Safeco Car Insurance Review [2024]

Safeco has cheaper-than-average rates and a good selection of coverages, but its customer complaint ratio is higher-than-average. In addition, Safeco car insurance reviews find that it has poor customer service and claim satisfaction.

UPDATED: May 5, 2024Fact Checked

Jeffrey Manola

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeffrey Manola is an experienced insurance agent who founded TopQuoteLifeInsurance.com and NoMedicalExamQuotes.com. His mission when creating these sites was to provide online consumers searching for insurance with the most affordable rates available. Not only does he strive to provide consumers with the best prices for insurance coverage, but he also wants those on the market for insurance to ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: May 5, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 5, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 5, 2024Fact Checked
3.9
carinsurancecomparison.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeco

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$71

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Safeco car insurance quotes are cheaper than the national average rates.
  • Safeco has a good array of auto insurance coverages for those who want a more complete policy.
  • Safeco has discount programs like accident forgiveness, disappearing or zero-deductible car insurance, and rewards for safe driving.

Cons

  • Safeco’s ratings are below the industry average on J.D. Power’s claim satisfaction study.
  • Safeco’s number of customer complaints is higher than the average.
  • Safeco doesn’t offer online quotes, so you will have to contact a Safeco agent to get a quote.

Final Verdict: Review of Safeco

Safeco is owned by Liberty Mutual, one of the best car insurance companies, and offers a variety of coverage options and discounts for customers. Its auto insurance rates are also below the national average.

However, Safeco does have a higher-than-average complaint ratio, which may give some consumers a reason to pause before choosing Safeco.

If you are considering Safeco as a car insurance company, our Safeco car insurance review goes over everything you need to know about the company. Continue reading to learn about Safeco customer service, insurance rates, coverages, financial ratings, and more.

Safeco is owned by Liberty Mutual, one of the best car insurance companies, and offers a variety of coverage options and discounts for customers. Its auto insurance rates are also below the national average. However, Safeco does have a higher-than-average complaint ratio, which may give some consumers a reason to pause before choosing Safeco. If you are considering Safeco as a car insurance company, our Safeco car insurance review goes over everything you need to know about the company. Continue reading to learn about Safeco customer service, insurance rates, coverages, financial ratings, and more.

What You Should Know About Safeco Insurance

Safeco has a number of pros and cons. We’ve outlined the main pros and cons of Safeco below, so you can immediately get an idea of if Safeco is a good choice for you or if there is a con that eliminates Safeco as a contender for your needs.

Safeco Pros

There are multiple pros to Safeco as a choice auto insurance company, including

  • Safeco car insurance quotes are cheaper than the national average rates.
  • Safeco has a good array of auto insurance coverages for those who want a more complete policy.
  • Safeco has discount programs like accident forgiveness, disappearing or zero-deductible car insurance, and rewards for safe driving.

Safeco is also owned by the parent company Liberty Mutual, one of the largest car insurance providers in the U.S. This means that a well-known company backs Safeco financially. This Liberty Mutual car insurance review will tell you everything you need to know about the company.

Safeco Cons

Safeco also has some cons that customers should be aware of, which are:

  • Safeco’s ratings are below the industry average on J.D. Power’s claim satisfaction study.
  • Safeco’s number of customer complaints is higher than the average.
  • Safeco doesn’t offer online quotes, so you will have to contact a Safeco agent to get a quote.

Safeco’s main con is that it has a higher-than-average number of complaints and scored low with J.D. Power, reflecting poor customer service overall.

Safeco Contact Information

To contact Safeco, you generally need to speak with your Safeco agent or log into your Safeco insurance account.

If you don’t have a Safeco account and want to get a quote, you will need to reach out to Safeco at 1-800-332-3226.

The best way to make changes to your account is to do so online, as Safeco will allow you to do all of the following:

  • Check billing history, pay bills, and change billing information.
  • Update personal information, download policy documents, and print or order new ID cards.
  • File car insurance claims and check the status of your claims.
  • Add or remove drivers from your car insurance policy.

You will have to contact your Safeco agent for any other updates to your auto insurance policy.

However, Safeco has two phone numbers outside of agents for car insurance claims and roadside assistance:

  • General Number: 1-800-332-3226
  • Roadside Assistance Number: 1-877-762-3101

In most cases, if you can’t do your task online, you will have to reach out to your Safeco agent. However, the lack of a general number to call Safeco for customer service assistance and the lack of online quotes can be a deterrent to some customers.

