Florida Car Insurance Regulations

The minimum Florida car insurance regulations require 10/20/10 for personal injury and property damage coverage. Florida in a no-fault state, so you are always responsible for you own damages.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State University as well as technical and professional communication at East Carolina University. Zaneta has prepared technical p...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP®

UPDATED: Jan 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...

  • Florida is a no-fault insurance state, which means that you are responsible for your own damages in the event of a car accident, even if you weren’t at fault
  • Florida has the highest percentage of uninsured drivers of any state in the U.S. — more than 26 percent
  • Florida requires all vehicles to have insurance coverage; the penalties for not complying are quite severe
  • Even if you live elsewhere, if you’re in Florida for 90 or more days per year, you must purchase Florida coverage

Interested in Florida car insurance regulations? Each state creates its own car insurance laws, and Florida is no different. Florida’s car insurance requirements state that everyone who drives a vehicle, whether they own it or not, must maintain Florida car insurance with specific coverage and limits. Some rules, like Florida car lease insurance requirements, are more specific.

Keep reading for information on Florida auto insurance regulations and what you need to know as a driver in Florida. Before learning more about Florida car insurance laws, get free quotes now by entering your ZIP code in the toolbox at the top of this page.

You’ll Need to Purchase Florida Car Insurance Coverage

View as image

Florida car insurance laws mandate coverage for any individual who drives in Florida for at least 90 days of the year. This insurance must be provided by a company that is authorized to underwrite car insurance in Florida.

The following circumstances all require continued Florida insurance coverage:

  • If you no longer live in the state of Florida but maintain a vehicle with Florida plates and car insurance registration, you are required to continue Florida car insurance coverage on the vehicle. This also applies to individuals who leave their vehicles in Florida and live elsewhere for part of the year.
  • If the vehicle no longer runs, but you plan on keeping it, you must continue coverage on the vehicle.
  • If you do not own a vehicle but are employed as a driver, you must still obtain Florida coverage. The law requires the driver to carry bodily injury liability coverage of $125,000 for each person per accident and $250,000 for each accident. In addition to bodily injury liability, the driver is also required to carry $50,000 in property damage liability.

The state of Florida can mandate that you obtain additional insurance if you’ve been in an excessive number of accidents or have been convicted of certain offenses.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Florida’s No-Fault Law

Florida is considered to be a no-fault car insurance state. This simply means that your insurance company will pay your expenses after an accident, whether it was your fault or not.

This doesn’t mean that you’re completely out of luck, though. If the accident is clearly the fault of the other driver and you’ve had certain qualifying injuries, you have up to four years (in most cases, to file a car accident lawsuit against them in order to recover your expenses for medical treatments, lost wages, etc.

Along with the no-fault approach, Florida also has a pure comparative fault rule pertaining to car accidents. This rule comes into play when there is some shared responsibility and one of the drivers has filed a car accident lawsuit. Depending on the decision of the jury — if the case makes it that far — the total expenses for damages will be split between the two drivers.

This Florida attorney does a nice job summarizing the details related to the comparative fault rule:

All of this could change what you’re thinking about in terms of car insurance. It’s always cheaper to purchase basic car insurance, especially if you have a clean record. Since Florida is a no-fault state, and the minimum coverage might not pay for all your damages, you might get stuck with a large repair bill, or worse, you might have to buy a new car altogether.

Florida Car Insurance Minimums

This might seem complicated at first, but let’s break it down. There are several major types of car insurance, but let’s focus on liability, collision, and comprehensive. In general, liability car insurance is meant to protect you from paying for the medical or repair/replacement bills of the other party if you cause an accident.

This short video provides a nice overview:

You might think that you wouldn’t need liability insurance in Florida since it’s a no-fault state. But Florida does require that you carry at least $10,000 of property damage liability. And, although you’re not required to carry any specific coverage for bodily injury liability, Florida requires that you have personal injury protection of at least $10,000.

Does Florida require collision insurance? No, but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t consider getting it. Generally, collision insurance will cover expenses related to damages caused in an accident with another vehicle, or if you happen to hit an object such as a fence or a gate. Here’s a short video that explains collision insurance:

In terms of comprehensive insurance — again, Florida doesn’t require it. But comprehensive coverage pays for damage to your car caused by unexpected events out of your control, such as theft, vandalism, acts of nature, sinkholes, etc.

Given the number of hurricanes, hail storms, and sinkholes that torment Florida, you’ll want to think twice before passing on some kind of comprehensive coverage. Again, this short video will provide you with a nice overview:

Lastly, let’s talk about personal injury protection, or PIP. PIP covers you against injuries incurred in an incident involving a motor vehicle. This is another important one in Florida — the state requires that you carry at least $10,000 in PIP coverage. This may seem reasonable at first glance, but think about it — when was the last time anyone had medical bills of less than $10,000 when they were in a serious accident?

