3.89%|
|Nationwide Corp Group||$267,971||77.10%||3.11%|
|Georgia Farm Bureau Group||$261,432||64.70%||3.03%|
– Number of Car Insurance Providers in Georgia
|Number of Domestic Insurers by Type||Total|
Laws in Georgia
In order to keep your car insurance rates low, you have to know the laws in your state so you’re not blindsided by a fine. Don’t worry! We’re here to help.
Keep reading to learn about the laws specific to the state of Georgia.
– Georgia’s Car Insurance Laws
Georgia has a number of specific laws unique to their state, so be aware (especially if you’re a new resident or just passing through!).
One such law is a ban on all hand-held devices for all drivers and a no cell phone policy for drivers under the age of 18. Georgia also enforces red-light stopping in some cities through the use of traffic cameras. You can read up on the specifics of some of their laws and fining procedures here to avoid incurring fees and possible insurance rate increases.
– High-Risk Insurance in Georgia
Here are some reasons Georgia drivers need an SR22A once they’re driving privileges are reinstated:
- License suspension or revocation due to a DUI
- Being involved in an accident without insurance
- Getting labeled a negligent operator
- Having too many points on your driving record
If you’re a high-risk driver and unable to find coverage through the free market, Georgia has a provision for you (dating all the way back to 1949!). It’s called Georgia Automobile Insurance Plan.
FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
– Georgia’s Windshield and Glass Repair Laws
It’s almost a given that at some point you will end up with a cracked windshield. So does Georgia offer any legal provisions for whether or not insurers have to cover your repairs?
The answer is… not exactly.
In Georgia, insurance companies have the option of offering to repair your windshield with aftermarket and used parts — as long as you agree. If you decline, you then agree to pay the difference in the cost of repairs to your windshield. This option usually falls under comprehensive coverage plans.
– The statute of Limitations in Georgia
If you get into an accident and your claim to what happened is disputed, it is important that you be informed as to what the statute of limitations laws are in your state. What does this mean?
“Plaintiffs have time limits in which to file a civil claim, collectively called ‘statutes of limitations.’ The purpose of these laws is to ensure that claims are made while evidence is still relatively vital, and to prevent the constant ‘threat’ of a lawsuit long after the disputed event has occurred.”
|Georgia Statutes of Limitations||Years|
|Personal Injury||2 Years|
|Property Damage||4 Years|
– Automobile Insurance Fraud in Georgia
In the state of Georgia, insurance fraud is classified as a crime (see below), and law enforcers take it very seriously! A 16-month investigation led to 26 arrests in 2017 for false claims and staged accidents. A total of 326 charges were levied! The moral of the story is: don’t commit insurance fraud.
|Georgia and Insurance Fraud||yes/no|
|Insurance Fraud Classified as a Crime|
|Mandatory Insurer Fraud Plan|
|Mandatory Auto Photo Inspection|
– Georgia’s Vehicle Licensing Laws
To drive a car, you have to have a license! Keep reading to find out what Georgia’s mandatory licensing laws are…
– Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
- Suspended registration with $25 lapse fee and $60 reinstatement fee. Pay any other registration fees and vehicle ad valorem taxes due
- Within five years: Suspended registration with $25 lapse fee and $60 reinstatement fee. Pay any other registration fees and vehicle ad valorem taxes due
Georgia is also one of a growing number of states that allows electronic proof of insurance.
Vehicle owners or leasees are required by state law to
- “Maintain continuous Georgia liability insurance coverage on vehicles with active registrations.
- Immediately cancel the vehicle registration for any vehicle no longer in service using Form MV-18J
- Not drive or let anyone else drive a vehicle that does not have a valid vehicle registration and Georgia liability insurance coverage”
– Teen Driver Laws in Georgia
Not all teen driving regulations are the same from state to state! Here’s what you need to know in Georgia:
|Young Driver Licensing System||First Requirement||Second Requirement||Third Requirement|
|To get a learners license you must:||Have a minimum age of 15||–||–|
|Before getting a license or restricted license you must:||Have a mandatory holding period of 12 months||Have a minimum supervised driving time of 40 hours, 6 of which must be at night||Have a minimum age of 16|
|Restrictions during intermediate or restricted license stage:||Nighttime restrictions – midnight-5 a.m. secondary enforcement||Passenger restrictions (family members excepted unless otherwise noted) – first 6 months—no passengers; second 6 months—no more than 1 passenger younger than 21; thereafter, no more than 3 passengers secondary enforcement||–|
|Minimum age at which restrictions may be lifted:||Nighttime restrictions – until age 18 (min. age: 18)||Passenger restrictions – until age 18 (min. age: 18)||–|
– License Renewal Procedures and Older Drivers in Georgia
Georgia’s license renewal procedures for the general population and older drivers are pretty straightforward. Here are some tables to help you easily see what is allowed/required!
