DUI Insurance Laws in Wyoming

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

Here's What You Need to Know...
  • Driving conditions in Wyoming can vary because the landscape of the state varies greatly
  • Wyoming has different BAC Limits for different types of drivers and therefore different consequences
  • Wyoming is one of the states that make up the Interstate Driver’s License Compact


Auto insurance premiums are influenced by the area in which the owner of a vehicle owns or operates a vehicle. Car insurance companies consider local driving conditions, accident rates and state and local traffic laws.

They also consider such things as DUI or DWI statistics, and state DUI laws governing driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Entering your ZIP code in our search box can help you compare car insurance quotes charged by insurers doing business in your state!

Driving Conditions in Wyoming

 

adobestock_92293510-1600x1600

Although Wyoming is almost entirely rural and sparsely populated with low traffic volume, driving conditions can vary greatly.

The eastern half of the state is flat with straight roads. The western half of Wyoming is mountainous.

Winter can create hazards throughout Wyoming. Snow and ice can make it difficult for road crews to keep highways clear in the mountains, especially on steep grades. Drifting snow sometimes causes roads on the prairie to close.

Some accidents in Wyoming are caused by cattle or wildlife wandering onto the roadway. The state is home to well known tourist destinations, such as Jackson Hole and Yellowstone National Park, which draw visitors from all over North America.

The number of drivers arrested for DUI increased steadily from 1995 to 2007, rising from around 4,000 to 6,000. During the same period DUI-related deaths decreased from 83 to 56.

Wyoming DUI Laws

Perhaps because of traffic conditions that require keen judgment on the part of drivers, Wyoming has car insurance laws regarding driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs that are among the strictest in the United States.

In addition to the number of collisions that cause deaths, injuries and property damage caused by drivers impaired by alcohol or drugs, auto insurance companies that write policies in Wyoming take into account several legal factors as they relate to DUI:

  • Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Limits
  • Penalties for Driving Under the Influence
  • Implied Consent
  • Agreements With Other States
  • DUI-Related Insurance Requirements

BAC Limits

Woman breathing into a breathalyzer

Most drivers will be in violation of the law if their BAC limit is at the national standard of 0.08% or higher.

The concentration of alcohol in a person’s blood is measured through a blood or urine sample, or more commonly by a police officer administering a breathalyzer test when a suspected impaired driver is pulled over.

Drivers of commercial vehicles can be charged with DUI if their BAC is 0.04% or higher. An officer may issue an out of service order to a CDL driver with any amount of alcohol in his or her body.

That driver will then not be able to operate a commercial vehicle for 24 hours. CDL drivers who are hauling hazardous materials at the time of the DUI offence will have their license suspended for 3 years.

Tight restrictions also apply to drivers younger than 21 in Wyoming. They are considered to be impaired if their BAC is 0.02% or greater.

Penalties for Driving Under the Influence

Wyoming recently changed its look back provision for drunk driving offences from 5 years to 10 years.

Previously, if a driver went more than 5 years between DUI citations, the 1st offence was not considered as a previous offence when evaluating penalties.

A driver now must have at least 10 years between offences for this provision to apply. Penalties for DUI offences in Wyoming depend on previous convictions. Some of the possible penalties are:

1st Offense: Misdemeanor

  • Fine of as much as $750 plus court costs
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Driver’s license suspended for 90 days. Some offenders may be eligible for a probationary license
  • Ignition Interlock installation for 6 months on vehicles owned by offenders who have a 0.15% or higher BAC
  • Substance Abuse assessment

2nd Offense: Misdemeanor

  • Minimum fine of $200 up to as much as $750 plus court costs
  • Minimum jail time of 7 days in jail to as much as 6 months in jail
  • Driver’s license suspended for 1 year. No eligibility for a probationary license
  • Ignition Interlock installation for 1 year on vehicles owned by offenders who have a 0.15% or higher BAC
  • Attendance in a Substance Abuse program approved by the state at the expense of the offender

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

3rd Offense: Misdemeanor

  • Minimum fine of $750 up to as much as $3,000 plus court costs
  • Minimum jail time of 30 days up to as much as 6 months
  • Driver’s license suspended for 3 years. No eligibility for a probationary license
  • Ignition Interlock installation for 2 years on vehicles owned by offenders who have a 0.15% or higher BAC
  • Attendance in a Substance Abuse program approved by the state at the expense of the offender

4th or More Offense: Felony

  • Fine of up to $10,000
  • Jail sentence of up to 2 years
  • Revocation of driver’s license for a period of time determined by a court
  • Ignition Interlock installation for life on vehicles owned by offenders who have a 0.15% or higher BAC. The offender may apply for removal after 5 years.
  • Substance Abuse assessment and treatment

Implied Consent

AdobeStock_71346710-1600x1600

Failure to provide a sample results in an automatic license suspension of 6 months for a first refusal and an automatic suspension of 18 months for each refusal after that.

Agreements With Other States

Wyoming is one of the states that make up the Interstate Driver’s License Compact.

This means that even if a driver has never had a DUI conviction in Wyoming, a DUI conviction in another state within 10 years of the Wyoming DUI conviction may be considered as a previous offence.

Penalties will be assessed according to whether the conviction or convictions in other states make the Wyoming DUI conviction a 2nd, 3rd or 4th offence.

DUI-Related Insurance Requirements

Many auto insurance companies will not write policies to those convicted of DUI offences at any price. Those convicted of DUI will most likely pay much higher premiums for significantly less coverage than they did before the conviction.

Like most states, Wyoming requires those convicted of DUI to provide proof of financial responsibility when the driver’s license suspension is lifted.

This proof is provided when the insurance company files an SR22 form with the state, demonstrating that it provides at least the minimum coverage required by law.

If the driver convicted of a DUI allows the insurance coverage to lapse, the insurance company is required by law to report the lapse to the state. The driver’s license will then be suspended again until insurance coverage can re-established.

High premiums may be lowered somewhat through voluntary installation of an Ignition Interlock device owned by a person convicted of DUI. Some drivers save money by purchasing a non-owner policy.

A non-owner policy provides only liability coverage for a driver who has access to a vehicle owned by another person, and is a separate policy from the one held by the owner of the vehicle.

You may be able to find SR22 insurance that you can afford in Wyoming by comparing rates among different auto insurance companies that write policies in Wyoming.

Simply enter your ZIP code below to begin the FREE process!

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]