Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Call for FREE quotes: (855) 425-8122
UPDATED: Feb 27, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
New Mexico is cracking down on crime when it comes to drinking and driving. That means that you have to be very careful how you handle your drinking. Get DUI car insurance quotes today in your area for FREE with our ZIP code search above!
Never drive after drinking. New Mexico is very serious about finding drivers that drink while driving. They set up stings and will catch you if you drink and drive. For this reason, New Mexico ranks as one of the worst states for drunk driving.
New Mexico is a pleasant place to live. The skies go on for miles. It is full of endless roads to travel and see the sights of the New Mexico desert, which means that you can enjoy the road as a means of leisure.
New Mexico has the highest rating for crash fatalities each year.
This has led to strict enforcement of DUI insurance laws and standardized sobriety tests. Checkpoints have been placed everywhere.
They are highest during the holidays and at places that are well known for having a high rate of alcohol-related accidents. This is not bad though for those that wish to have a safer state. Whether you have a clean driving record or have a DUI conviction, use you FREE quote comparison tool to get the best car insurance coverage you can!
New Mexico DUI Requirements
New Mexico DUI requirements are very exact. Their precision helps protect both parties in the event that you are pulled over for DUI. In New Mexico, nobody can drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08%. Commercial drivers cannot lawfully drive with a blood alcohol reading of 0.04%. Minor have far rigid laws. A minor may not lawfully drive with 0.02% blood alcohol reading.
Some of the other New Mexico DUI requirements that a police will watch for are making turns too widely and driving in more than one lane at a time. Driving slowly in a manner that is irregular. Frequent braking can also grab the attention of an officer on patrol. Any irrational driving behavior can be enough for you to be stopped.
New Mexico DUI Laws
The New Mexico DUI laws are very straightforward. You cannot drive after drinking more than 0.08% for the average person. Anyone that is driving commercially cannot drive with 0.04% blood alcohol in his or her blood.
New Mexico DUI Penalties
The state of New Mexico has a standardized system if you are found guilty of DUI. If convicted of your first drunk driving conviction then you may be ordered to spend up to 90 days in jail.
A person’s license can be suspended for one year. They will put an ignition interlock on your vehicle, at your expense, for one year. Some are given community service to complete as terms of their penalty.
If you are charged with your second New Mexico DUI charge, you will receive a minimum of 96 hours in jail.
Beyond that, you can be given 364 days in jail as well. Your license can be suspended for up to two years.
The ignition interlock will be put on your vehicle for two years. In addition to the community service, the offender is also required to get treatment and is placed on probation for five years.
Your third offense means that you will have your license revoked for three years. You may have to stay in jail for 364 days. At least 96 hours is typically a mandatory time period. You will be fined up to $1,000.
In some cases, you will be fined $750. Most offenders must have the ignition interlock installed on their car. You could receive five years of probation as well.
Your fourth offense will result in a felony and a five-year review from the court. This includes mandatory jail time of six months and up to a $5,000 fine. Some courts may require treatment and all of them will require ignition interlock.
Any fifth offense means a lifetime license revocation and a review at five years by the court. At that time, treatment and court review must occur. The offender will be subject to fines up to $5,000, and ignition interlock is always mandatory.
The sixth offense is the same as the fifth offense except the jail time can be extended to two years. Treatment is always required and a lifetime requirement for ignition interlock must be placed in the car of the offender.
The seventh offense requires extended jail time of up to 3 years and all other aspects are also imposed. Your license can be revoked as well. When that happens, you have to be informed of what you can expect. You should acquire a good lawyer familiar with DUI cases to receive the least harsh punishment possible.
New Mexico DUI Statistics
Between 1982 and 2009 the number of alcohol-related fatalities has been reduced to 129. This is information that has been provided to the public from the University of New Mexico Division of Government Research.
This project is part of a movement to make improvements in the issue of DUI. The US government funds it. Between 2002-2004, this allowed 15 counties the money that was needed to help improve this issue.
New Mexico Insurance Options
New Mexico car insurance options are available to help those who are looking for a discount, to save money.
Find our what price you should pay for high-risk car insurance with our FREE quote comparison tool! Defensive driving classes offer discounts for anyone that wishes to do so. Education is a huge thing for new drivers in young drivers. The department of motor vehicles offers information for those that wish to learn more about New Mexico car insurance options.
Start saving today with our FREE ZIP code search!