|License Renewal Procedures in Georgia:||Years|
|General Population||Every 8 years|
|Older Population||Every 8 years|
|Proof of Adequate Vision Required for License Renewal||When?|
|General Population||Every Renewal|
|Older Population||Every Renewal|
|Population||Mail or online renewal permitted|
|General Population||online, every other renewal|
|Older Population||not permitted 64 and older|
– New Residents or People Visiting Georgia
New to Georgia? Here are a few of the things unique to the Peach State:
- Georgia doesn’t have a traditional DMV, but rather two agencies that handle motor vehicles: the Department of Driver Services (DDS) and the Department of Revenue (DOR). DDS handles things like licensing, permits, and ID cards, and DOR handles registration, taxes, and plates.
- Georgia has a move-over law which requires you to move over to emergency vehicles on the side of the road. Violation of this law is the same as a moving violation and can incur you a ticket up to $500.
- Unless you want a $150 fine, texting while driving is prohibited. In cases of emergency it can be allowed, but keep those phones away and on silent when passing through Georgia!
Georgia Rules of the Road
Whether you’re a resident or just passing through, it’s important to know the rules of the road! Take a peek at this basic rundown to make sure you are following the law…
– Fault vs. No-Fault
Georgia is an at-fault state. This means you’ll be held liable for damages in an accident where you are the at-fault driver. Make sure you have a good liability policy in place to protect yourself against risks!.
– Impaired-driving Laws in Georgia
You should never make the decision to drink and drive, but if you do, know that Georgia has some strict laws and penalties against that behavior.
|Georgia's DUI Laws||Laws|
|High BAC Limit||0.15|
|Criminal Status by Offense||1st-2nd misdemeanors, 3rd high and aggravated misdemeanor, 4th+ felony|
|Formal Name for Offense||Driving Under the Influence (DUI)|
|Look back Period/Washout Period||10 years|
|1st Offense - ALS or Revocation||120 days minimum up to 1 year|
|1st Offense - Imprisonment||10 days - 12 months, can all be suspended at judge's discretion unless HBAC, then all but 24 hours can be suspended|
|1st Offense - Fine||$300-$1000|
|1st Offense - Other||20-40 hours community service|
|2nd Offense - DL Revocation||3 years|
|2nd Offense - Imprisonment||90 days - 12 months; mandatory 72 hours for 2nd in 10 years, otherwise can be probated|
|2nd Offense - Fine||$600-$1000|
|2nd Offense - Other||30 days community service min, IID 6 months min, evaluation and treatment program mandatory, mandatory DUI school, photo of offender must be published in local newspaper|
|3rd Offense - DL Revocation||5 years|
|3rd Offense - Imprisonment||120 days - 12 months; sentence can be probated unless 3rd in 10 years, then 15 days mandatory incarceration|
|3rd Offense - Fine||$1000-$5000|
|3rd Offense - Other||min 30 days community service, 6 months IID, DUI school required, photo of offender must be published in local newspaper|
|4th Offense - Imprisonment||1-5 years, sentence can be probated to 90 days mandatory minimum|
|4th Offense - Fine||$1000-$5000|
|4th Offense - Other||60 days community service, can be suspended if 3 years jail term served, 6 months IID min|
|Mandatory Interlock||repeat offenders|
In 2017, there were 366 deaths due to alcohol-impaired driving on Georgia’s roadways, down slightly from 384 in 2016. Find stats on 2008-2017 here. Georgia also ranks 49th in the nation for the most dangerous state for drunk driving (out of 51 — including the District of Columbia). That’s… not great.
You should also know that Georgia is a zero-tolerance state for THC and metabolites while driving.
– Keep-Right Laws in Georgia
Georgia does have keep-right laws. If you are impeding faster traffic in the left lane, you are to yield to the faster traffic and move to the right.
– Speed Limits in Georgia
The maximum speed limit on interstates — both rural and urban — across the state of Georgia is 70 mph. On other roads, it is 65 mph.