Let’s take a quick look at some data. The table below shows the average costs for car insurance in Florida for low, medium, and high coverage.

Florida Average Annual Car Insurance Rates by Coverage Level
Coverage TypeAnnual Average Rates
Low$3,895.04
Medium$4,835.40
High$5,310.93
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Although these are averages, you can see that there is quite a difference between them. High-level coverage will cost you about $1,500 a year more, on average, than low-level coverage. Shopping around to find the best policy to suit your needs at the lowest price is always worth the time it takes.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Uninsured Motorist and Underinsured Motorist Coverage Is Not a Requirement in Florida

The State of Florida does not require drivers to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, but it does require that insurance agencies offer this coverage. The Insurance Information Institute outlines several facts about uninsured motorists, indicting reasons why you’ll want to think carefully about including uninsured motorist coverage in your policy:

  • According to insurance experts, Florida has the highest rate of uninsured drivers in the U.S. at 26.7 percent. This means that, on average, one in every four drivers in Florida has no insurance.
  • If you’re in a car accident with an uninsured driver, and the accident is clearly their fault, recovering your expenses from them through a car accident lawsuit could be very difficult. These expenses are typically paid by the insurance company and, without an insurance company to pay them, it could be some time before you see your money, if ever.

Watch this short video where a Florida attorney provides some helpful examples and information on this topic during a Tampa morning news show, Morning Blend:

If you choose against adding uninsured or underinsured coverage to your policy, your insurance company is required to send documentation of your refusal to the Florida Department of Insurance. Since insurance companies are on the hook to cover losses related to accidents involving uninsured or underinsured motorists, it’s not in their best interest to push these policies on you. In this instance, insurance law is actually in your favor.

Florida Car Insurance – Stacked vs. Unstacked

If you decide to purchase uninsured motorist coverage (UM) or underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) in Florida, you can take advantage of “stacking.” What that means is that, if you have more than one car on your policy, you can get that many times as much UM insurance. For example, if you purchase a $100,000 UM/UIM policy and you have two cars on the policy, you can stack the policy so that you get $200,000 in coverage.

If you’d like some additional details on this topic, watch this short video by a Florida attorney:

This is yet another law that can work in your favor to make sure you recoup all of your losses if you’re in an accident. Be sure that you understand these details so you can decide what coverage is right for you and your family.

Insurance Requirements on Leased Vehicles in Florida

Florida car insurance requirements for leased vehicles involve additional coverage.

If you’re leasing a vehicle, you must have bodily injury liability coverage in the amount of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident, and $50,000 of property damage liability.

A second option is to have a combined amount of coverage for bodily injury liability and property damage liability of $500,000.

Do I need gap insurance?

Gap insurance isn’t required in Florida either, but you will at least want to know what it is so you can decide if it’s right for you. If you take out a loan to purchase your car, your lender might require you to purchase gap insurance.

If your car is totaled in an accident, standard car insurance will pay you only for what it’s currently worth. Gap insurance is there to cover the difference between the current worth of your car and what you might still owe on your car loan or lease. Insurance experts recommend buying gap insurance if you:

  • Made less than a 20 percent down payment
  • Financed for 60 months or longer
  • Leased the vehicle (carrying gap insurance is generally required for a lease)
  • Purchased a vehicle that depreciates faster than the average
  • Rolled over negative equity from an old car loan into the new loan

In the event of an accident or theft, you don’t want to end up paying for a vehicle that you can no longer use, or that you no longer have. Gap insurance is one more thing to pay for, but in the long run, it could end up saving you a lot of money.

Rental Car Insurance Is Required

Florida law requires that an individual renting a car acquire rental car insurance. If your policy or credit card company doesn’t offer a rental car insurance rider, you must obtain insurance through the rental car company.

Proof of rental car insurance, whether administered by the rental car company, your credit card company, or your personal insurance carrier, must be accessible at all times.

The reason the policy must be handy is for your protection should you get in an accident or be pulled over by law enforcement.

Non-Owner Car Insurance

Even if you don’t own or lease a car, you’ll want to think seriously about getting car insurance before you borrow a friend’s car. If you crash that car, your friend’s insurance will pay out first; however, if the property damages exceed the limit on your friend’s policy, you could be liable for the balance.

