What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Nevada?
Nevada penalties for driving without insurance are fines between $250 and $1,000 and up to three months in prison. Nevada ranks 23rd in the USA for uninsured drivers.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jun 2, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
- Since Nevada is home to one of the biggest tourist destinations, uninsured drivers is a huge problem for the state
- Statistics from 2010 to 2015 show that Nevada ranks 23rd in the nation in terms of uninsured drivers
- The Nevada DMV has an electronic verification in place that notifies the state when your current policy lapses
- Nevada has a unique system where drivers are assessed a fine based on how long they have been uninsured
- Since the offense is a Class C misdemeanor, you can be imprisoned for no more than three months on your first offense
Nevada is unlike any other state in the many ways, but it’s very much like most states in the sense that auto insurance is mandatory for resident vehicle owners.
It doesn’t matter if you live in Laughlin, where water sports are a way of life, or you’re smack dab in the glitz and glamour that they call Las Vegas, you must comply with the mandatory insurance laws or you’re breaking the law.
When you break the law, you will have repercussions.
In the past, states didn’t have many ways to verify whether or not you were insured. They might send you a random questionnaire and ask that you have it signed by your insurer, but other than that it was easy to get away with driving without insurance.
Today, you can be charged with being an uninsured driver even when you’re not driving because of all of the advanced verification systems that are used.
If you don’t want to be fined or ordered to serve a suspension period, you have to maintain insurance coverage at all times.
Don’t drive without insurance! Find the best rate for the coverage you need by using our free rate comparison tool above. It’s free and easy to use. Just enter your ZIP code to begin.
Letting your coverage lapse for even just the weekend could turn into a situation of financial turmoil when you receive a letter stating that you must pay a fine or lose your plates. If you’d like to know what type of penalties Nevada officials assess, here’s a guide:
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Nevada
Nevada has an insurance verification system that’s unlike any other. The LIVE program launched by the DMV helps the department validate the existence of active insurance on every car registered in the state in real time.
You can even search your VIN in the LIVE program and see the status of your insurance.
If your insurer, who is mandated by law to report lapses through the LIVE system, notifies the department that you don’t have insurance, you will be sent a notice and your registration will be suspended.
While this is bad enough, the scenario gets worse if you’re caught in the act of driving without insurance by an officer. Here are some of the penalties you’ll face if you’re cited and then convicted:
- A fine between $250 and $1000 depending on how long you have been without coverage
- Suspension of your registration until you pay the reinstatement fee
- A reinstatement fee of $250 to get your plates back
- Impound of your vehicle (in certain circumstances where other violations are involved)
- If you’ve been without insurance for more than 90 days, you’ll have to file an SR-22 with the state
- A fine between $500 and $1000 depending on how long you’ve been without coverage
- Suspension of your registration until you’ve paid the reinstatement fees and filed an SR-22
- Requirement to file an SR-22 to the state and pay a filing fee through your insurer
- Reinstatement fee of $500 to get your plates back
- A fine between $500 and $1000 depending on how long you’ve been without insurance
- Suspension of your registration until you’ve paid reinstatement fees and filed an SR-22 with the state
- Reinstatement fee of $500 to get your license plates back
- Requirement to file an SR-22 with the state for 36 months
- Suspension of driver’s license for a minimum of 30 days
- License reinstatement fee once you’ve served the suspension period and filed your SR-22
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
What proof of insurance is accepted in Nevada?
Even though the state can use the LIVE system to verify whether or not a car is insured, you’ll still be asked for the standard proof of insurance and registration when you’re pulled over. The proof can come in a couple different ways.
If you don’t have an acceptable form of proof when you’re stopped, you will still be cited as if you don’t have coverage.
You’ll have to go to court to show the judge you were covered at the time.
The first option is to show a physical ID card that includes the owner’s name, policy number, and expiration date. The card must include the company’s NAIC license number on it to be considered valid.
As of 2015, drivers in Nevada are also allowed to show digital proof of insurance to officers as long as it is legible and includes all of the information needed.
How to Get Insurance in Nevada
Currently, residents in Nevada are only required to carry limits of $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident for Bodily Injury and another $10,000 per crash in Property Damage.
There is, however, a bill that has recently been passed to raise these limits to 30/50/20. The actual increase hasn’t yet taken effect, but experts do recommend selecting higher limits.
It’s more expensive to drive without insurance in Nevada than it is to drive with it. Don’t be one of the estimated three in 10 drivers who don’t have coverage.
It’s easy to shop around and find a low rate based on your driving past. Just enter your ZIP code into our free comparison tool below and you’ll have access to all the tools that you need to purchase insurance today.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.