Read More: How do you get a Safeco car insurance quote online?

Safeco Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and reviews are the best way to determine if a car insurance company has a good reputation for customer service and a strong financial base. We go over all the important reviews and ratings of Safeco below.

Safeco Customer Satisfaction and Complaints

Safeco has an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau (BBB), which is great. However, Safeco has had a total of 1,804 complaints closed on the BBB within the last three years and a total of 904 complaints closed within the last year.

This is a high number of complaints, and Safeco also had a higher complaint ratio than average from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).

J.D. Power also ranks Safeco as mediocre in its customer claims satisfaction study, with Safeco scoring below the industry average and Liberty Mutual. Safeco wasn’t the worst car insurance company in J.D. Power’s study, but many companies have much better customer service.

Safeco A.M. Best Rating

A.M. Best gave Safeco a rating of A (excellent), which is a good score. While it’s not the highest score possible at A.M. Best, an A means Safeco is in good financial standing. It also means Safeco is able to meet its ongoing financial obligations to customers and shareholders, so it isn’t at risk of going bankrupt.

Safeco Mobile App Reviews

Being able to manage a car insurance policy online is convenient for the majority of drivers, so we want to take a look at the reviews for Safeco’s mobile app.

Safeco has the following reviews on Google Play and the Apple Store:

  • Apple Store Rating: 4.2 stars out of five from 3.9 thousand reviews
  • Google Play Rating: 4.8 stars out of five from 89.9 thousand reviews

Safeco’s mobile app has great reviews. On the mobile app, Safeco customers can do all of the following:

  • Access your car insurance ID cards and save them to your Apple Wallet.
  • Contact your Safeco insurance agent.
  • Contact roadside assistance.
  • File claims and get claim updates.
  • Pay bills and set up automatic payments if desired.
  • Request a damage review.
  • Request a rental car.
  • Track your repairs and view estimates for repairs.

The Safeco mobile app is convenient, allowing you to file claims from your smartphone and request roadside assistance or rental cars.

Safeco Insurance Coverage Options

Safeco offers a good array of auto insurance coverages for customers to choose from. In addition to state-required coverages like liability insurance, Safeco offers add-on coverages like roadside assistance.

Take a look at Safeco’s list of car insurance coverage options below:

  • Bodily injury liability insurance: This coverage pays for other people’s medical bills if you cause a car accident that injures others.
  • Property damage liability insurance: This coverage will pay for other people’s property damage bills if you cause an accident that damages their property, whether their car or fence.
  • Collision insurance: This coverage pays for your car’s repairs if you crash into another vehicle or a stationary object like a tree.
  • Comprehensive insurance: This coverage pays for your car’s repairs if you crash into an animal, acts of vandalism, or weather damage to your car.
  • Medical payments (MedPay) coverage: This coverage pays for you and your passengers’ medical bills if you are injured in a car crash, regardless of who caused the accident.
  • New car replacement insurance: This coverage will pay for a comparable car if your new car that is less than a year old is stolen or totaled.
  • Classic car insurance: This coverage provides liability insurance, as well as collision and comprehensive, for classic cars that are only driven to shows or the occasional hobby drive during nice weather.
  • Rental car reimbursement: This coverage will help pay for the cost of a rental car if your car is in the shop for an extended period.
  • Roadside assistance: This coverage helps provide roadside assistance and towing if your car breaks down.
  • Underinsured motorists insurance: This coverage helps pay for your accident bills if the driver who hits you doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your bills.
  • Uninsured motorists insurance: This coverage helps pay for your accident bills if the driver who hits you doesn’t have car insurance coverage.

It doesn’t have gap coverage or rideshare insurance, but it offers several other optional car insurance coverages beyond the basics that should be more than adequate for most drivers.

Other Insurance Types Offered at Safeco

Safeco does sell other types of insurance in addition to car insurance.

The full list of Safeco’s insurance options is as follows:

  • ATV and off-road-vehicle insurance
  • Boat and watercraft insurance
  • Commercial insurance
  • Condo insurance
  • Golf cart and low-speed vehicle insurance
  • Homeowners insurance
  • Home warranty insurance
  • Identity recovery insurance
  • Landlord insurance
  • Motorcycle Insurance
  • Pet health insurance
  • Property insurance
  • Recreation vehicle (RV) insurance
  • Renters insurance
  • Umbrella insurance

If you want to keep multiple insurance policies at one company, Safeco makes it easy to do so. Safeco also offers a bundling discount if you purchase more than one type of insurance from the company.

