DUI Insurance in Nevada

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

Here's what you need to know...
  • Different counties in Nevada contradict each other in the way they handle DUIs
  • In Nevada, repeat DUI offenders can face vehicular homicide charges if they kill someone
  • A BAC test is expected of any driver under the influence, and there are 3 types of convictions if they are found guilty
  • Overall, car insurance after a DUI is expensive, and DUI drivers are also required to file an SR22 form

Some areas in the state of Nevada are taking DUI much more seriously than in others.

This fact can be seen in the jail sentences that people receive for injuring or killing someone while driving under the influence of alcohol in Reno versus Las Vegas.

Last decade, in Washoe County, where Reno is located, 61 percent of the most heinous DUI offenders only received a two-year prison sentence.

In contrast, in Clark County, where Las Vegas is located, the same type of offenders were more apt to receive prison sentences lasting between three and eight years.

In Clark County, 40 percent of the most serious DUI offenders received the two-year sentence which is the least amount of time that people can receive for this crime.

The possible sentence for injuries or death caused by someone driving under the influence of alcohol in Nevada is two to 20 years in prison.

Get Nevada car insurance quotes for free with our quote comparison tool!

Vehicular Homicide

man in front of car accident

People in Nevada who drive after having ingested enough alcohol to impair their actions may be charged with vehicular homicide if they kill someone.

It’s the most serious charge that intoxicated drivers can receive, and it is aimed at repeat offenders.

People subject to being charged with vehicular homicide are:

  • Drivers who are driving with drugs or alcohol in their systems
  • Drivers who have been convicted of DUI a previous three times
  • Drivers who provoke the death of anyone as a result of driving with drugs or alcohol in their systems

The possible sentence for this charge is 25 years to life.

Plea Bargaining Is Possible

The most common reason given that so many people have received the minimum two-year sentence is because of the plea bargain.

Prosecutors in Reno like to spare the county the cost of a trial which is known to be very expensive in these cases. They also like to keep the victims’ family members from having to experience a trial at all.

It’s even common for DUI lawyers to succeed in plea bargaining a vehicular homicide charge.

Nevadans have been known to be charged on a lesser offense after they were initially charged with vehicular homicide.

One example is a reckless driving felony which will give the offender the shorter prison sentence of one to six years.

They also may plea down to the charge of vehicular manslaughter. The offender may or may not receive a six-month jail sentence in these cases.

Driving Under the Influence Is Not Allowed in Nevada

AdobeStock_51711988-1600x1600

Nevada residents may not drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher.

They will be arrested and can be convicted of DUI when their BAC is less than 0.08 if they have marijuana, barbiturates, cocaine, inhalants, heroin, opium, methamphetamine, and other controlled substances along with alcohol within their systems.

If drivers under the age of 21 have a BAC of 0.02 or more, they can also be arrested under a DUI charge.

Drivers who are conducting a vehicle for work, such as those who transport passengers, will be arrested for DUI if they have any detectable trace whatsoever of alcohol in their systems.

Consenting to a Test of the Blood, Breath or Urine

It’s expected of all Nevada drivers that they will voluntarily give their blood, breath, or urine when asked by the arresting officer for the purpose of discerning the driver’s BAC.

If they refuse to do this voluntarily in Nevada, police officers are allowed to use a certain amount of force in order to receive the sample they need.

Refusing to give blood, breath, or urine for the BAC test is taken highly seriously in Nevada. The penalties for refusing have been known to be more severe than the ones imposed for failing the test.

Penalties for DUI Conviction in Nevada

dollarphotoclub_79342954-1600x1600

– A First Conviction (Misdemeanor)

  • Jail Sentence: At least two days, no more than six months
  • Fine: At least $400, nor more than $1,000
  • Suspended License: Duration of three months
  • Community Service: In lieu of jail time, 96 hours
  • DUI School: Required attendance, ordinarily costs $150
  • DUI Rehabilitation: Not mandatory, but a possibility
  • SR22: Required

After 45 days of the suspension has been completed, drivers may qualify for a restricted license. If they are able to receive the restricted license, they may be required to lease the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for the vehicles they will be driving.

– A Second Conviction (Misdemeanor)

If the first conviction was less than seven years ago, Nevada drivers will have the following penalties applied to them:

  • Jail Sentence – at least 10 days with a maximum of six months
  • Fine – at least $750 up to $1,000
  • Suspended License – the suspension lasts one year, and they aren’t eligible to receive a restricted license during this time
  • Community Service – from 100 to 200 hours
  • Suspended Vehicle Registration – not mandatory, but a possibility
  • Supervised DUI Rehabilitation – not mandatory, but will be required to last one year if applied
  • SR22 – required

– A Third Conviction

The third conviction and any other after that are now felonies. If a third offense occurs before seven years have passed since the second conviction, these penalties will apply:

  • Jail Sentence – between one and six years
  • Fine – between $2,000 and $5,000
  • Suspended License – duration of three years
  • Possible vehicle registration suspension
  • Supervised DUI Rehabilitation – possible for three years
  • Required SR22

If these people are eligible to receive a restricted license, they will be required to install the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in their cars.

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Insurance Requirements for Nevada Drivers

Once people have received a DUI on their driving records, they will need to have their car insurance companies file the SR22 form for them with the DMV.

This form would mean that these drivers have purchased liability coverage that will pay for the damages they cause if they are found to be the cause of a car collision in the future.

In Nevada, drivers must all have $15,000 bodily injury liability to cover the medical bills for one person.

If more than one person is hurt, all of these people have the opportunity to file a claim with the at-fault driver’s auto insurance company up until the limit of $30,000 has been reached.

Everyone whose property has been damaged may file claims for their repair bills up to the minimum of $10,000.

How long will the SR22 be required?

days of a calendar_60115764-1600x1600

According to DUI laws for insurance, Nevada drivers will have to file their SR22 car insurance forms for at least three years after they have been convicted of a DUI or any alcohol-related charge.

This requirement will be one of the main reasons that drivers will have such a hard time finding affordable car insurance after a DUI.

The fact that these drivers need to file the SR22 certificate may mean that an insurance company will charge 30 to 40 percent more than they charge a good driver.

The insurance company that will file an SR22 insurance form will have to be an insurance company that has been licensed in the state of Nevada. It will also need to have received permission to file SR22 insurance forms.

Because of these strict requirements, not every insurance company can perform this duty for their clients, and it makes auto insurance scarce for people with DUIs.

Difficulties Finding Insurance Coverage

AdobeStock_76397124-1600x1600

After a DUI, drivers may lose their coverage, but they can’t risk driving without the liability coverage listed above because they will suffer even more consequences than the ones they have with their DUIs.

Their vehicles’ registrations may be suspended. The penalty for driving with a suspended registration will be seizure of the car’s license plates, and the car will have to be impounded.

Finding cheap auto insurance is a must for people arrested for DUI and it will be difficult to find, but this is only the case if these drivers insist on embarking on this adventure on their own.

Drivers who take advantage of this comparison website will have a much easier time finding their liability coverage.

Shopping for Car Insurance Without Stress

It’s easier when people search for their car insurance online with a comparison website because they don’t have to do anything. They will only need to tell the comparison website some personal information and about the type of coverage they need one time and they are done.

The comparison website includes several insurance companies in Nevada, local as well as national, and they return several quotes to their clients so much faster than they would be able to do themselves.

This website makes it worth their while to seek a quote for the best car insurance right this minute.

Try our FREE quote comparison tool below and see how much you can save!

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]