Florida Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

Florida penalties for driving without insurance include license suspension for up to 3 years. FL also requires drivers to have $10,000 in personal injury protection and property damage liability.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State University as well as technical and professional communication at East Carolina University. Zaneta has prepared technical p...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP®

UPDATED: Jan 20, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...

  • Driving without insurance incurs hefty penalties
  • It’s possible your lender can force an insurance policy on you
  • Driving without insurance means automatic license and registration suspension
  • The penalties for driving without insurance in Florida are high

Car insurance is one of the most valuable things consumers pay for, and it’s even required in many states.

Some people live with the belief they needn’t pay for insurance for one reason or another, but it’s never a wise decision to drive without an insurance policy that covers at least the basics.

If you drive a vehicle you don’t own outright, your lender won’t permit you to drive without insurance. In fact, under Florida law, there are numerous penalties aimed at drivers who decide to get on the road without insurance.

Find car insurance quotes with our FREE quote tool so you don’t get caught driving without insurance!

Florida Insurance Laws

Florida law requires all drivers to carry at least $10,000 in both personal injury protection insurance and property damage liability.

Personal injury protection is commonly referred to as PIP, and property damage liability is often referred to as PDL if that helps you recognize the basic types of coverage required.

Any Florida driver found driving without at least these two types of coverage are going to face severe penalties.

Even though Florida law requires at least these two types of coverage, this is not the minimum requirement for all drivers. The $10,000 PIP and $10,000 PDL insurance requirements are the minimum requirements for drivers who own their vehicles outright.

If you own a vehicle you financed through your bank or leased, you are required to carry additional insurance. It does depend on the lender and the insurance company you choose to go with when you purchase a policy.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Florida Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

Whether you are pulled over and asked to show your insurance card or involved in an accident and asked to show it, you will be penalized if you cannot provide insurance in Florida.

Florida laws allow for certain considerations when it comes to driving without insurance.

The law breaks down the penalties based on the number of times you’ve been in trouble for driving without insurance.

Penalties for First Offenses

If you’re a Florida driver caught driving without insurance for the first time, you’re facing an expensive penalty. Your license and registration are both suspended for as many as three years.

If you can prove you purchased insurance in that time, you may pay a $150 reinstatement fee to have both your license and registration reinstated.

Penalties for Second Offenses

If you are caught driving without insurance a second time in Florida, the penalties are far more expensive. You face the same three-year suspension of your license and registration.

If you proved insurance and then cancel it or allow it to lapse within three years of your first offense, you are required to pay $250 to reinstate both.

It’s important you shop around for the best and most affordable insurance policy for your vehicle so you’re not forced to cancel or allow the policy to lapse.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Penalties for Third and Subsequent Offenses

Just like if you’re caught driving without insurance the first two times, you’re going to have your license and registration automatically suspended for up to three years.

You can pay a reinstatement fee of $500 along with providing proof of insurance to change this situation.

The only time you’re not required to pay a reinstatement fee is if you can prove you purchased an insurance policy before the date of your license suspension takes effect.

If you can purchase an insurance policy before this date, you can avoid paying additional fees. If you begin shopping around for insurance policies immediately, you might find you have the time to do this and not pay any additional fees.

Who needs insurance?

Everyone in Florida is required to have insurance. There is no driver exempt from this law. Some believe owning their vehicle outright exempts them from insurance, but this is not the truth.

If you own your vehicle outright, you must have the minimum PIP and PDL insurance. If you lease or have a car note, you must have even more insurance.

In addition to the penalties the state issues for driving without insurance, the lender who owns your car can force insurance onto your loan. The lender doesn’t care if the policy they issue is affordable.

Most people who drive without insurance in Florida do so because it’s too expensive. It’s not a unique problem, which is why it’s imperative to learn how to find affordable car insurance.

Florida drivers have options, and each company offers unique driving discounts to those who want to drive legally.

Finding affordable insurance requires knowing what to look for and how to get it.

One way to find affordable insurance is to consider your age and work situation. If you live close to work or you are retired, many companies offer a discount to drivers like yourself.

If you drive a newer car with more safety features, you also receive a discount.

If you live in a safe neighborhood with a low crime rate, most companies are willing to offer a discount for you. Know what discounts are available, and look for companies that offer those.

Make Insurance More Affordable by Always Having It

The best way to ensure your insurance is always affordable is to purchase a policy. It’s far less expensive to have it than it is to find yourself in a situation where you’re forced to purchase a policy you cannot afford.

Get insurance, stay safe, and save money. Getting into an accident without insurance means you’re out thousands of dollars in repairs, medical bills, and maybe even more. Don’t let that happen.

Find car insurance quotes with our FREE quote tool so you don’t get caught driving without insurance!

References:

  1. https://www.naic.org/state_web_map.htm
  2. https://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/frfaqgen.html
  3. https://www.allstate.com/tools-and-resources/car-insurance/personal-injury-protection-insurance.aspx
  4. https://www.farmers.com/auto/coverage/
  5. https://www.thebalance.com/florida-no-fault-car-insurance-laws-527447

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by State