What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Arkansas?
The penalty for driving without insurance in Arkansas is multi-fold. You may be fined between $50-$250, your license and registration may be suspended, and your car may be impounded until you can show proof of coverage.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jan 7, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- Arkansas requires its drivers to have a minimum level of liability auto insurance at all times
- Arkansas drivers should actively take steps to prevent a lapse in coverage
- Arkansas checks its vehicle registration records against an insurance database
- The state’s minimum requirements for insurance may not be sufficient to pay for all of your expenses in the event of an accident, a theft, or another similar type of event
Car insurance in Arkansas must legally be carried by all drivers, and this is the same in most states. The penalties for driving without insurance could end up costing you a lot of money.
Some drivers may not intentionally drive without the required coverage. For example, you may simply forget to pay your premium payment on time, and your insurance provider may cancel your coverage.
Remember that even an unintentional lapse in coverage can result in your violation of the Arkansas legal requirement for liability car insurance.
There is no acceptable reason why any motorist should be on the road without the proper level of auto insurance in place in this state. You may be able to reduce the chance of having a lapse in your auto coverage by taking a few steps:
- Pay your premium amount in full
- Set up automated payments
- Ensure that your insurance provider has your most recent contact information
- Confirm that your policy will automatically renew on the expiration date
Make sure you have the coverage you need at the best rate. Enter your ZIP code into our quote comparison tool above to find the coverage that’s right for you!
Arkansas Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
In many states, there are numerous penalties that drivers may face for driving without the minimum amount of insurance required by law. In Arkansas, the state requires drivers to purchase at least:
- $15,000 per person or $30,000 per incident for bodily injury liability
- $10,000 per incident for property damage liability
Note that this required amount of auto insurance coverage does not pay for any of your own expenses related to an accident or another type of damaging event.
Even if this coverage is not required, it may provide true financial benefits that you want to take advantage of.
You may be wondering what happens if you get pulled over without insurance in Arkansas. The penalties for driving without insurance in Arkansas become increasingly severe for each additional offense you are convicted of.
If you are convicted of a first offense in Arkansas, you may be fined between $50 and $250. You may also have your license plates suspended, your registration suspended, or your vehicle impounded until you provide proof of coverage.
Be aware that you will also need to pay a reinstatement fee.
For drivers who are convicted of a second offense in Arkansas, you may be fined between $250 and $500. In addition, you may also have your vehicle registration or license plates suspended, or your vehicle may be impounded until you provide proof of coverage.
With this offense, you will also need to pay a reinstatement fee as well.
As you can see, Arkansas takes its auto insurance requirements seriously. You should ensure that they have the proper coverage in place today, and you may even consider shopping around to find a better rate on the car insurance coverage that you need.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
What proof of insurance is accepted in Arkansas?
The most common time when you will be required to physically show proof of insurance is when you are pulled over by law enforcement for a moving violation or when you are involved in an accident.
The most common type of proof of insurance that you will find in Arkansas is a standard insurance card from your provider.
Remember to keep updated insurance cards in your possession at all times as this is also part of the legal insurance requirements in this state.
The Department of Finance and Administration in Arkansas uses an electronic database to scan for registered vehicles that are not properly insured.
Any lapse in your coverage may be noticed by state authorities very quickly even if you are not involved in an accident or pulled over for a moving violation.
Remember that the database will not be reviewed at the time you are pulled over or if you are in an accident. You must have proof of coverage in your possession at that time, or you will be cited for failure to provide proof of auto insurance coverage.
How to Get Car Insurance in Arkansas
Because of how important it is to have at least the minimum amount of car insurance at all times while driving in Arkansas, you should take time today to review your coverage and ensure that it meets the following:
- legal requirements
- your lender’s insurance requirements
- your personal needs
Compare at least three or four different quotes for coverage, and you can most quickly and easily request these quotes when you shop online for auto insurance in Arkansas.
Get started comparing quotes for free right here by entering your ZIP code below!