What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Maine?

Maine penalties for driving without insurance include fines up to $1,000 and license suspension. Drivers arrested for a 2nd offense face up to six months in jail and a $2,000 fine. Avoid jail time by comparing online quotes for Maine state minimum coverage.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State University as well as technical and professional communication at East Carolina University. Zaneta has prepared technical p...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP®

UPDATED: Jan 21, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...

  • Fines can be as much as $2,000 for driving without car insurance in Maine
  • Maine requires a MedPay policy
  • Jail time is a consequence of driving without insurance in Maine


Drivers in Maine are required to carry insurance. Some people believe they can cancel their car insurance policy the moment they pay their car off, but Maine law requires you pay for insurance even if you own your car.

You don’t need to pay for full coverage once you own your car, but you can’t cancel your policy entirely. Anything can happen even if you’re a wonderful driver who pays close attention to the road.

If you’re involved in an accident because someone else was negligent, you face tens of thousands of dollars in bills.

Medical bills and repair bills are common, and many drivers find they are out of work for a few days or weeks if they need recovery time. This could mean losing your income for a few weeks, and your financial situation changes drastically and unexpectedly.

Insurance is the only way to ensure you have help paying those bills.

If you drive without insurance, you might not be able to afford to drive at all. It’s time to learn the following:

  • penalties for not having coverage
  • requirements for coverage
  • how you can find more affordable insurance by comparing rates

Enter your ZIP code into our free car insurance rate comparison tool above. You could save hundreds of dollars!

What penalties do I face if I’m caught without insurance?

Maine law is strict for people who don’t have insurance. If you’re caught driving without at least the minimum insurance requirements for Maine drivers, you face fines, license suspension, and even time in jail.

The fine for driving without insurance starts at $100 and goes as high as $500 per incident.

Being caught without car insurance also means your driving privileges are suspended indefinitely. To regain the ability to drive legally, you have to purchase a car insurance policy and prove it to the state.

You must prove your policy is active, valid, and paid for each month for three years using an SR-22 form This form is legally binding, and it cannot be modified or tampered with in any way or you face even more serious penalties in Maine.

Once you prove you purchased an insurance policy, you’re permitted to reinstate your license. The fee is $30 to reinstate your license and $35 to reinstate your registration.

If you refuse to hand over your license and registration after you’re caught driving without insurance, you pay another fine. This one is much larger at $2,000.

If you are involved in an accident, you are caught driving without insurance a second time, or you drive while your license and registration are suspended awaiting your insurance purchase, you could spend as many as six months in jail.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What are the insurance requirements in Maine?

Maine drivers are not permitted to drive without insurance, but not everyone needs full coverage. If you lease your vehicle, you’re required to pay for the kind of coverage required by the dealer leasing the vehicle to you.

If you financed your vehicle through a bank, you’re required to pay for the kind of insurance policy the bank requires. As soon as you make that last payment, however, you’re free to change your insurance to make it lower and more affordable.

If you own your car and only want to make sure you follow the law regarding insurance coverage, you need to purchase four types of insurance coverage.

  • The first is $50,000 worth of bodily injury insurance per person and $100,000 per accident.
  • The second is $25,000 worth of property damage insurance.
  • The third is $50,000 worth of uninsured motorist coverage per person and $100,000 per accident.
  • Finally, you must have $2,000 worth of MedPay per person.

Most states require bodily injury, personal property, and uninsured motorist coverage. However, not many have any MedPay requirements, so it’s a concept not everyone is familiar with.

MedPay is not medical insurance, but it’s going to cover up to $2,000 worth of medical bills in case of an accident. It’s helpful to drivers with minor injuries who can’t or don’t want to pay their medical bill deductible for stitches or other minor medical care.

How do I find affordable insurance?

If carrying the minimum amount of insurance required by the State of Maine is still too much, there are ways you can find less expensive insurance.

You should always compare rates with multiple agents to see who has the best plan for the best price, but you should always do a few other things to help make insurance more affordable. Never purchase an insurance policy without first checking your credit report.

Even a small mistake on your credit report can lower your score.

When your score is low, you appear to be a risky driver to the insurance companies. The quotes they offer will be more expensive because of this.

You should also ask for discounts. The most commonly available discounts for most drivers are the multi-car discount and the bundled policy discount. If you’re retired, you are entitled to a discount because you spend less time on the road.

Affordable car insurance is possible to find, but virtually any policy is more affordable than the alternative. If you are driving without insurance and end up in an accident, can you afford to spend tens of thousands of dollars on medical bills and to repair vehicles?

If the accident is your fault and the other driver sues you for damages, can you afford to pay those? The consequence of not paying for insurance is serious.

Find the best coverage for your situation by comparing rates today. Just enter your ZIP code into our comparison tool below to get started.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption