What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Nebraska?
Nebraska penalties for driving without insurance include suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration. Drivers must pay a $50 reinstatement fee to restore driving and registration privileges.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jan 21, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- Drivers in Nebraska must carry auto insurance or post a bond
- Purchasing a reliable auto insurance policy is very easy and reasonable rates are often accessible
- Failure to carry car insurance in Nebraska leads to the suspension of both a license and registration
Both I-76 and I-80 cut through the state of Nebraska. Traveling on these highways allows for getting to a destination rather quickly. The various exits lead to roads of various sizes allowing residents to visit any number of beautiful locales in the Cornhusker State.
No matter where you choose to travel be a defensive and safe driver. Accidents happen on the roads of Nebraska with frequency. Numerous cities in Nebraska experience dangerous accidents.
Reading about these accidents drives home the all-important point that commuters benefit from buying a top auto insurance policy.
The state of Nebraska requires vehicle operators either take out an auto insurance policy or post a surety or property bond to drive. Most drivers likely find it much easier to pay for an insurance policy than deal with the high costs of posting bonds.
Drivers do run into problems when they inadvertently allow their insurance to lapse. Policies must be active in order to put forth all the coverage protections listed in the contract.
A valid policy may cover all legal expenses and provide a settlement when your negligence causes an accident.
Be sure to pay all premiums on time in order to prevent a lapse in coverage. You need solid coverage in place to both comply with the law and to protect yourself financially.
Use our FREE quote tool to find insurance rates in your area today!
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The state of Nebraska does not want drivers without insurance on its roads. Even though buying and keeping a solid auto insurance policy active would be in the best interests of all drivers, some do take to the roads without a policy.
If pulled over by a police officer, someone unable to show proof of insurance faces the following penalties:
Failure to present proof of auto insurance leads to the suspension of both a driver’s license and vehicle registration. When the driver does present proof, he must pay a $50 reinstatement fee to restore both driving and registration privileges.
In addition, the insurance company must send the Department of Motor Vehicles a copy of an SR-22 form. The SR-22 form reflects active proof of insurance.
The document must be filed with the DMV for three years. This way, if another lapse occurs, the DMV learns of the situation quickly.
A second offense for driving without proof of insurance leads to being levied with the same penalties as a first-time offense. Both the offender’s driver’s license and registration are suspended.
$50 fees once again must be paid to cover the reinstatement of both the license and registration. The insurance company must file the SR-22 for three consecutive years.
Nebraska authorities point out that citations for failure to provide proof of insurance are issued to the owner of the car.
Drivers who do not own the vehicle may need to take a different approach in court when issued a “No Proof of Insurance” citation. Those unsure of how to address any type of citation should consult with an attorney who specializes in traffic law.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
What proof of insurance is accepted in Nebraska?
Insurance companies send customers a Proof of Insurance (POI) document either through the mail, through email, or both. Anyone who does not have a physical POI document should contact their insurance provider right away to have one sent.
Creating an online account on the insurer’s website could make things easier if it is possible to print out the card. Keep more than one copy in your vehicle to further ensure the ease of presenting the document.
Another method exists for those who need to show proof. Electronic proof of insurance is totally valid in Nebraska. Displaying a digital image on a smartphone or other device does suffice for proof of insurance.
Still, it would be prudent to carry a physical card in the vehicle as well. Being thorough helps avoid any unnecessary mishaps.
How to Get Insurance in Nebraska
Acquiring insurance in Nebraska has been made very easy thanks to the ability to review online quotes. Simply fill out the appropriate online application and submit it.
Do this for three or more quotes in order to gain a better perspective of what rates and coverage options are available.
Drivers must be aware all policies must meet Nebraska’s minimum liability coverage requirements:
- $25,000 bodily injury/death per person
- $50,000 bodily injury/death for multiple injuries in a single accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Shop Around for Auto Insurance in Nebraska
As you can see, these minimum coverage amounts do not offer much financial protection.
An insurance policy should not only cover all your assets but even go beyond them. You do not know how much you will be sued for after an accident.
Purchasing $500,000 in liability coverage could save you from financial collapse. Checking out available rates online definitely supports the cause of getting good deals on reliable auto insurance.\
Use our FREE comparison tool to find auto insurance rates in your area today!