What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Kentucky?
Driving without insurance in Kentucky could lead to jail time or up to $2,500 in fines. Instead of driving without car insurance in Kentucky, carry the minimum required liability coverage.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jan 22, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- You could go to jail for driving without insurance in Kentucky
- The state monitors your insurance coverage electronically
- Fines for driving without insurance reach as high as $2,500
- Like many states, it’s hard to find cheap car insurance in KY
Kentucky law pertaining to car insurance is strict. Law enforcement officials are encouraged to check for insurance policies anytime they pull anyone over for a moving violation, anytime a person is involved in a car accident, and insurance is also monitored electronically.
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet monitors policy lapses, and drivers are then fined and punished for allowing the car insurance policy to lapse. There is no getting around this law in Kentucky, and the punishments for trying are harsh.
If you’re struggling to make ends meet and decide to allow your policy to lapse in Kentucky, you could face severe punishment.
There are options for more affordable insurance available, including paying only for the state minimum policy requirements and comparing prices with different companies.
Discounts are available for almost every driver, and there are ways to ensure you’re offered an affordable policy. It’s too expensive to drive without insurance in Kentucky.
Compare thousands of quotes in your area with our easy online tool! Enter your ZIP code above to get started.
Can you go to jail for not having car insurance in Kentucky?
Penalties for driving without insurance in Kentucky are broken down into two types.
The first time is for those who are caught driving without insurance for the first time, and the other is for those who have been in trouble for not having insurance in the past. If you are a first-time offender, expect slightly less harsh punishments for not driving with insurance.
First-time offenders are required to pay a fine of $500 to $1,000 if you are caught without insurance. You might also face up to 90 days in jail. That timeframe could be lessened if you decide to split your fine and your jail time.
Your driving privileges are then suspended for one year. You have to prove you purchased insurance if you want to lift your suspension. You must also pay $40 in court fees to reinstate your license if you are arrested and fined for not having insurance on your vehicle.
If you are a second-time offender, you’re going to pay a lot more:
- The fines for subsequent infractions begin at $1,000 and reach as much as $2,500.
- Your jail time is also increased to as many as six months, though you still have the option to split your jail time and your fine to make it a bit more bearable.
- Your license suspension is still only one year, but that’s only if this is your second offense.
- An additional two years are added to the suspension if you’re caught more than two times.
To reinstate your license after subsequent suspensions, you’re required to pay the same $40 court fees and prove you purchased insurance.
You’re also required to retake the driving exam required for all people obtaining a driver’s license in Kentucky. It’s a long process, and it’s much more affordable to just purchase an insurance policy.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Is car insurance required in Kentucky?
Yes, but it’s not difficult to obtain car insurance in Kentucky at an affordable rate if you only purchase the minimum policy requirements. All you need to buy is:
- bodily injury protection
- personal property protection
- personal injury protection
Your bodily injury coverage must amount to at least $25,000 per person as well as $50,000 per accident. Property damage minimums are $10,000 per accident, and personal injury protection requirements are only $10,000 per accident.
You can lower your car insurance premiums each month if you choose a higher deductible, and it’s always wise to check your credit before comparing rates for new policies with different insurance agencies.
Not all insurance agencies require a credit check, but many do. If you have a low credit score, you’re considered a riskier driver and you’ll pay more for your car insurance.
All of the major credit bureaus are required to provide you with a free credit report annually. Even if you know your credit is perfect, you should check your report.
Mistakes are made all the time, and it’s helpful if you correct them before applying for a new insurance policy. You don’t want to pay too much for a policy because someone else made a mistake.
When comparing policies, you should also ask companies what discounts they offer.
Some will give you a lower rate if you include your car, home, and life insurance policies in one plan. You also get discounts for having more than one car on your policy.
Retired drivers, good drivers, and even married drivers are offered discounts if you think to ask for them. You can find affordable insurance and avoid paying the hefty fines associated with driving without.
Insurance Is More Affordable Than an Accident
If you are involved in an accident and you don’t have car insurance, you’re facing exceptional financial difficulties. If you are the at-fault driver, it’s possible your passengers or the other driver can sue you for damages.
Damages often include the cost of repairing their vehicle, compensating them for being out of work to recover, and even their medical bills. This is not affordable for anyone.
If you don’t have insurance in Kentucky, you will be caught. The systems used by the state are designed to ensure all drivers are driving with proper coverage. You cannot beat this law, and you will face serious financial consequences if you try.
Jail time and thousands of dollars in fines and fees are not worth saving $100 a month on car insurance premiums.
Compare car insurance rates in the box below with your ZIP code to find a policy with a company you can afford and trust.