What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Indiana?

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

Here's what you need to know...
  • Indiana requires that all drivers have a minimum amount of insurance coverage
  • Failure to maintain at least the minimum amount of insurance can result in a lapse
  • Lapses in insurance coverage can result in the suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration and higher insurance premiums
  • A comparison tool can help you find an affordable state minimum insurance policy for Indiana

The state of Indiana requires all drivers have proof of insurance or proof of financial responsibility in order to drive legally.

The Indiana BMV is required to verify your insurance status any time you are involved in a car accident, commit a moving violation that results in either a misdemeanor or a felony and receiving a points violation after being suspended for not providing proof of financial responsibility.

Furthermore, not having valid car insurance creates a lapse in your coverage. A car insurance lapse occurs any time you do not have a valid insurance policy on your car.

Not having a valid auto insurance policy can result in your being classified as a high-risk driver, getting your license suspended and much higher car insurance premiums in the future. You may even have your car impounded.

Use our FREE quote tool to find insurance quotes to make sure you don’t get caught driving without car insurance!

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

AdobeStock_56912640-1600x1600

Indiana requires that all drivers have a minimum amount of insurance, including at least $25,000 in bodily injury for one individual, $50,000 for the injury or death of more than one individual and $25,000 in property damage.

Any time you do not have the minimum insurance requirements, you are driving without insurance and could be subjected to serious fines and penalties, according to Title 9, Article 25 regarding car insurance financial responsibility.

It is important to note that these amounts are for liability insurance, and they only cover the other driver, passengers, and property.

These amounts do not pay for the at-fault driver’s medical bills or property damage.

If you need additional coverage amounts, you can always use a comparison tool to quickly find a policy that includes higher limits and comprehensive and collision coverage.

– First Offense

  • Suspension of driver’s license and/or vehicle registration for 90 to 365 days
  • Pay applicable fines and fees to reinstate registration and driver’s license
  • Attain SR-22 car insurance policy to have driving privileges and/or registration reactivated and hold SR-22 for a minimum of three years.

– Second Offense

  • Drivers license and/or registration suspension for at least 12 months
  • Pay any fines and fees to the BMV for reinstatement of driving privileges and car registration
  • Attain and hold SR-22 car insurance policy for a minimum of three years

– Third Offense

  • Driver’s license suspension for a minimum of 12 months
  • Pay any fines and/or fees to reinstate driver’s license and registration
  • Attain and hold SR-22 car insurance policy for a minimum of five years

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What proof of insurance is required in Indiana?

Under certain conditions within the state of Indiana, you are required to provide proof of insurance to the BMV.

If the BMV requires proof of financial responsibility, they are required to send you a letter within 45 days of receiving the accident report, as stated in IC 9-25-5-2.

Once you receive the letter, note the date. You will have 40 days to have your insurer submit the CoC to the BMV:

  • Whenever you are in a car accident
  • For any points-applicable moving violation within 12 months of receiving two previous moving violations
  • Receiving a moving violation that results in points on your license after previously having your license suspended for not providing proof of insurance

The easiest way to provide proof of insurance is to show the police officer your insurance card at the scene of the accident or traffic violation.

However, there may still be instances in which you receive a letter from the Indiana BVM that requests official proof of your auto insurance status.

Once you receive the letter, you should contact your insurance agent or insurance carrier and explain that you need them to send a Certificate of Compliance (CoC) to the Indiana BMV, which requires information stating that the driver had a valid insurance policy at the time of the accident or incident.

Your insurance carrier must submit the CoC through the Indiana BMV Electronic Insurance Forms Submissions (EIFS) system.

How to Get Insurance in Indiana

In Indiana, all drivers must have a minimum of 25/50/25 in liability insurance.

This policy pays up to $25,000 in injuries or for the death of the other driver and/or one passenger. It pays up to $50,000 for the injury or death of multiple individuals and it pays up to $25,000 in property damage.

To locate an affordable state minimum insurance policy, you can use a comparison tool to quickly locate and research all the various policies in Indiana.

You can even find additional insurance coverage, including collision and comprehensive. Use our FREE quote tool to compare insurance companies in your area!

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]