For example, you could buy home and auto insurance or home and watercraft insurance.

How to File a Claim at Safeco

You have a few options when filing a car insurance claim at Safeco. You can choose to file online through your Safeco account or the Safeco app, or you can file over the phone by calling Safeco’s claim number at 1-800-332-3226.

Filing car insurance claims online tends to be the quickest option for most drivers, and it also allows you to submit pictures online immediately from your smartphone.

The information you need to file a car insurance claim at Safeco includes the following:

  • Your Safeco policy number if filing over the phone and not through your account.
  • How, when, and where the car accident occurred.
  • Names, contact information, and insurance information of any involved parties.
  • Pictures of the damages to the vehicles and the accident scene.
  • Police reports, if any officers were called to the scene of the accident.

The more information you collect for Safeco, the quicker your car insurance claim will be approved or rejected. Once Safeco has reviewed your information and approved your car insurance claim, it will send you a claim estimate.

You will have to sign any necessary documents from Safeco to receive your claim payout. Then, the car insurance claim will be resolved.

How to Cancel Safeco Car Insurance

You will likely have to reach out to your independent Safeco agent to cancel your policy or call the company directly at 1-800-332-3226. Follow our step-by-step guide to learn how to cancel car insurance.

You will need your policy information to cancel, and it’s important to make sure you have a date for when you want your policy to end. You will want this end date to be after your new car insurance policy starts. This way, you will avoid any lapses in auto insurance coverage that are illegal and will raise your car insurance rates.

Driving without insurance, even a day or two, can increase your auto insurance rates, so double-check your start and end dates. Make sure to also check for confirmation that your cancellation at Safeco was effective, whether it’s confirmed through email or mail.

The Final Word on Safeco Car Insurance

Safeco has a good selection of car insurance coverages and cheaper-than-average auto insurance rates. It also has a good financial rating, customers highly rate its mobile app, and it has discount programs like accident forgiveness that can save customers a significant amount of money.

The downsides to Safeco are that it has a higher-than-average complaint ratio from the NAIC and scored less than the industry average on J.D. Power’s customer satisfaction surveys.

While Safeco seems to have good rates and coverages, customers may not be happy with the level of service they receive from the company.

If you are interested in getting quotes from other companies to compare to Safeco, use our free quote comparison tool below. It will help you find the best auto insurance rates from companies in your area based on your individual driving profile and coverage needs.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeco Insurance Rates Breakdown

So far, Safeco hasn’t had the best customer ratings, but it offers a good array of coverage. And, as you will see in this section, its rates are also very affordable.

Compare Safeco car insurance rates for minimum liability car insurance and full coverage car insurance below:

Safeco’s Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates vs. the National Average

Coverage Type Safeco’s Monthly Rates National Average
Minimum Coverage $26.68 $45.45
Full Coverage $70.78 $119.27

Safeco Car Insurance Rates by Age

Of course, rates will also vary based on age. Younger drivers will pay more for car insurance due to their driving inexperience, no matter what car insurance company you choose. The good news is that Safeco provides the best car insurance by age and charges less than the national average for all drivers who have clean driving records.

See how Safeco auto insurance rates compare to other top companies for young and experienced drivers:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Car Insurance Rates for Teens at Safeco vs. Other Top Insurers

Company Male Teen Driver Female Teen Driver
Safeco $360 $344
Geico $312 $297
State Farm $349 $310
American Family $509 $414
Allstate $638 $608
Farmers $773 $810
Progressive $814 $801
Liberty Mutual $785 $722
USAA $249 $245
Nationwide $476 $411

Safeco has decent rates for teenage drivers and economical rates for other ages as well.

Safeco Car Insurance Rates by Driving Record

Bear in mind that your rates at Safeco will also depend on your driving record. See below Safeco’s average rates for drivers with DUIs, at-fault accidents, and tickets.

