DUI Insurance Laws for North Carolina

Repeated DUI convictions in NC are punishable by $2,000 in fines, three years imprisonment, and license revocation. High-risk drivers pay 41% more for car insurance on average.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zaneta Wood, Ed.S. has over 15 years of experience in research and technical writing bringing a keen understanding of data analysis and information synthesis to reach a wide variety of audiences. She studied adult education and instructional technology at Appalachian State...

Full Bio →

Written by

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses...

Full Bio →

Reviewed byJoel Ohman
Founder, CFP®https://res.cloudinary.com/quotellc/image/upload/insurance-site-images/ciccom-live/41b5e36b-joel-ohman.jpg

UPDATED: Apr 30, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...
  • The North Carolina state car insurance DUI requirements are like many other states in the nation
  • If you are stopped by an officer for suspicion of a DUI and found to be under the influence of alcohol, your car will be seized
  • In some cases after a DUI conviction, you may even have your license revoked for several months

North Carolina is a beautiful place to live on the eastern coast of the United States. The cities in North Carolina offer a low cost of living and a low crime rate.

There is one thing that you must be very careful about, though; you must never drink and drive.

North Carolina DUI insurance laws are in place to prevent anyone from driving while drinking. If arrested in North Carolina for driving under the influence, you will face steep consequences!

Compare car insurance quote for FREE with our quote comparison tool!

North Carolina DUI Insurance Laws

The North Carolina laws state that anyone who measures at a .08% blood alcohol level will be considered driving while intoxicated.

Driving while intoxicated will result in a police officer placing the offender under arrest and taking him to jail.

Once a person’s blood level is shown to be at .08% or more in North Carolina, he will be convicted of a DUI and the whole games changes.

You should have a lawyer representing you in court before the judge to protect your money and your ability to freely drive.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

North Carolina DUI Penalties

There are some serious penalties in North Carolina when you are at risk of being convicted of a DUI.

First DUI conviction:

  • The offender must pay a fine up to $2,000
  • The offender must complete 24 hours of community service
  • The offender may not drive for 30 days after the conviction

Second DUI conviction:

  • The offender will be fined up to $1,000
  • The offender will be unable to drive for one year
  • If this is the second offense within seven years of the first offense, driving privileges will be limited

Third DUI conviction:

  • The offender will be fined up to $2,000
  • The offender can receive up to 24 months in prison
  • Mandatory revocation of the driver’s license if the offense happens less than five years since last conviction

Fourth DUI Conviction:

  • The offender is fined according to the will of the court
  • The offender receives three years maximum imprisonment
  • The offender faces a mandatory revocation of the driver’s license

While these penalties are not as bad as in some other states, they are still very severe if you do not prevent them from ending up on your record.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

North Carolina DUI Statistics

In 2008, 423 people died at the hands of a driver that had a blood alcohol level of .08% or more.

There were 396 fatal accidents that were the result of a driver that had a blood alcohol level of .08% or more.

Although there were 500 deaths caused in North Carolina where the blood alcohol was actually as low as 0.1%; clearly alcohol is involved in a significant number of North Carolina car accidents.

Car Insurance Options in North Carolina

When you have faced a DUI conviction in the state of North Carolina, you need a good DUI lawyer on your side.

If you do not have proper representation in front of the judge, then your whole life can be adversely affected.

In many cases, even a DUI offender that is convicted can get affordable rates for car insurance because so many people are overpaying for their insurance.

If you are at risk of being convicted of a DUI in North Carolina, compare your options with our FREE car insurance quote comparison tool!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption