What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Maryland?

The fine for driving without car insurance in Maryland is $1,000 or $2,000 for a second offense. You may face up to two years in jail for driving without car insurance in Maryland.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

A former insurance producer, Laura understands that education is key when it comes to buying insurance. She has happily dedicated many hours to helping her clients understand how the insurance marketplace works so they can find the best car, home, and life insurance products for their needs.

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP®

UPDATED: Jan 22, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...

  • Maryland drivers face up to two years in prison for driving without insurance
  • Points are added to your license if you are caught without insurance
  • You needn’t be involved in an accident or even pulled over to get caught driving without car insurance in Maryland

Insurance is not something drivers are permitted to go without in Maryland.

State insurance laws are designed to protect drivers from the financial downfall in case of an accident or natural disaster, and no one is permitted to cancel their policy and drive without insurance even if their car has no loan.

It’s not uncommon for many drivers to incorrectly believe they can cancel their insurance policy once they pay off their car. Insurance is required on any vehicle that’s financed, and this includes leases. These vehicles must have full coverage.

Once a car is paid off, drivers may change their policies to remove the full coverage aspect, but they are not permitted to forgo insurance altogether.

If Maryland drivers feel insurance is too expensive to pay for, you should understand how much more expensive it is to go without insurance.

Aside from the astronomical cost of paying out-of-pocket for any car accidents, people without insurance are subject to the following:

  • Fines
  • Forced insurance policies
  • Serious penalties as detailed by the State of Maryland

It’s much more cost-effective to compare rates with various companies and choose the best policy now than to drive without insurance and get caught and/or get into an accident.

Compare car insurance rates by entering your ZIP code into our FREE rate tool above!

What are the penalties for driving without insurance in Maryland?


Maryland drivers face major financial problems driving without insurance. If you are pulled over or involved in an accident and cannot prove you have an insurance policy, you’re paying fines, losing your license, and potentially going to jail.

Penalties are separated into first offenses and subsequent offenses in Maryland.

First-time offenders caught driving without a valid insurance policy in Maryland face a fine of $1,000. There are administrative fees tacked on to this fine, too.

If you choose to prolong the process, you pay an automatic $150 fee as well as seven dollars per day for every additional day. You also receive five points on your license, and you face up to one year in jail.

If you are caught a subsequent time driving without insurance in Maryland, you pay a fine of $2,000. The administrative fees are the same.

Since you’ve already been in trouble for this before and did not learn your lesson, the court will take both your license and your registration from you. This cannot be reinstated until you prove you have insurance.

You also get five points on your license, and you face two years in a local jail.

Not all drivers are caught in an accident or because they’re pulled over for an unrelated charge. The State of Maryland keeps close tabs on insurance policies, and they’re notified by agencies when drivers allow their policies to lapse.

If you are someone who allows this to happen, you will receive a notice from the state. If you let your policy lapse because you have a new policy with a new company, you need to prove this to avoid fines.

If you cannot prove you have a new policy with a new company, you face fines up to $2,500 as well as the cost of administrative fees each day you do not pay for an insurance policy.

This is expensive, but it’s nowhere near as expensive as it is if you’re involved in an accident and you have no insurance to cover the following:

  • Medical bills
  • Lost wages
  • Property damage

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What are the insurance requirements for all drivers in Maryland?

All Maryland drivers must carry liability insurance. This is broken down into three categories. The first is $30,000 in bodily injury coverage per person and $60,000 per accident. You must also have $15,000 in property damage insurance.

It’s a misdemeanor crime in Maryland to drive without insurance, and it can affect the overall cost of insurance if you choose to buy a policy after getting in trouble.

If you get in trouble for driving without insurance in Maryland, you’ll never find an affordable policy.

With this many points on your license, insurance companies consider you an immediate risk.

They automatically charge you higher rates and more money every month. It’s so important to always carry at least the minimum car insurance requirements so you’re not subject to fines or to be labeled a risky driver.

If you want to find more affordable rates, you must check your credit, ask for discounts, and maintain a clean driving record. It’s too late if you’re already in trouble for driving without insurance.

Your driver record is no longer clear, and insurance companies will not offer you the lowest rates. This does not mean you can’t find a more affordable policy with one company than with another, so looking around is always advised.

Avoiding Negative Driving Reports in Maryland


You can avoid paying high rates for insurance if you drive carefully. Never allow your insurance to lapse, never forget to drive safely, and always require everyone in your car to wear their seatbelt when you are on the road.

Insurance is always more affordable to buy and pay for monthly than to purchase following fines and a newly poor driving record in Maryland.

Compare car insurance rates to be sure you’re not overpaying for the coverage you need. Enter your ZIP code below to get quotes today.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption