DUI Insurance Laws in Kansas

One drunk driving offense in KS is punishable by 100 hours of community service and up to a $1,000 fine, as well as possible vehicle impoundment and license restrictions.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State University as well as technical and professional communication at East Carolina University. Zaneta has prepared technical p...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Jo...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Joel Ohman
Founder & CFP®

UPDATED: Jan 21, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.

Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you should know...

  • DUI laws in Kansas are strict and start with 48 hours in jail, 100 hours of community service, and a fine between $500–$1000
  • Repeated DUI convictions in Kansas will result in license suspension, fines, and jail time
  • Any driver convicted with a child of 14 years old or younger automatically faces an additional month of imprisonment
  • Car insurance companies in Kansas will also impose penalties in the form of higher premiums or by refusing coverage

Drivers in Kansas suffer strict penalties if caught driving while under the influence of alcohol. In 2010, the state initiated new bills to increase the penalties for drunk driving convictions.

Drivers with serious alcohol problems, resulting in multiple DUI convictions, risk losing their license for life.

Drunk driving is a serious error of judgment no matter how you look at it, and Kansas continues to enhance penalties and discourage drivers from getting behind the wheel after they have been drinking.

If you’re looking for insurance coverage after a DUI, enter your ZIP code into our tool above to compare cheap rates from companies near you!

Basic DUI Laws for Kansas

Drunk driving laws in the state of Kansas prohibit drivers from operating a vehicle with a BAC, or blood alcohol content level, of .08 or higher. Drivers under the legal drinking age and commercial drivers are subject to lower BAC limits. Drivers convicted of a DUI with a person under age 14 in the care will receive an additional month of jail time.

Kansas has chosen to get tougher with new legislation aimed at increasing penalties for drunk drivers. As of July 2010, convicted drivers must serve a mandatory minimum of 72 hours jail time before they can apply for a release to go to work.

New legislation for Kansas drivers convicted of a fourth or subsequent DUI requires mandatory jail time of 180 days to 12 months. At least 144 consecutive hours of jail time must be served before the court will allow requests for work release.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Penalties Associated with a DUI in Kansas

Kansas takes drunk driving seriously and imposes several penalties on convicted drivers. Convicted persons must serve a minimum of 48 hours jail time. For a first-time conviction, the driver will need to complete 100 hours of community service. Fines range from $500 to $1,000.

Drivers may have their vehicle impounded for up to one year, and license restriction for 330 days. The license restriction comes after a 30-day license suspension. Additionally, convicted drivers may have to attend a court-ordered drug or alcohol treatment program.

Penalties and fines increase for subsequent convictions. Jail time increases to three months to one year.

Fines range from $1,000 to $2,500. License suspension increases to one year.

Vehicles may be impounded for up to one year, and drivers will lose their license for 12 months. Convicted drivers must complete a mandatory drug or alcohol treatment program. A DUI will affect car insurance rates greatly!

Additionally, third and fourth time convictions require drivers to use an ignition interlock device for one year after they have received their license back from suspension. Third and subsequent offenses will be charged as felonies.

Drunk drivers receiving a fourth, fifth or subsequent conviction receive the same penalties, with the addition of one year of probation after release from jail.

Along with a fifth conviction, drivers may have their license revoked for life. They must also complete a year of probation

Any driver convicted of a DUI with a 14-year old or younger child will receive one additional month of imprisonment on top of any other penalties.

DUI Accident Rates in Kansas

The state of Kansas had 386 traffic fatalities from all causes in 2009, according to the U.S. Department of Transportation. On the positive side, 2008 and 2009 saw the lowest fatality rate overall in Kansas since at least 1982. However, the number of alcohol-related fatalities is on the rise.

While these numbers have also fallen over the last 10 to 15 years, they tend to be cyclical and rise for a few years, then fall, then rise again for a few years.

The National Highway Safety Administration includes traffic fatalities involving alcohol where either the driver or a person outside of the car, such as a bicyclist or pedestrian, tested with a positive blood alcohol content.

In 2008, Kansas had 157 alcohol-related traffic fatalities within legal BAC limits, with another 145 accidents involving at least one person with a .08 or above BAC. Unfortunately, 2009 saw an increase, to 177 fatalities within legal BAC limits, and 154 fatalities involving a .08 or higher BAC.

Minimum Kansas Car Insurance Requirements

Every driver in Kansas must meet the state’s minimum auto insurance requirements for auto insurance. Kansas auto insurance laws mandate that every licensed driver in the state carry the following coverages and limits:

Liability Insurance

This car insurance covers the damages or injuries you cause to others in an accident but provides no coverage for your injuries or damages.

Requirements:

  • $25,000 a person – bodily injuries
  • $50,000 an accident – bodily injuries
  • $10,000 an accident – property damages

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

This coverage takes care of medical expenses regardless of who caused the accident. If you have a good health insurance plan at work, ask your insurance company if you still need to carry this duplicative coverage.

However, consider that PIP insurance will also cover costs for injured passengers in your vehicle unless they own their own car.

Requirements:

  • $4,500 a person – medical expense payments
  • $900 a month for 12 months – disability or loss of income
  • $4,500 – rehabilitation services
  • $25 a day – services in the home
  • $2,000 – funeral, cremation, or burial costs

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

This coverage pays for damage or injury suffered by you as a result of someone else’s causing an accident. This covers you when the other driver has no insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover all of the costs.

Requirements:

  • $25,000 a person
  • $50,000 an accident

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Effects of a DUI on the Cost of Car Insurance

Auto insurance companies base insurance premiums on a list of risk factors, with each insurer weighing them differently based on their own proprietary models. Drivers convicted of a DUI in Kansas are required to file an SR-22 form with the state’s motor vehicles department.

Kansas requires drivers to maintain this filing for one year. Drivers required to maintain an SR-22 filing must also carry at least the state-required minimum auto insurance coverage.

Insurers place convicted drivers into a high-risk car insurance group by insurers, meaning drivers’ insurance rates will increase substantially.

If drivers let their insurance coverage lapse, the insurance company must notify the Kansas motor vehicles department. This results in the driver’s license being immediately suspended. The driver may file a new SR-22 form and reinstate their auto insurance, but they will need to maintain the SR-22 filing for another full year.

Kansas Car Insurance Companies for High-Risk Drivers

When drivers search for insurance after a DUI in Kansas, one easy way to find the best, lowest-cost insurance is to shop around. Get as many quotes as possible from different providers. Why?

Because every auto insurance company uses its own methodology for calculating insurance premiums, and some insurance companies place extra weight on characteristics such as having a good driving history before you got a DUI.

Some insurers penalize you for being younger or driving a newer, sporty car, while other companies do not place as much importance on these specific factors.

Find Kansas car insurance by entering your ZIP code below!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap car insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by State