What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Connecticut?

Driving without insurance in Connecticut will result in a $1000 fine and a license suspension. A second offense driving without insurance in Connecticut will result in a 6-month suspension.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses...

Full Bio →

Reviewed byJoel Ohman
Founder, CFP®https://res.cloudinary.com/quotellc/image/upload/insurance-site-images/ciccom-live/41b5e36b-joel-ohman.jpg

UPDATED: Jun 3, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...
  • Auto insurance is required in Connecticut. As long as you own a car that must be registered, you must have insurance
  • Since the state has a tort insurance law, you must carry third-party liability coverage to pay when you’re at-fault in a crash
  • You can carry no less than 20/40/10 in liability coverage when you’re purchasing coverage in the state
  • Approximately 8 percent of drivers throughout the small state of Connecticut are uninsured at a given time
  • You can be fined $100 to $1000 for driving without insurance and you may have your license and registration suspended

Connecticut is rich in history, and that’s one of the reasons why it’s known as the Constitution State.

As home to history’s very first written constitution of American colonies, dating back to 1639, the state has played a major part in setting up a unified government complete with laws and statutes.

While the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution are two historical documents that apply to everyone, there are other laws enacted in a state that pertain solely to state residents.

This is especially true when talking about auto insurance because it has been regulated by state legislatures after the McCarran-Ferguson Act was adopted in 1945.

All vehicle owners must comply with mandatory auto insurance laws as they are written in Connecticut.

If you own a car and you have license plates that were issued by the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, you can be fined if you don’t maintain mandatory coverage. Check out this data sheet with state-specific penalties.

Letting your coverage cancel at any time while your plates are valid can cause turmoil. It’s best to pay your premiums all at once to keep coverage active for the entire term.

Use our FREE tool to find auto insurance rates in your area. If you don’t do this and you miss a payment, here are some of the penalties that you might face:

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance

AdobeStock_56912640-1600x1600

State law says that you must maintain at least liability and uninsured motorist coverage while you’re living in the state.

If you choose to purchase a private passenger vehicle that must be registered to be driven on public roads, there’s no avoiding the compulsory insurance law in the Nutmeg State.

You could drive your car one day a month or every day of the year, the minimum auto insurance requirements remain the same. Liability coverage is required to protect the public.

Since Connecticut operates under tort law, where anyone who is responsible for harming another must pay for the damages, you’re required to maintain third-party coverage.

If you’re pulled over and you don’t have active coverage, here are the penalties asset for the traffic violation:

First Offense

  • A fine of between $100 and $1000 if you are convicted of driving without insurance
  • Suspension of your registration for one month
  • Suspension of your license for one month
  • Requirement to pay a $175 reinstatement fee to get your license back

Second Offense

  • A fine of between $100 and $1000 if you are convicted of driving without insurance again after a previous conviction
  • Suspension of your registration for six months
  • Suspension of your license for six months
  • Requirement to pay a $175 reinstatement fee to get your license and registration back

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What proof of insurance is accepted in Connecticut?

You can be cited for driving without insurance in The Constitution State, but you can also be cited for failing to carry proof that you’re actually insured. Your auto insurance ID card must be carried in your vehicle at all times.

Failing to comply with the law under section 38a-364 can result in a fine of $117.

You are required to carry a Connecticut Vehicle Insurance Card that meets the state’s strict requirements. Traditionally, you must have a physical card in the car. You may also provide proof of coverage digitally if you don’t have the paper card.

The following information must be found on the permanent insurance card:

  • Name of the insurer
  • Name of the policy owner and registered owner of the vehicle
  • Name of the finance company
  • Policy number
  • Policy period
  • Vehicle year, make, model, and VIN

How to Get Auto Insurance in Connecticut

You must carry liability insurance as soon as you buy a car in Connecticut. This coverage will pay for damages to property owned by others and medical treatment to others.

It does not pay to help you recover from at-fault accidents.

Here are the limits required if you live in Connecticut:

  • $20,000 per person in Bodily Injury
  • $40,000 per accident in Bodily Injury
  • $10,000 per accident in Property Damage
  • $20,000/$40,000 in Uninsured Motorist Protection

Carrying your auto insurance ID card might be required in Connecticut, but at the end of the day, the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles can see if you have coverage.

There are mandatory reporting laws in place that say that all insurers licensed by the Connecticut Division of Insurance must report records of uninsured drivers to the state immediately.

If you let your insurance lapse and you have Connecticut plates you’ll face the penalties that you see above. Being uninsured is expensive. 

If you want to save money and get coverage in the process, use an online rate comparison tool. You can compare premiums from 4 to 6 different companies and get the best deal in the process.

Save time and save money and use the Internet to your advantage. Find FREE car insurance quotes in your area today!

References:

  1. http://www.ctvisit.com/
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McCarran%E2%80%93Ferguson_Act
  3. https://www.statefarm.com/insurance/auto/coverage-options/liability-coverage
  4. https://www.thebalance.com/proof-of-insurance-101-527410
  5. http://www.ct.gov/cid/site/default.asp

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption