Time Frame for Points on Your Driver’s License

The time frame for license points depends on the offense committed, ranging from two years to life. Having any points at all could increase your car insurance rates by 41%.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State University as well as technical and professional communication at East Carolina University. Zaneta has prepared technical p...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP®

UPDATED: Apr 20, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...

  • Most points will come off your license within two years
  • Major offenses, such as vehicular homicide and DUI may stay on your record for life
  • Sometimes you can take a driving course to remove points from your license
  • If that wasn’t bad enough, these offenses will also hike up your car insurance premiums

The amount of time that point stay on your license will be entirely determined by the type of traffic tickets or driving offense committed, as well as the state in which it occurred. Generally, most points will fall off of your license within one or two years, but this also varies from state to state.

Serious driving offenses such as operating a vehicle while under the influence, evading a police officer, and driving 20 miles per hour or more in excess of the posted speed limit can cause your license to be instantly suspended.

In the U.S., each state has a point system that determines when fines and other punishments can be accessed.

For example, in the state of Delaware, drivers who receive 12 or more points within a year must attend driving behavioral modification courses. Any driver that refuses to attend will have his or her license revoked for a minimum of two months.

Find out how much you can save on your car insurance rates by submitting your ZIP code above!

How do I find my state’s driving point system?

The best resource for motorists who want to find out about their state’s driving point system is their DMV. If you are not able to go in person, you can also call or visit your state’s Department of Motor Vehicle website.

There, you will find the maximum number of points that can be received before the DMV takes action. This can include having a warrant issued for your arrest.

You will need to go to the DMV if you want to see how many points you currently have on your license. Requesting a driving abstract might take a couple of days depending on where you live. You can also ask your insurance agent to review your most current driving record.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What types of driving offenses can cause a driver to receive points?

Not all states assign points for driving offenses. In California, the following traffic infractions will result in points on your license:

It is important to keep track of your points and learn what traffic violations or offenses can cause suspensions of your driving privileges in your state. You should definitely know the traffic laws of the state where you live to practice safe driving.

Some states will notify drivers by letter if they are in danger of license suspension. This gives motorists the opportunity to take a defensive driving program or stop driving their vehicles for a period of time until some of the points fall off their licenses.

How do points impact car insurance rates?

Ideally, car insurance providers want their customers to have no points on their licenses. Because your insurance company will ask for permission to look at your driving record, you should know that your past traffic citations will be taken into account.

If you receive too many points, your insurance increases substantially. Motorists that have their licenses suspended can also have their car insurance policies canceled without warning.

When a driver has several points that are due to fall off their license right before it is renewal time, there can be a reduction in rates. The more points that fall off your license, the lower your rates will be.

Although you can move to a new state and have a clean driving record, the points that were assigned to you will still be considered by your insurer.

If your license has been suspended, you will not be able to move to a different state and lawfully apply for a new one.

How do I determine when points will fall off my license?

Most states have a point system that automatically removes points after a predetermined amount of time. However, this does not apply when a prosecutable crime has occurred.

Vehicular manslaughter and drunk driving charges can remain on your driving record for life. You should consult with an attorney if you want to find out how to have your record expunged, if possible.

Because points can fall off your license anywhere from one to four years after the offense occurred, you will need to keep a recent copy of your driving abstract on hand.

Go to your local DMV or MVA and request updated records as often as possible.

This will give you a good idea of when you can expect your license to be free of all points. It is also imperative that you avoid accumulating new points.

Type in your ZIP code below to compare car insurance rates online!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by State