FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
Looking for New Hampshire car insurance? You should know that New Hampshire is one of two states that do not require car insurance for drivers. That doesn’t mean that you should not purchase it, though. There are many reasons car insurance is a good idea, regardless of whether it is mandatory or not. For people who do get insurance, minimum liability coverage includes:
- $25,000 per person for injury
- $50,000 per accident for injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
Even though NH car insurance is not required, this is the minimum state requirement when you do opt to get insurance.
New Hampshire Car Insurance Tips and Examples
If you drive without insurance and cause an accident, you will be required to get insurance after that accident. You will also be responsible for all expenses, injuries, and damages out of your own pocket. That could be thousands of dollars, and people will sue for their money if you don’t have it. Here are two situations to think about.
- You don’t have insurance, so you pay $0 monthly for coverage. You cause an accident involving two cars (yours and another). There are minor injuries that total about $12,000 in medical costs. One car is totaled, and the other sustains $3,500 in damages. The totaled car has a value of around $5,000. You also damaged a street sign and a light post, so you owe the city $3,000 in damages. That’s $11,500 in property damage and $12,000 in medical bills. Of course, the $5,000 totaled car is yours, as are about $7,500 of the medical bills. That means that you still owe $6,500 in property damage and $4,500 for the other victim’s injuries.
- You do have insurance coverage that meets the state minimum requirement and pay about $105 a month for it. You cause the same accident, with the same amount of damages. Everything is covered under your insurance, and your rates increase slightly. Now, you pay $135 a month for insurance.
Even if your NH car insurance rates go up, and even if you pay insurance for years without using it, a few hundred dollars is still better than trying to come up with thousands of dollars to cover medical bills and property damage costs.
New Hampshire Car Insurance Providers
There are upwards of 100 insurance companies in New Hampshire, many of which sell auto insurance. Finding coverage is not as challenging as it seems. You will need to compare companies to determine which ones have:
- High customer service ratings
- Good coverage with low premiums (the most for your money)
- Efficient and quick claims handling process
- A solid reputation in the insurance community
New Hampshire Car Insurance Discounts
If you qualify, you can get discounts on car insurance. Be sure to ask companies about things like safe driving discounts, good student discounts, vehicle discounts, multi-car or multi-policy discounts, and other savings that you can get based on your particular situation.
The bottom line is this: New Hampshire auto insurance isn’t required by law, but it sure makes sense to get it anyway. Compare providers to find the best policy and ensure that you are protected for your own sake, regardless of what the state does or doesn’t require.
Enter your zip code below to start comparing New Hampshire car insurance quotes online now!