Compare car insurance rates with a bad driving record from Safeco and more companies below:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates Based on Driving Record at Safeco vs. Other Top Insurers

Insurance Company Rates with a Ticket Rates with a Clean Record Rates with a DUI Rates with an Accident
Safeco $81.12 $70.78 $122.21 $109.77
Allstate $195.17 $166.08 $303.17 $237.33
American Family $130.92 $115.50 $177.00 $166.67
Farmers $175.67 $139.50 $191.33 $198.58
Liberty Mutual $216.67 $176.67 $325.00 $236.67
Nationwide $144.75 $120.42 $252.33 $165.25
Progressive $142.50 $109.17 $146.67 $190.33
State Farm $102.25 $90.92 $124.17 $107.08
Travelers $148.33 $107.25 $230.42 $157.33
Average $151.50 $123.08 $218.25 $176.92

Safeco’s average car insurance rates are below the national average, even for drivers with DUIs, which is great.

However, while Safeco is cheaper than the national average, this doesn’t mean it is the cheapest company available. The only way to know for sure that you are getting the cheapest car insurance rate possible is to get quotes from a few different companies in your area.

As car insurance rates are always changing, we also recommend comparing auto insurance quotes every year or anytime you meet the following situations:

  • You added a new driver to your car insurance policy.
  • You added a new car to your car insurance policy.
  • You moved to a new area or state.
  • You recently got a traffic ticket, caused an at-fault accident, or were convicted of a DUI.

Some companies may offer cheaper rates for a certain demographic, even if their rates are normally more expensive than other companies. That’s why getting multiple quotes will ensure that Safeco is still the right company for you. Learn how to compare car insurance quotes.

Safeco Insurance Discounts Available

Safeco doesn’t offer as many car insurance discounts as other car insurance companies, but this is likely because its rates are already on the cheaper side.

The most popular Safeco car insurance discounts are:

  • Accident forgiveness: Safeco won’t penalize your first at-fault accident with the company as long as you have been accident-free and violation-free for a few years.
  • Bundling policy discount: Safeco offers a multiple-policy discount for customers who buy more than one type of insurance from the company, such as bundling a home and auto insurance policy.
  • Claims-free cash back: Safeco will return you 2.5% of your policy premium for every renewal period you go accident-free (up to 5% per year).
  • Disappearing deductible: Safeco will decrease the deductible up to $500 on your collision insurance for each renewal period you go through without filing a claim.
  • Right Track program: Safeco has a safe driving program that can save drivers who score well up to 30% off their car insurance policy.

As you can see, Safeco’s list of auto insurance discounts is short. There are no auto insurance discounts for students, anti-theft devices, low mileage, or other common car insurance discounts offered at other auto insurance companies.

Read more: What discounts does Safeco offer?

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does car insurance cost at Safeco?

How much Safeco car insurance costs depends upon your personal demographics, vehicle, location, driving record, and more. The only way to know what you will pay at Safeco is to get a car insurance quote. However, Safeco’s rates tend to fall below the national average, so it is one of the cheaper companies on the market. Contact a Safeco insurance agent today to find out what your rates will be.

How can you buy car insurance from Safeco?

You can’t buy car insurance or get a quote from Safeco online. Instead, you will have to reach out to one of Safeco’s independent agents to get a quote and purchase a policy. You can search for an independent Safeco agent on Safeco’s website using either your ZIP code or an agency’s name to find an agent near you.

Does Safeco have accident forgiveness?

Yes, Safeco does offer accident forgiveness. Your car insurance rates won’t go up after an accident, which offers significant savings if you cause an accident. However, you must be accident-free at Safeco for a set number of years to qualify, and Safeco accident forgiveness is not applicable in California.

How can you file a claim with Safeco?

You can file a car insurance claim online through your Safeco account or the Safeco Mobile app. You can also call Safeco at 1-800-332-3226 to file a claim. You will need all the relevant details of the car accident in order to file a claim at Safeco, such as:

  • When, where, and how the car accident happened.
  • Contact information of any witnesses.
  • Contact information and car insurance information of any involved parties.
  • Police report if police were called to the accident scene and a police report was filed.
  • Photos of the damages to your car, damages to others’ vehicles, and damages to any property.

Safeco will guide you through what it needs, but it is best to collect as much information as possible beforehand so that the process goes smoothly. After you collect all of the relevant information, then you can file your claim through Safeco.

Is Safeco a good car insurance company?

Safeco has a good rating from the BBB and A.M. Best, as well as economical car insurance rates and a good array of car insurance coverages. However, potential customers of Safeco should be aware that Safeco scored below the industry average on customer satisfaction studies and had a higher-than-average ratio of complaints with the NAIC.