– Child Safety Laws in Georgia
All children age 7 and under — or 57 inches tall or less — must be in a child restraint in the state of Georgia while riding in a moving vehicle. Over 57 inches tall, they may wear an adult safety belt. Children age 7 and under must sit in the rear of the vehicle if a rear seat is available.
Be sure to restrain your children properly — their safety should be your first priority, but you should also be aware that Georgia imposes fines up to $50 for a first offense (increasing on repeat offenses).
Georgia also has restrictions on young people riding in cargo areas. People 17 and younger are not permitted to ride in pickup trucks with covered cargo areas or any pickup truck off the interstate.
– Ridesharing in Georgia
In 2017, ridesharing services like Lyft and Uber won a victory in the state of Georgia when a court upheld a law allowing them to exist and denying exclusive rights to taxi services.
But what about insurance? What happens if your ridesharing driver gets into an accident while you’re in the vehicle?
A 2015 law passed in Georgia requires all ridesharing companies to carry a minimum of $1 million in coverage for “personal injury accident claims, property damage, and death.” So don’t worry — should the worst happen while taking an Uber or a Lyft, you’re covered!
– Automation on the Roads in Georgia
What is automation on the roads? “Automation is the use of a machine or technology to perform a task or function that was previously carried out by a human.” In other words, self-driving or autonomous vehicles (or autonomous functions in vehicles).
Obviously, this sort of technology requires careful testing and regulation, but laws will vary state-to-state. Georgia does allow for the deployment of autonomous vehicles on their roadways. Here’s what else you need to know about what is currently allowed on the roads in Georgia:
- “Georgia does not require a licensed operator for a ‘fully autonomous vehicle’ when the ‘automated driving system’ is engaged.”
“Georgia does not require the operator to be in a ‘fully autonomous vehicle’ when the ‘automated driving system’ is engaged.”
- Autonomous vehicles in Georgia do require liability insurance.
We’re not through yet…
FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
These Facts Might Raise Your Eyebrow
Have you wondered why how safe is Georgia? Listen we all know there are crazy drivers on the road, but we want to keep you informed so you can avoid the crazies and protect what’s most important.
How can you beat that?
– Vehicle Theft in Georgia
Here are the top ten stolen cars in the state of Georgia:
|Make/Model||Year||# of Thefts|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||2006||954|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||1999||948|
|Dodge Pickup (Full Size)||2003||452|
|Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee||2001||449|
– Road Danger in Georgia
The best way to stay out of danger on the roads is drive defensively and be aware of common issues in your state.
– Traffic Fatalities from 2017
Here are statistics on traffic fatalities in Georgia from 2017:
|Type||Number of Fatalities|
|Passenger Vehicle Occupant Fatalities|
(All Seat Positions)
|Drivers Involved in Fatal Crashes||2,283|
|Bicyclist and Other Cyclist Fatalities||15|
|Occupants (Enclosed vehicles)||1,127|
|Involving a Large Truck||214|
|Involving a Rollover||361|
|Involving a Roadway Departure||769|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||401|
– Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by County
|County Name||Fatalities Per 100,000 Population||County Name||Fatalities Per 100,000 Population|
|Baker County||62.5||Morgan County||10.86|
|Talbot County||48.01||Appling County||10.8|
|Taylor County||36.85||Brantley County||10.68|
|Chattahoochee County||29.01||Long County||10.52|
|Echols County||25.41||Pierce County||10.36|
|Burke County||22.2||Early County||9.71|
|Jasper County||21.48||Mcduffie County||9.3|
|Stewart County||16.71||Evans County||9.28|
|Washington County||14.77||Mitchell County||8.97|
|Screven County||14.33||Pulaski County||8.93|
|Mcintosh County||14.18||Colquitt County||8.73|
|Randolph County||14.13||Towns County||8.69|
|Putnam County||13.81||Chattooga County||8.07|
|Emanuel County||13.32||Grady County||8.06|
|Franklin County||13.15||Charlton County||7.86|
|Dawson County||12.31||Macon County||7.51|
|Marion County||11.83||Dooly County||7.28|
|Hart County||11.63||Coffee County||6.97|
|Stephens County||11.59||Madison County||6.83|
|Terrell County||11.46||Rockdale County||6.64|
|Camden County||11.31||Bulloch County||6.57|
|Decatur County||11.23||Newton County||6.48|
|Peach County||11.07||Pickens County||6.33|
|Monroe County||11.06||Telfair County||6.25|
– Teens and Drunk Driving
Teens drunk driving is a serious problem in a lot of states, and one that each parent must take seriously.
