What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Oklahoma?

The first time you drive without car insurance in OK, you'll be penalized with a $250 fine, vehicle impoundment, and 30 days in jail. High-risk drivers pay $137.75/mo more for coverage.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State University as well as technical and professional communication at East Carolina University. Zaneta has prepared technical p...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP®

UPDATED: Jan 21, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...

Oklahoma has the highest estimated percentage of uninsured drivers out of all the states in the nation at almost 26 percent. This makes cracking down on uninsured drivers in this state a priority.

Whether you are a new resident of Oklahoma, a newly licensed driver, or have been living and driving in Oklahoma for some time, you are legally required to carry the minimum amounts of auto insurance.

Compare car insurance quotes using our free tool above. You might be surprised by how much you can save on your monthly premiums.

Preventing Car Insurance Lapses

While getting your auto insurance policy is the main step in being in compliance with Oklahoma state law, it doesn’t end there. You will need to make sure that you keep your policy active and that it does not lapse.

You will need to make sure you pay your premiums on time and know when your policy is up for renewal, which is usually every six months.

You should also pay careful attention to any correspondence you receive from your auto insurance company.

Not being aware that your policy has lapsed or has been canceled is not a valid excuse for not having current auto insurance coverage.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Oklahoma

When driving in Oklahoma, you will need to carry proof of your insurance coverage in your vehicle and be prepared to show it when and if by a law enforcement officer.

If you do not have proof of insurance or proper insurance coverage in place, you can face serious penalties.

First Offense

For a first offense, you will receive the following penalties:

  • a $250 fine
  •  a $275 reinstatement fee
  • the maximum penalty also includes a 30-day jail sentence
  • Your car can also be impounded
  • you will need to pay the related towing and storage fees in addition to all other fees

As of 2013, officers of the law can either impound your vehicle or they can seize your license plates and assign you temporary plates along with liability insurance that will remain in effect for 10 days.

If the officer decides to do the latter, you will also be responsible for all of the associated fees.

Second Offense

A second offense for driving without insurance will result in the same potential penalties as a first offense.

Third Offense

A third offense for driving without insurance will result in the same potential penalties as a first offense.

In addition to these penalties, you can also be held personally responsible for the financial damages to other parties in an accident, which means you would need to pay out of your own pocket for their medical bills and property damages.

What Proof of Insurance is accepted in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma law does not specify what form of proof of insurance must be presented when requested by law enforcement.

Therefore, insurance commissioner John Doak put out a press release in 2013 stating both paper and electronic proof of insurance would be accepted as valid proof.

How to Get Car Insurance in Oklahoma

You have several options for getting auto insurance in Oklahoma. You can connect with a local insurance agent, call a national auto insurance company, or even search for auto insurance carriers online.

In fact, you can use an online price comparison tool to not only find insurance companies but to compare policies and find the best price for your budget.

In order to get a quote and finalize a policy, you will need to provide information such as:

  • How often and how far you drive to work or school
  • Your contact information
  • Your social security number
  • Your driving record
  • The yea, make, and model of your vehicle
  • Your vehicle’s VIN number
  • Where you park your car
  • Any safety features your car has

The information you provide helps determine your policy premium. You should be as honest as possible and provide complete information as not doing so can lead to the cancellation of your policy and difficulties getting auto insurance in the future.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Minimum Coverage in Oklahoma

Oklahoma state law requires its drivers to have minimum amounts of liability auto insurance coverage in order to drive a motor vehicle on public roads. Minimum requirements are as follows:

  • $25,000 for the injury or death per person
  • $50,000 for the total injury or death per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident

Don’t be one of the thousands of drivers in Oklahoma that are putting others at risk by driving without the legally required auto insurance amounts. Doing so just isn’t worth it and could cost you a lot of time and money.

If you are having trouble finding an affordable insurance policy for your vehicle, be sure to use our online price comparison tool to find the lowest rates. Enter your zip code below to begin.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by State