Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State University as well as technical and professional communication at East Carolina University. Zaneta has prepared technical p...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP®

UPDATED: Sep 15, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...

  • If it is your first offense, the penalty for driving without insurance in Alaska is a $500 fine and license suspension
  • For subsequent offenses, you will get another $500 fine and longer license suspensions
  • If you caused an accident while uninsured, you will be responsible for paying any damage and can face more penalties
  • If your license does get suspended, you may apply for a limited work purpose license


There are minimum coverage amounts required for car insurance in the state of Alaska.

You must be covered for at least $25,000 for damage to a car or another form of property, $50,000 for individual injury, and $100,000 for total injuries in any given accident.

When you are driving, you must be actively enrolled in a plan that meets these minimum requirements, and you must have proof of insurance on you or in the vehicle.

You are responsible for purchasing and maintaining your own insurance plan from a private insurance company.

Find an insurance plan that meets your needs by comparing insurance rates with our FREE quote tool!

Table of Contents

What are the proof of financial responsibility options?

In addition to the mandatory insurance law, Alaska also has a financial responsibility law.

To comply with the financial responsibility law, you can either show proof of insurance or proof that you are paying another way to avoid a license suspension.

You can submit a notarized release of liability with signatures from everyone who was injured or had their property damaged in the accident.

You can also show a promissory note that proves you have reached a settlement with everyone involved or you can submit a security deposit amount in agreement with all of the parties and the administration department.

You can also try to prove that you are not liable for the damages either in civil court or through an administrative hearing process.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What happens if you are driving without insurance in Alaska?

If you are not compliant with the mandatory insurance laws and the financial responsibility laws when you are driving in Alaska, you are subject to a $500 fine.

If it is your first offense, your driver’s license could be suspended for 90 days.

Going forward, you will be required to enroll in an SR-22 insurance policy that informs the Alaska Motor Vehicle Department of your enrollment.

If you are caught driving without insurance a second time, you will have to pay another $500 fine and your license can be suspended for a year.

Any subsequent offenses will result in more fines and a longer license suspension.

You have 30 days from the time you are pulled over, or 15 days from the time of an accident, to provide proof that you were insured before your license will be suspended.

What is a limited license?

If your license was suspended because you did not have insurance, you may be able to apply for a limited license.

Limited licenses are typically only available if it is your first offense, and you need your car for work or medical care. You must surrender your license and submit an application to qualify for a limited license.

What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Alaska?

The initial penalty for driving without insurance in Alaska is a $500 fine and a suspension of your license.

If you can provide proof of financial responsibility, your license may not be suspended. Any subsequent offenses will result in more fines and a longer license suspension.

To avoid penalties, it is important to find an affordable car insurance plan that meets the minimum coverage requirements.

If you want to review the penalties for Alaska and the other 49 states, check out the data here. Then use our FREE quote tool to find an affordable car insurance plan that fits your needs!

References:

  1. https://www.thebalance.com/penalties-for-driving-without-car-insurance-in-alaska-526983
  2. http://www.naic.org/state_web_map.htm
  3. http://www.investopedia.com/terms/f/financial-responsibility-law.asp
  4. http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/
  5. http://www.howtolaw.co/obtain-a-limited-drivers-licence-392082
  6. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1RkNSEJC4uRlvyu54sUCdvI5dxxX7LLH7o4YpXJlPoE8/edit#gid=0