And remember: with Florida’s no-fault approach, we’re talking about the damages to the other vehicle here, not your friend’s car. A non-owner policy could help to protect you from having to pay thousands of dollars to the other driver.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What happens if you fail to maintain car insurance in Florida?

What happens if you have no car insurance in Florida? Should you fail to obtain or maintain car insurance coverage in Florida, your license and registration can be suspended for up to three years. You may also be issued a ticket violation and be summoned to court.

In addition to the fees pertaining to the above, you’ll have to pay to have your license reinstated, which could cost you up to $500.

A temporary or hardship license will not be issued to you if your license was suspended because you failed to maintain Florida coverage. Your license will stay suspended until proof of insurance is provided. Then it can be reinstated.

If you do not wish to insure your vehicle or cannot afford to, the best thing to do is turn in your tag and registration to a Florida tax collector’s office or an office of the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (also known as the Florida DMV).

What happens if I drive without a license in Florida?

Florida takes driving without a license very seriously. If you happen to be stopped and don’t have your license with you, your license is no longer valid, or you’ve had your license suspended or revoked, you can be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor, fined, and may even receive some jail time.

This Florida attorney says that driving without a license is the most common charge that he sees. Listen to what he has to say about the Florida laws surrounding this issue:

Bottom line: don’t drive without a valid driver’s license. Can you get car insurance without a license in Florida? You may need to in order to reinstate your license. With a suspended license in Florida, having no insurance is acceptable.

Out-of-State Coverage

If you’re leaving Florida and moving out of state, you’ll need to obtain car insurance in your new state. The timing for this will differ by state, so be sure to find out how much time you’ll have in your new state before you must register your vehicle and get insurance. You should not cancel your Florida coverage until the new policy has gone into effect.

Florida is very serious about its car insurance regulations. Don’t be caught without car insurance.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions: Florida Car Insurance Regulations

Here are the answers to the questions we hear the most about Florida car insurance.

#1 – What car insurance is required by law in Florida?

If you live in Florida, you’re required to carry at least $10,000 coverage for property damage liability per person or $20,000 per accident, and at least $10,000 for personal injury protection. You might also hear this referred to as the Florida Financial Responsibility Law. You may be required to have additional car insurance in Florida according to Quizlet in some circumstances, such as an SR-22.

#2 – Is it mandatory to have car insurance in Florida?

Florida law requires that you carry at least the minimum required coverage at all times. If you choose to drive without insurance, or you let your policy lapse, you could face fines and other penalties including suspension of your driver’s license.

#3 – How long can you go without insurance before your license is suspended in Florida?

If you go without insurance in Florida, even for just one day, you run the risk of getting caught and being fined. Depending on the number of times this happens, the amount of your fine will increase. If this pattern continues, your license will be suspended. You’ll be required to carry extra insurance coverage if you want to get your license reinstated.

#4 – What are Florida insurance requirements?

Florida requires that all vehicles with a Florida registration must be insured with at least the minimum levels of PIP and PDL insurance at the time of vehicle registration, maintain continuous coverage, purchase the insurance from a carrier licensed to do business in Florida, and maintain Florida coverage regardless of the vehicle’s location.

#5 – Does Florida require liability insurance?

Florida requires that drivers carry a minimum of $10,000 in property liability insurance.

#6 – What is considered full coverage car insurance in Florida?

From a legal perspective, full coverage car insurance implies that the driver has the minimum levels of insurance required. Since Florida has such low minimum required levels, this definition could become an unpleasant surprise if you’re in an accident and are expecting your insurance company to pay for all of the damages and injuries.

#7 – What is the recommended car insurance coverage in Florida?

The amount of coverage you obtain for car insurance in Florida will depend on your individual circumstances and preferences. Of course, you should start with the minimum required coverage. But you’ll also want to consider how much it would cost to repair or replace your car, how much you’re willing to spend on car insurance, and how much of a risk you want to take with having to pay for expenses above your coverage level should you become involved in an accident.

#8 – Can I submit my proof of insurance to the Florida DMV online?

If you were issued a notice for driving without proof of insurance but you had insurance in place at that time, you need to present the appropriate documentation in person, by fax, or by mail. There is no online option for this transaction at this time.

#9 – What are the new Florida car insurance laws?

Laws can change at any time, so it’s important to stay up-to-date by following credible news sources such as Florida government web sites. Two issues that appear to be part of the annual political conversation in Florida are its no-fault status and PIP coverage amount and eligible expenses.

Now that you know about Florida car insurance regulations, compare car insurance rates now by typing your ZIP code into the free tool at the bottom of the page.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by State
State Minimum Car Insurance Rates Nationwide
State Minimum Car Insurance Rates Nationwide