Where does Safeco sell car insurance?

Safeco sells car insurance in all 50 states. However, Safeco’s car insurance coverage options and discount options may not be available in every state. You will have to talk to a local independent agent to see what Safeco offers for your state.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Manola

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeffrey Manola is an experienced insurance agent who founded TopQuoteLifeInsurance.com and NoMedicalExamQuotes.com. His mission when creating these sites was to provide online consumers searching for insurance with the most affordable rates available. Not only does he strive to provide consumers with the best prices for insurance coverage, but he also wants those on the market for insurance to ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Safeco Insurance

3.94 (1,164 reviews)
1
December 31, 2023

Tracey_

Bad Company run

This company is scammers and lies they took collision and collateral off my vehicle without my knowledge
1
October 30, 2023

06Maraya09_

Wouldn't use them

I have been a customer of safeco/ liberty mutual for many many years. I am appalled at the treatment I am receiving from them, they are trying to screw me over. Already dealing with being in an accident, and then your car being a total loss is hard enough. But for them to then try and screw me over with giving me way less than they should is sickening. When I pay for very good insurance, I'm not on the cheapest policy. They aren't not even giving...
I have been a customer of safeco/ liberty mutual for many many years. I am appalled at the treatment I am receiving from them, they are trying to screw me over. Already dealing with being in an accident, and then your car being a total loss is hard enough. But for them to then try and screw me over with giving me way less than they should is sickening. When I pay for very good insurance, I'm not on the cheapest policy. They aren't not even giving me enough to repurchase the same vehicle. This is not because I'm top heavy on my loan either. They're automated system hangs up on you. It is impossible to get ahold of somebody or to get somebody to call you back. I request to speak with the manager multiple times with no call back. They take forever to respond. Im talking about thousands of dollars too. I even set in comps to prove the vehicles, price and value. And they didn't accept or put in any of mine butt one. They made up excuses why they couldn't use them. I am canceling my insurance with them as soon as this is all wrapped up.
1
October 11, 2023

Dr_Polly_Heil-Mealey

Insurance claim denied

Love my insurance agent, but Safeco is denying my water claim on my RV that I have had insured with them for the last 5 years. An agent would not even come and look at the damage. I am beyond disappointed and believe that I have wasted money with this company
1
October 11, 2023

Dr_Polly_Heil-Mealey

They would not send an adjuster, just denied the claim.

So very dissappointed in this company. We have all of our vehicles insured with them, Our RV suffered water damage in the rain last week, and they are not covering trhe damage. They won't even send out an adjuster to look at the damage. Just denied the claim. I expect more from this company
1
September 23, 2023

Upset_customer_

Credit

They placed me in the credit bureau. The agent never explained this while going over the policy. Angry customers
1
August 21, 2023

Edona_

Roadside assistance /towing

Last night at 8pm my car battery died while driving on a major highway in Brooklyn. I called roadside assistance which took 4 plus hours to arrive. Upon arrival the guy was throwing my stuff all over the floor and rushing to find where the battery was located only to not help me and tell me to call a tow. I spent the next few hours on the phone with safeco back and forth begging for a tow as I was still stranded hours later. They lied to me every...
Last night at 8pm my car battery died while driving on a major highway in Brooklyn. I called roadside assistance which took 4 plus hours to arrive. Upon arrival the guy was throwing my stuff all over the floor and rushing to find where the battery was located only to not help me and tell me to call a tow. I spent the next few hours on the phone with safeco back and forth begging for a tow as I was still stranded hours later. They lied to me every hour that a row was coming and never did. Around 4am they called me and said sorry there are no trucks that can help u please call around 7-9am. I had to sleep in my car in the middle of a highway in nyc. I was left stranded for 14 hours before a tow truck came at 10am the following day. I called customer service asking to atleast be reimbursed for the tow truck which is the least they can do after all they put me through and they said no. I have had Allstate insurance and geico prior and was never treated like this or left out on the street for that many hours.
1
August 21, 2023

