Car Insurance in Chandler

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

Here's what you need to know...
  • There are many options for car insurance coverage in Chandler, Arizona
  • The city has some strict requirements about car emissions which influence car registrations
  • While Arizona has set minimum coverage requirements, it is always a good idea to carry the most car insurance coverage you can afford


Despite one’s best efforts, accidents happen, which is why all Chandler, Arizona, drivers are required to establish financial responsibility. The most common method of doing this is to simply buy liability coverage from a provider who is authorized by the state.

Another method of establishing responsibility is to be self-insured. This certification, however, mandates rather detailed documentation along with a bond for one million dollars. Additionally, one has to own ten or more vehicles. This method is designed for dealers or corporate fleets.

No matter the type of car insurance you need, enter your ZIP code above and begin your car insurance comparison for FREE!

Arizona Driving Laws

AdobeStock_52734917-1600x1600

State insurance companies work in conjunction with the Motor Vehicle Division to make it easy to find out who is insured and who isn’t.

The Arizona MVD is kept informed about all new policies, cancellations, and policies not renewed, and if there is a lapse, they act quickly. Not being able to show proof of insurance can lead to suspension of the vehicle registration or even the driver’s license.

Chandler is very conscious of its environment and thus has some rather strict emissions requirements for cars on its roads. Every car on the road has to meet the minimum emissions requirements before a license plate is issued.

There are many locations where cars can be tested for emissions.

It is common knowledge that a moving violation will result in a rather hefty ticket, but what is worse is that it will benoted in the driver’s history and stay there for three years. In addition, it will give the insurance company a reason to increase premiums.

Most drivers in Chandler can qualify to have that violation eradicated if they take a defensive driving course approved by the DMV.

While it is not a requirement, it will go a long way toward keeping premiums low.

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chandler Car Insurance Laws

The State of Arizona follows the Tort system when dealing with accidents.

In this system, one of the parties involved in the accident must be found to be at fault. That party, along with its insurance provider, is then legally and financially obligated to pay the medical and car repair costs.

While it makes sense to have the maximum amount of coverage one can afford, Chandler only requires that drivers meet the minimum coverage requirements:

  • For one person in one accident, it’s $15,000 toward bodily injury or death
  • For the total amount bodily injury in one accident, it’s $30,000 for bodily injury or death
  • For property damaged in each accident, it’s $10,000

According to state auto laws, only the vehicles that are driven on public roads need to be insured.

However, if a vehicle is not going to be used — it is in storage or being restored — it does not need to be insured. In this case, it can be de-insured, which means that the MVD will not suspend the registration for that vehicle during the time that it is not in use.

Once the vehicle becomes operational, it has to be re-insured before it can be used.

Lack of proof of auto insurance can lead to suspension of the registration and possibly the driver’s license.

For suspension to be removed one has to:

  • Give proof of insurance of the lapsed period, or
  • Pay a $50 reinstatement fee and provide documentation that the required insurance is now there. The insurance provider will also provide an SR-22 form which will be held in the driver’s MVD file for three years.

Chandler Car Insurance Companies and Agencies

AdobeStock_75961762-1600x1600

Chandler insurance providers offering online insurance ask for the zip code, which is done to determine the state one resides in, so a quote that complies with the state guidelines can be provided.

Some of the other information often requested includes vital statistics, how frequently the car is used, your driving record, and the type of car to be insured.

This information is then put in the Chandler insurance company’s formula to calculate how much of a risk the potential client is. Greater risks will lead to higher premiums. Not all companies employ the same formula to determine rates, and what the specific formula consists of is not public knowledge.

This is why different companies quote different rates for similar types of insurance.

There are several things that one can do to make Chandler insurance companies offer lower quotes.

Opting for higher deductible amounts — the initial amount one pays out-of-pocket — will significantly reduce premiums. Also, comparing rates can save the consumer thousands of dollars.

One should not forget to ask for discounts. Most Chandler insurance agents give discounts for things like good driving records, low mileage, bundle packages and good credit rating.

Average Chandler Car Insurance Rates

Determining insurance rates is a very precise science. The information provided to an insurer is used in a variety of different ways. By using statistical information of the zip code, country or state, the insurance company will attain a general idea of the potential client’s financial status.

They will also take the crime statistics of an area into account, along with the number of DUI infractions, to determine how much of a risk an individual is. A higher risk translates to higher premiums.

Stay away from breaking DUI laws and getting in trouble with the law!

In 2009, the average cost of car insurance in Arizona was approximately $1,818, whereas the national average was $1,780.

To keep insurance premiums down, it is important to observe the law and avoid getting any ticket or being involved in accidents.

Some of Chandler’s strict rules help to keep insurance rates down. In Chandler, Even a first-time conviction of drunk driving will lead to one month of jail time, license suspension for one year, and fines in the neighborhood of $5,000.

Chandler City Information

AdobeStock_91848391-1600x1600

Located in Maricopa County, Arizona, Chandler is bordered by three large cities: Phoenix, Mesa, and Tempe.

At the moment, Chandler is the fifth largest city in Arizona, with a population of more than 240,000. Among other things, the city is known for its public art program, which is flaunted throughout the metropolis.

According to data collected by collision investigators, Chandler is considered to be one of the safest places to drive; however; motorists are still obligated by law to carry the minimum liability Arizona coverage, so everyone on the road is protected.

Chandler Driving and Car Insurance Statistics

While accident and fatality statistics are gruesome and scary, they make good deterrents for other drivers on the road.

There were 4,032 accidents reported last year in Chandler, out of which seven were fatal. There were more than one thousand injuries and almost three thousand led to property damage.

On average, Chandler residents spend 26 minutes on the road commuting back and forth from work. When taken in consideration with the population of Chandler, that equates to more than four million minutes worth of driving each day.

Minimum insurance coverage is absolutely essential when one considers the number of cars on the road at any given time. Shopping online for insurance is a quick and simple way to find the best coverage available.

Compare auto insurance companies for FREE by entering your ZIP code!

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]