|Teens and Drunk Driving||Limits|
|Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities Per 100K Population||1.0|
|Higher/Lower Than National Average (1.2)||Lower|
|DUI Arrest (Under 18 years old)||89|
|DUI Arrests (Under 18 years old) Total Per Million People||35.44|
– Traffic Fatalities: Rural vs. Urban
|4 Year Trend||2017||2016||2015||2014|
– Fatalities in Crashes Involving Speeding by County
|Rank||County||Fatalities 2016||Deaths Per 100K Population 2016||Rank||County||Fatalities 2016||Deaths Per 100K Population 2016|
|1||Glascock County||2||66.84||25||Appling County||1||5.41|
|2||Baker County||2||62.34||26||Long County||1||5.38|
|3||Miller County||3||51.01||27||Pierce County||1||5.2|
|4||Stewart County||1||17.02||28||Clayton County||14||5|
|5||Crawford County||2||16.27||29||Washington County||1||4.92|
|6||Clinch County||1||14.73||30||Liberty County||3||4.89|
|7||Screven County||2||14.25||31||Dodge County||1||4.8|
|8||Meriwether County||3||14.24||32||Columbia County||7||4.75|
|9||Brooks County||2||12.74||33||Mcduffie County||1||4.66|
|10||Seminole County||1||11.84||34||Putnam County||1||4.64|
|11||Marion County||1||11.75||35||Jackson County||3||4.62|
|12||Cook County||2||11.64||36||Bibb County||7||4.57|
|13||Bryan County||4||11.16||37||Habersham County||2||4.53|
|14||Morgan County||2||11.04||38||Franklin County||1||4.48|
|15||Early County||1||9.71||39||Richmond County||9||4.46|
|16||Harris County||3||8.92||40||Thomas County||2||4.44|
|17||Chattooga County||2||8.05||41||Troup County||3||4.3|
|18||Decatur County||2||7.49||42||Dawson County||1||4.23|
|19||Dooly County||1||7.2||43||Douglas County||6||4.22|
|20||White County||2||6.94||44||Floyd County||4||4.14|
|21||Baldwin County||3||6.64||45||Grady County||1||4.02|
|22||Jefferson County||1||6.33||46||Hart County||1||3.91|
|23||Telfair County||1||6.24||47||Bartow County||4||3.87|
|24||Pike County||1||5.58||48||Monroe County||1||3.72|
– Five-year Fatality Trends in the Top-10 Counties (2017)
|Georgia Counties by 2017 Ranking||County||2013 Fatalities||2014 Fatalities||2015 Fatalities||2016 Fatalities||2017 Fatalities|
|Georgia Counties by 2017 Ranking||Counties||Fatalities 2013||Fatalities 2014||Fatalities 2015||Fatalities 2016||Fatalities 2017||% Change From Previous Year 2014||% Change From Previous Year 2015||% Change From Previous Year 2016||% Change From Previous Year 2017|
– EMS Response Time
|Type||Time of Crash to EMS to Notification||EMS Notification to EMS Arrival||EMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital Arrival||Time of Crash to Hospital Arrival|
If you live in Georgia, chances are you live in a 2-car (or more!) household, drive alone to work, and spend a hefty amount of your day commuting!
With an average commute time of 26.9 minutes, Georgia ranks above the national average, and with over 70% (79.3, to be exact) of the population driving alone, that commute doesn’t exactly rank Georgia as the greenest option when it comes to carbon emissions.
– Car Ownership
– Commute Time
Some Georgians even suffer through a “super commute” — spending in excess of 90 minutes in the car!
– Top 5 Cities for Traffic Congestion
If you don’t like traffic, you might want to avoid living in Atlanta, Georgia. A 2018 study found Georgia’s hub city to be number one in the country for the worst traffic based on average hours spent in a commute (from 2017): a whopping 102! Ouch. Atlanta came in ahead of San Francisco (91 hours), Los Angeles (79 hours), New York (70 hours), and Miami (64 hours).
|City||Hours in Congestion||Commute in Traffic: Peak||Commute in Traffic: Daytime||Commute in Traffic: Overall|
For more information about traffic around the US, check out your city/state’s traffic index.
But if traffic doesn’t bother you, there’s plenty else to recommend Atlanta — both as a travel and a living destination.
Don’t waste another minute. Start comparison shopping car insurance rates today!