safecosuxballs

Safeco is Pathetic, strongly suggest using someone else

DO NOT get a policy with them - they cancel policies with no warning. This is a fraudulent company that will sell you a policy and cancel for no apparent reason a few months after selling it to you (just to get your money while they can and then turning around and cancelling the policy in hopes you want to renew at a higher price). They are manipulative in their sales approach and are solely interested in extracting as much money as they possib...
DO NOT get a policy with them - they cancel policies with no warning. This is a fraudulent company that will sell you a policy and cancel for no apparent reason a few months after selling it to you (just to get your money while they can and then turning around and cancelling the policy in hopes you want to renew at a higher price). They are manipulative in their sales approach and are solely interested in extracting as much money as they possibly can from their customers before cancelling their policy (with little warning, just 1 letter and no email communication whatsoever). Then, they make you call during inconvenient business hours to reach their "special team" who you never actually get to speak to. I strongly suggest looking elsewhere for insurance as they will manipulate you, lie to you and do everything in their power to steal as much money from you as possible.
1
July 12, 2023

Doug_O

POOR CLAIMS SERVICE/SLOW/LACK OF GOOD JUDGEMENT

The claims process is poor, and I believe creates larger claim liabilities due to how the process is handled and the general lack of good customer service. The Insurance company like many others are trying to create their own repair estimates and then forcing the service providers to capitulate and agree to a price less than the true repair cost will be. This process is done with the absence of any input or good communication with the insured...
The claims process is poor, and I believe creates larger claim liabilities due to how the process is handled and the general lack of good customer service. The Insurance company like many others are trying to create their own repair estimates and then forcing the service providers to capitulate and agree to a price less than the true repair cost will be. This process is done with the absence of any input or good communication with the insured. I had an accident that was not my fault. The other party admitted it was their fault. I wasn’t physically hurt but my airbags went off and I was tossed and shaken. I had no preference on whether the vehicle was totaled or repaired. The company started off wanting multiple pictures which I immediately provided. They then proceeded to ask me via email and texts twice a day for the next few days. I tried contacting them to ask if they needed additional information and got no response. After I got the nonsensical requests stopped, I took my vehicle to a repair shop that was certified for my vehicles make. After making an estimate, the shop thought the vehicle was likely a total loss. They sent the estimate to Safeco. The Safeco claims representative disallowed about 40% of the repairs and replaced all OEM parts with aftermarket noncertified parts. The vehicle was then deemed repairable. There was probably a week to 10 days of back and forth between the repair shop and Safeco negotiating the cheapest price to repair my vehicle. This made the repair take longer than it needed to and wasted my time creating problems that I worried about. I complained to which the senior representative said that “this is the way all the insurance companies handle claims”. They made it obvious that they did not care what I thought, and they were just going to do whatever they were going to do. When the repair was completed the final bill for repairs was at or over the threshold for totaling the vehicle. They spent an exorbitant amount of time just to have the claim come out to the same amount that it would have cost to total the vehicle. The process maximized wasting my time, extending the time it took to repair my vehicle and creating worry and concern on my part. I truly believe that I have PST from the claims process and poor customer service. In the past I’ve received communication from Insurance companies to find out if I’m happy with the repair and the claim result. I’ve not received any evaluation from the company to date. I believe that they only send evaluations to people who they know will give them a good review. That way they can control their ratings. The claims process is awful. I give the Safeco Claims process an IR as in "improvement required".
4
April 7, 2023

unhappy_customer_86

Good company to work with

had some collision issue but safeco helped and problem resolved in a timely manner. thank you all. Although car shop was not cooperating , insurance made it work out .
1
March 16, 2023

Tanderson3

Unhappy Customer of 5 years

I am very unhappy with my recent experience from Safeco. I worked with [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] & Laushonda [REDACTED NAME] who were both unresponsive and rude. I was called the wrong name multiple times and had to reach out to them for updates. I left 3 VM with no call backs & emails unanswered. I have also requested a sup call and they also have not called me back. On one phone I was advised the short comings of the auto body shop is not...
I am very unhappy with my recent experience from Safeco. I worked with [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] & Laushonda [REDACTED NAME] who were both unresponsive and rude. I was called the wrong name multiple times and had to reach out to them for updates. I left 3 VM with no call backs & emails unanswered. I have also requested a sup call and they also have not called me back. On one phone I was advised the short comings of the auto body shop is not there issue…..as someone who was just in a hit and run accident that was very inconsiderate as this isn’t a issue I wanted either. I have been working on this insurance claim since Feb 4 and still do not have my car and trying to have someone contact me.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.carinsurancecomparison.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption